2010 in Books

Happy new year, everyone! I hope you all had a great time welcoming 2011!

2010 was a great year. In late December 2009 I moved my blog from Vox to wordpress and so 2010 was the year I really started book blogging and discovered a wonderful community and my tbr list exploded from all the amazing books that I found through your blogs. So I want to say thanks to everyone for being so nice and inspiring and interesting people with wonderful blogs!

As for my reading in 2010, I managed to read 100 books which makes me quite happy since this (well 100) was something I was hoping for last year (when I read 90 books, and 100 is a more satisfying number). I  also like those even numbers, so I squeezed in the Crispin and what a fun quick read it was! I spent quite a bit of time trying to come up with a list of favorites, it’ so difficult! But here’s my top 16 in no particular order and likely to change very day:

1.) The Female Malady (Elaine Showalter)

2.) The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam (Lauren Liebenberg)

3.) The Night Watch (Sarah Waters)

4.) Cider with Rosie (Laurie Lee)

5.) Regarding the Pain of Others (Susan Sontag)

6.) After the Armistice Ball (Catriona McPherson)

7.) The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag (Alan Bradley)

8.) What Was Lost (Catherine O’Flynn)

9.) Ella Minnow Pea (Mark Dunn)

10.) The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox (Maggie O’ Farrell)

11.) A Single Man (Christopher Isherwood)

12.) The Moving Toyshop (Edmund Crispin)

13.) In the Shadow No Towers (Art Spiegelman)

14.) Beside the Sea (Véronique Olmi)

15.) Man Walks Into A Room (Nicole Krauss)

16.) Ex Libris (Anna Fadiman)

 

A few stats:

 

I read ten more books in 2010 than in 2009, but the more striking difference was the amount of books I read by female authors (61 to 39). I think my reading has usually been quite balanced with regard to gender but in 2010 I seem to have discriminated against male authors’ works ;)

Looking at the ratio of fiction to non-fiction I read, it’s very obvious that I almost exclusively read fiction, with a lousy 11 non-fiction Also, most of the non-fiction I read were memoirs. Perhaps I should start counting the articles I read for uni, but I really hope I’ll read more non-fiction this year without making a resolution out of it. Any non-fiction that you can recommend, which also makes good reading?

Since graphic literature isn’t my favorite medium, I’m a bit proud that I read a couple of comics in 2010 (small steps, right?). And the most prominent genre is of course crime! :) So here’s a break-down of genres plus graphic literature (and some of them overlap):

Heh, I guess it’s no surprise that I read a lot of mysteries, it’s my escapism and comfort genre. But I did branch out and only read two Christies! In terms of nationality, I clearly favour English (American) literature. Perhaps that will change at some point (when I’m done with uni?). So here’s the nationality breakdown (cause I just enjoy playing with my new notebook so much)

 

 

So that was my reading year 2010. What are my plans for 2011? Jo from Bibliojunkie and I are hosting the Read A Myth Challenge which I’m very excited about and I hope a lot of you will join us in. I also couldn’t resist signing up for A Year of Feminist Classics which sounds fantastic. Other than that I will read whatever I want, whenever I feel like it!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. Wonderful post, Bina! Congratulations on hitting a century this year – 100 books is awesome! I see two of my favourite books in your top-16 list – ‘A Single Man’ and ‘Ex Libris’ – and one which I suspect might become a favourite – ‘Man Walks into a Room’. I also want to read ‘The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox’.

    Congratulations on your new notebook!

    It was interesting to see your reading year in numbers and graphs and pictures. I checked out my own Male author : Female author ratio and discovered that 58% of the books I read were by female authors! I suspect it is because of the influence of my blog-friends :)

    Congratulations again on a wonderful reading year! Looking forward to reading wonderful reviews this year too, in ‘If You Can Read This’ :)

    Reply
    • Thanks, Vishy! Glad to hear you loved ‘A Single Man’ and ‘Ex Libris’ as well! Really hope you’ll enjoy Man Walks Into A Room!

      Hahaha, then we’re a good influence on you ;) I probably only got to 39 books by male authors because of uni :D

      Reply
  2. wonderful graphs ,hope you have a great 2011 bina ,all the best stu

    Reply
  3. Hey more charts! 100 books! good grief that is an awesome achievement! I really like to read Night Watch by Sarah Waters one day.

    Reply
  4. Sarah Waters was a find for me in 2010; I’m looking forward to reading more of her work having only read The Little Stranger. I’m also looking forward to your Read A Myth challenge; it’s only one of three I’m planning on partaking in this year. Happy New Year! Happy reading!

    Reply
    • I read Fingersmith in 09 and absolutely loved it, but then I read The Night Watch this year and it was even better! :) Will have to try The Little Stranger soon.

      Reply
  5. You know I love charts and graphs so I loved peeking into your reading with the few you whipped up! And congrats on hitting 100 books… it doesn’t seem all that daunting a number anymore (I remember when 50 seemed nigh impossible!), but I still never manage to hit it…

    Reply
    • Glad you liked the charts and graphs, first time tried them :) I think I only got to 100 because I don’t want to miss out on great books, though obviously there’s no way of ever getting tehm all read. Happy reading this year!

      Reply
  6. Fantastic stats – 100 is such a perfect and even number. I love the charts and tables!! Also, really great best of list. I’ll have to try to read a few more. All the best in 2011 – I hope it goes well for you. Happy New Year.

    Reply
  7. I love your stats- well done on hitting 100.

    Reply
  8. The Read a Myth challenge does sound good. Maybe I should change my mind about challenges? I am very glad you’re joining us for the Feminist Classics project :)

    As for your reading in 2010, I so like looking at the stats. And I think I have read mostly English and American fiction as well. Like you, I think maybe after uni I might feel like branching out a little.

    Reply
    • Yup, do consider joining us! You don’t even have to read a lot for the lowest level :)

      Hope we’ll manage to read more world lit after uni. But Am/ Brit lit is another culture for us right!? ;) Happy reading this year!

      Reply
  9. Congrats on 100 books! That’s amazing. Also, I love the graphs. Now I wish I had done them. :)

    Reply
    • Thanks! You can always do them this year (for the monthly wrap-up post ;) ). Happy reading this year!

      Reply
  10. 100 books! Great job!
    I’ve only read one of your top 16, so looks like I have some books to check out here!

    Reply
  11. Happy New Year!

    A 100 books is amazing, thats over double what I read. I’ve popped down The Vanishing act of Esme Lennox on to my tbr list :-)

    Reply
  12. What an amazing list and 100 books! Girl you are “da BOMB”. This is me trying to sound hip and cool… ok let’s just say I’m terrible at that. It’s the thought that counts, right ;)

    Reply
    • Haha, thanks so much! And you sound way cool and hip (have you been going through the teenage slang dictionaries? I had to look the words up ;D ). Have a great reading year!

      Reply
  13. Since my writing takes place in the thirties, I’m intrigued that so many of the covers you display on this post have a lovely vintage feel.

    Reply
    • I’m getting more and more curious about your writing with every comment you leave! It sounds so great :) I’m pretty much a sucker for great covers, especially vintage ones, and for the 20s-40s.

      Reply
  14. Wonderful post Bina, I greatly enjoyed the statistics! I like how you have a top 16, I know I find it difficult to narrow my lists down… Congratulations on the 100 books, hope this year is even better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently reading:

  • Just finished:

  • TBR

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

