August in Books

I´m finally getting around to posting this, my life´s crazy right now. I got accepted for my master´s degree in American studies, so there´s all kinds of paperwork to fill out, find a new apartment and move, while also finishing my bachelor´s thesis till the end of September. Anyway, here´s the list:

Much Obliged, Jeeves (P.G. Wodehouse)
Winter in June (Kathryn Miller Haines)
The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club (Dorothy Sayers)
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Shaffer and Barrows)
Easy to Kill (Agatha Christie)

Much Obliged, Jeeves was a re-read and as delightful as all the Bertie and Jeeves books. These are my favorite Sunday reads when I just want to relax.

Winter in June is the third Rosie Winter novel. I loved the first one, the second and this third book are still fun but sadly not as amazing as The War against Miss Winter. In Winter in June, Rosie and her friend Jayne go on a USO tour but of course people are still being murdered for personal reasons, even in a war. While still interesting, I missed the theatre focus of the first and even second novel.

I tried reading another Sayers crime, The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club, but I cannot seem to get into her mystery plots.I adore her Peter Wimsey and her writing style is great, but the mystery just doesn´t interest me. So I went bck to Agatha Christie, she is the queen of crime after all and for good reason. Easy to Kill was nice and, dare I say it, comfy. I´ve always found her novels should be read while taking tea!

Finally, I managed to get my hands on the library copy of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. It´s a nice book, nothing very moving or groundbreaking, but I still enjoyed it, especially the letter style and the quirky characters.

The only book I really bought in August was The Elegance of the Hedgehog. I guess I´m making progress in that department.

12 thoughts on “August in Books

  1. I’ve only tried one Sayers as well, but I didn’t love it either. I found it a bit of a slog to get through, which is a shame because I can tell she is an intelligent writer. I’m hoping that if I start at the beginning of her Lord Peter books I’ll have better luck!

    1. Glad I’m not the only one who didn’t love her works. I’m going to give her Harriet Vane books a try, and will try to read them as novels rather than plot-driven mysteries. Have you read those?

  2. Congratulations on getting accepted to the Master’s program! I hope you have a hassle-free move. 🙂

    Have you tried Sayers’s Harriet Vane books? In my opinion they’re her best by a lot; she’s drawing on some of her own experience, so there’s a lot more emotional resonance to them (as well as humor). Strong Poison is the first one.

    1. Thanks! That’s actually an old post I wanted to edit, sorry for confusing everone!

      I heard that the Harriet Vane books are Sayers’ best, so I really want to read them and give her another chance 🙂

    1. Stupid wordpress, that was a post from last year that I wanted to edit. But thanks! I’m glad I’ve got the moving thing behind me. Hope you settled in well in Uppsalla!

  3. Congratulations on being accepted for the Master’s degree, that’s AMAZING! Where (which city IO mean) will you be doing it?

Leave a Reply

