Currently reading: The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, aged 13 3/4

Yesterday I went to the book bazaar at the library in my hometown and got a great load of books, among them The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, aged 13 3/4 by Sue Townsend. I´d heard of the series but never really went out of my way to actually buy or get the books out of the library. But yesterday I found the first book for a few cents and decided to go ahead and read it on the train. It looked to be at least easy reading if nothing else. I´m halfway through now, it´s just so funny and intriguing.
The book is written as a diary (obviously) and the entries for each day are relatively short but give a great glimpse into Adrian´s life and his opinions. He chronicles his fight with acne, his parents´ marital problems, his first love Pandora (who prefers to be called Box), his dog´s behaviour and his life as an intellectual etc.

Here are some entries to get you sucked in:

Tuesday January 6th
EPIPHANY. NEW M0ON


The dog is in trouble!


It knocked a meter-reader off his bike and messed all the cards up. So
now we will all end up in court I expect. A policeman said we must keep
the dog under control and asked how long it had been lame. My mother
said it wasn't, lame, and examined it. There was a tiny model pirate
trapped in its left front paw.


The dog was pleased when my mother took the pirate out and it jumped up
the policeman's tunic with its muddy paws. My mother fetched a cloth
from the kitchen but it had strawberry jam on it where I had wiped the
knife, so the tunic was worse than ever. The policeman went then. I'm
sure he swore. I could report him for that.


I will look up Epiphany in my new dictionary.

Saturday April 18th

Got parcel from Auntie Susan. It is an embroidered toothbrush holder and it was made by one of the prisoners! She is called Grace Pool. Auntie Susan said that I should write and thank her! It is bad enough that my father´s sister works in Holloway Prison. But now I am expected to start writing to the prisoners! Grace Pool could be a murderess or anything! Still waiting for the eleven pounds eighty pence. It doesn´t seem as if my mother is desperate to see me.

Saturday May 2nd

Had a letter from Grace Pool! This is what it said:

Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your charming letter of thanks. It fair brightened my day. The girls are all joshing me about my suitor. I am due for parole on June 15th, could it be possible to come and see you? Your Auntie Susan is one of the best screws in here, that´s why I obliged and made the toothbrush holder. See you on the fifteenth then.

Yours with fond regards,

Grace Pool

P.S. I was falsely convicted of arson but that is all in the past now.

My God! What shall I do?

(Sue Townsend: The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, aged 13 3/4.Methuen Mandarin, London 1989.)

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

