May in Books

Finally another post and it only took me a month! Nothing terribly exciting though- sorry!

Books read in May:

Wicked (Wicked Years 1)

Gregory Maguire

After seeing the West End musical, I had the urge to reread Wicked. Both versions are amazing in their own way.

I´d never heard of Stewart O´Nan before I had to read A Prayer for the Dying for a class- shame on me! It´s one of those brilliant books that are fantastic to discuss and remind you why you´re an English major! I can´t recommend it highly enough. The novel takes place in  a small town after the Civil War and follows the town´s undertaker, sheriff and reverend Jacob as a body is found and diphtheria breaks out. Not a light subject but very engrossing and easy to read, what makes the narrative especially interesting is the second person point of view.

A Man for all Seasons was also for a class and focuses on the life of Thomas More, from shortly before his troubles with Henry VIII until his execution. Surprisingly easy to read and not as boring as I thought it would be.

The Awakening

Kate Chopin

I finally got around to reading this book because of the RBC. It´s very well-written and the subject certainly interesting- especially for women but I could never really see The Awakening as anything but what it stands for. The characters and plot seemed to be there only to make a point, to be symbolic. That is fine for a discussion book, or if you want to write a paper about it but not for non-analytic reading.

The Willoughbys

Lois Lowry

I´ve been wanting to read The Willoughbys for quite a while and I wasn´t dissapointed. Of course it´s a parody of old-fashioned children´s literature and never let´s you forget that fact, but the sarcasm and ridiculous situations and characters kept me entertained throughout the book.

I Am the Messenger

Markus Zusak

I am the Messenger is probably my favorite of the month, with A Prayer for the Dying as a close second. I liked the premise of the messages, aces with riddles or adresses on them, that Ed "delivered". Those messages (I don´t want to spoil it for you so I´ll keep it vague) change Ed (and hopefully the reader), and make an unlikely hero of him. I enjoyed Zusak´s writing style just as much as I did in The Book Thief, maybe even more.

“A dark wind makes it through the trees.

The sky is nervous. Black and blue.

My heart applauds inside my ears, first like a roaring crowd, then
slows and slows till it’s a solitary person, clapping with unbridled
sarcasm.”

(Zusak:I am the Messenger.)

The Thin Man

Dashiell Hammett

I´m a huge fan of the Thin Man series with William Powell and Myrna Loy, I´m saving up for the boxed set, and so I was curious about the book by Dashiell Hammett that it was based on. There´s much more humour to the film of course, but the Nick and Nora dialogue was quite close to the book. The biggest difference is the crime, that is the suspects. The victim´s family was an annoying mess in the film, but they´were completely nuts in the book!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

