2008 in books

I think most RBC members on vox have posted their books read in 2008 lists so it´s high time I join them. I love comparing lists, it´s always great for my tbr list, too!

Books read in 2008:

1.) The best of McSweeney´s Vol 1 (Dave Eggers)
2.) The book thief (Markus Zusak)
3.) Comfort woman (Nora Okja Keller)
4.) The handmaid´s tale (Margaret Atwood)
5.) 31 songs (Nick Hornby)
6.) Niemalsland (Neil Gaiman)
7.) Thursday Next: First of Sequels (Jasper Fforde)
8.) Tintenherz (Cornelia Funke)
9.) Nachricht von einer Entführung (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
10.) Lean Mean Thirteen (Janet Evanovich)
11.) Lost in a good book (Jasper Fforde)
12.) The well of lost plots (Jasper Fforde)
13.) Something rotten (Jasper Fforde)
14.)White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
15.) Kalle Blomquist (Astrid Lindgren)
16.) Emil und die Detektive (Erich Kästner)
17.) The Historian (Elizabeth Kostova)
18.) Weekend in Paris (Robyn Sisman)
19.) Brave new world (Aldous Huxley)
20.) The beekeeper´s apprentice (Laurie R. King)
21.) Short stories: A window on the universe
22.) The Virgin Suicides (Jeffrey Eugenides)
23.) The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie (Muriel Spark)
24.) Disgrace (J.M. Coetzee)
25.) The world according to Garp (John Irving)
26.) The Plato Papers (Peter Ackroyd)
27.) The Mysterious Benedict Society (Trenton Lee Stewart)
28.) The Dark is Rising (Susan Cooper)
29.) On Chesil Beach (Ian McEwan)
30.) Monsieur Ibrahim et les fleurs du Coran (Eric- Emmanuel Schmitt)
31.) Never let me go (Kazuo Ishiguro)
32.) Matilda (Roald Dahl)
33.) The Fourth Bear (Jasper Fforde)
34.) Rosencrantz & Guildenstern are dead (Tom Stoppard)
35.) Labels (Evelyn Waugh)
36.) The Poe Shadow (Mathhew Pearl)
37.) Fearless Fourteen (Janet Evanovich)
38.) Die Stadt der Träumenden Bücher (Walter Moers)
39.) Special topics in Calamity physics (Marisha Pessl)
40.) Nachtzug nach Lissabon (Paul Mercier)
41.) The Almost Moon (Alice Sebold)
42.) The Penderwicks (Jeanne Birdsall)
43.) Shakespeare (Bill Bryson)
44.) The Anomalies (Joey Goebel)
45.) The Killings at Badger´s Drift (Caroline Graham)
46.) The Wave (Morton Rhue)
47.) The Turn of the Screw (Henry James)
48.) A Concise Chinese- English Dictionary for Lovers (Xiaolu Guo)
49.) Fight Club (Chuck Palahniuk)
50.) The Importance of being Earnest (Oscar Wilde)
51.) The Mimic Men (V.S. Naipaul)
52.) Oracle Night (Paul Auster)
53.) Achtung, die Herdmanns sind zurück (Barbara Robinson)
54.) Hilfe, die Herdmanns kommen (Barbara Robinson)
55.) The best school year ever (Barbara Robinson)
56.) The boy in the striped pyjamas (John Boyne)
57.) Mere Anarchy (Woody Allen)
58.) The Phantom Tollbooth (Norton Juster)
59.) Die fabelhaften Monsterakten der furchtlosen Minerva McFearless (Ahmet Zappa)
60.) Tintenblut (Cornelia Funke)
61.) Das Beste von Woody Allen
62.) Mister Pip (Lloyd Jones)
63.) Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil (John Berendt)
64.) Die Vermessung der Welt (Daniel Kehlmann)
65.) The Uncommon Reader (Alan Bennett)
66.) Exit Wounds (Rutu Modan)

I´m happy with my list, I read a lot of children´s books this year and will definitely continue this year. Then I took my time rereading the Thursday Next books which I always enjoy. Halfway into the year I realised that I wanted to read more German literature (or really any German books at all). This was not so easy because I´m not a big fan and it was difficult to find books that were worth my effort and not always taken out of the library. I still managed to read some great ones:

Tintenherz & Tintenblut (Cornelia Funke)
Emil und die Detektive (Erich Kästner)
Die Stadt der träumenden Bücher (Walter Moers)
Nachtzug nach Lissabon (Paul Mercier)
Die Vermessung der Welt (Daniel Kehlmann)

Favorites

There were so many great reads in 2008 it´s hard to decide, but still here´s my top 5 (in no relevant order):

Tintenherz

Cornelia Funke

I finally gave in and read the first of Cornelia Funke´s Inkworld books, and yes everyone was right it´s an amazing world she shows us in Inkheart and a book that must have been written for bibliophiles.

Try the first volume and find out what happens when characters from books can be read out of them. And please don´t judge the book by the movie!

Exit Wounds

Rutu Modan

This book was recommended to me by a good friend from uni and I was not dissapointed. It´s the first graphic novel for me but I enjoyed the style, the pictures are in colour and big enough to be able to make out details.

The story itself takes place in Israel and yes, bombings play a certain role, but it´s really about a father-son- relationship. And the father never actually makes an appearance, reading between the lines so to speak.


31 Songs

Nick Hornby

This one is about the love for music. Nick Hornby is a cool guy who listens to the right music (mostly pop/ rock). This talk always makes me  want to watch 8 mile again, because rap can also rock 🙂

What makes this a favorite of mine is his completely subjective view of music and why it´s okay to be upset when a song you love is playing in a clothing store and to want a band to be successful but not so much that certain types of people you dislike start listening to them, too.

The Mysterious Benedict Society

Trenton Lee Stewart

This one made me feel like a child again, wanting to go exploring. Emily´s flow chart was dead-on, I loved this book! I can´t wait to read the sequel.

My parents gave it to me for Christmas so I can reread it anytime I want to.

I read an article about Xiaolou Guo
that was so interesting I decided to check out her works. This one
caught my eye- I admit- because of its pretty cover.

It
worked out for me, the story about a young Chinese woman in England and
the clash of cultures was never boring. The language is simple in the
beginning and gets more complex (and correct, too) as she spends more
time in England and has a relationship with an Englishma
n.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

10 thoughts on “2008 in books

  1. We did 🙂 I didn´t enjoy On Chesil Beach too much, but Never let me go was great. What did you think?The number is really not that important, the point is to have enjoyed them. And work and uni always get in the way! 🙂

  2. You read a lot of books last year. :)I really want to read The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Inkworld books.How did you like The Fourth Bear?

  3. They´re really fun and easy to read :)I wasn´t sure about The Fourth Bear at first because it´s not a Thursday Next book, but I found the Nursery Crime books fun because I loved all the fairy tale references.

  4. Thanks 🙂 I was positively surprised by Night train to Lisbon, it´s a great book. Beautiful in a slow calm way but also a bit of a quest book. Hope you enjoy it!

  5. I enjoyed On Chesil Beach, but I think if I didn't already know about it, and that it wasn't like most novels I might have been a bit disappointed. Never Let Me Go was great! Although I felt like I was waiting for something exciting to happen that never really came, but I guess that kind of makes it an interesting dystopian novel! There's no real uprising or major event, it's more about the day-to-day lives of the characters I guess.

  6. I really didn´t like the characters in On Chesil Beach and couldn´t relate at all, I guess that was the problem.Yeah, Never Let Me Go was terrifying in a slow way. I think I´ll read another by Ishiguro this year!

  7. Great list! I love reading Kid's book too, and you read some of my very favorite (The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society, and The Phantom Tollbooth).

Leave a Reply

