July in Books

Books read in July:

Motherless Brooklyn by Jonathan Lethem
The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
The War against Miss Winter by Kathryn Miller Haines
The Prisoner´s Dilemma by David Edgar
Memories of my Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
The Group by Mary McCarthy
Clouds of Witness by Dorothy L. Sayers

Not bad considering I´m writing (or supposed to be writing) my bachelor thesis. Two books, Motherless Brooklyn and The  Prisoner´s Dilemma, were for uni but still great. Motherless Brooklyn is a detective story with a main character (Lionel) who has Tourette´s syndrome. The whodunnit was interesting enough but it was Lionel´s tourettic narrative that made it stand out for me.

The Prisoner´s Dilemma is a political play about international relations and the frustrating struggle of getting parties to sign a treaty. It would be great to see a production of this, I´m curious how the dialogue in foreign languages that is translated in brackets in the text would be handled on stage.

I finally got around to reading another Atwood. Took me long enough but it was worth it. I enjoyed The Blind Assassin especially its various narratives although the book could have done with a 100 pages less.

The Group is a modern classic that I´ve been wanting to read for years. At first I couldn´t keep all the girls apart and had to go back in the text but in the middle I finally felt connected with the group. I like McCarthy´s criticism of society´s standards and expectations of women back then.

Clouds of Witness is another of my efforts to try and read more crime fiction. I´m not ready to give up on the genre yet and there´s no way around Dorothy L. Sayers. I really liked Lord Peter Wimsey and other important characters such as Bunter and Parker although I felt that minor characters even though they were at the scene of the crime never got enough text to make them real (I´m always comparing this with Agatha Christie´s writing, she could make a character come to life with just three words!). Sayers writing style and literary references appealed to me, her mystery, however, wasn´t very interesting. But then Clouds of Witness is one of her lesser known books so I´m not giving up on her.

I blogged about The War against Miss Winter here.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

