June in Books


Read:

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4 (Sue Townsend)
The Ball (Iréne Némirovsky)
Anne of Ingleside (L.M.Montgomery)
Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
Anne of Avonlea (L.M.Montgomery)
Anne of the Island (L.M. Montgomery)
Anne of Windy Poplars (L.M. Montgomery)
Anne´s House of Dreams (L.M. Montgomery)
Top Girls (Caryl Churchill)
Cosmopolis (Don DeLillo)

I think I´ve read more or less all the Anne books this month, but once I´d read Anne of Green Gables I couldn´t seem to stop. And they were so easy to read, although I was quite dissapointed that Anne seemed to give up all her ambition to become a housewife.

Top girls and Cosmopolis were books for uni but while Top Girls was a really gripping play, Cosmopolis was simply bad. I knew before that super postmodernism such as DeLillo writes it wouldn´t appeal much to me but I was hoping I wouldn´t outright hate it!

The Ball was a quick and interesting read and a good introduction to Iréne Nèmirosky.The characters, especially mother and daughter are fantastically mean to each other.

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4 is my favorite June read. I´m looking forward to reading the sequels!

Bought:

Motherless Brooklyn (Jonathan Lethem)
Stories from the New Yorker 1940-1950
Stories from the New Yorker 1950-1960
Beloved (Toni Morrison)
Canadian Short Stories
The Witches (Roald Dahl)
Neither here nor there (Bill Bryson)
Sophie´s World (Jostein Gaarder)
Atonement (Ian McEwan)
Short Stories (Sherwood Anderson)
Endless Night (Agatha Christie)
Yeats is Dead!

Only the first book was full priced, the rest I bought second-hand at the book bazzar.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “June in Books

  1. I'm looking forward to reading the Anne books which I somehow missed as a child. Glad to hear you enjoyed them.Also, congrats on a fantastic reading month.

  2. Thanks! But hey, it´s quality and not quantity that matters 🙂 I also didn´t read any Anne books as a child, I think they are not as well-known in Germany (I was big on Astrid Lindgren). They are great for a lazy Sunday, hope you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

