October in books

Books read:

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street (Jeanne Birdsall)

The Secret Diaries of Adrian Mole 1999-2001 (Sue Townsend)

L´Ultima Lacrima (Stefano Benni)

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Alan Bradley)

The Magicians (Lev Grossman)

The Behaviour of Moths (Poppy Adams)

Books bought:

A Case of Exploding Mangoes (Mohammed Hanif)

The Magicians (Lev Grossman)

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Alan Bradley)

The Behaviour of Moths (Poppy Adams)


This month was good for reading, might have been the weather, or my choice of books. I finally got a hold of the second Penderwicks novel which was just as fun and cute as the first one, and a pretty easy read. Is reading childrens´ lit cheating the books read pile?

Also, October offered great choices of contemporary literature. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie is probably my faorite this month, but I also greatly enjoyed The Magicians and The Behaviour of Moths. All of those had amazing cover design which is most often the reasong why I pick up a book in the shop and just pass others (that might be amazing but sport a horrible cover) by without a second glance.

Stefano Benni´s collection of short stories was amazing, why have so few of his works been translated?? I heard via Emily that Europa Editions released his novel Margharita Dolce Vita so I´m putting that on my tbr list!

I bought four new books this months, it´s not a terribly big pile and I´ve already read three of them and am planning to read The Case of Exploding Mangoes next week. I´m considering this rational buying, I didn´t go on a wild book shopping spree! (All right, I´m defensive. That´s because they were new = expensive)

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “October in books

  1. Everyone seems to have had a good reading month in October. And kid's lit definitely counts otherwise I have to not count most of my October books.It looks like you read some great books and I'm looking forward to reading them based on your reviews.

  2. 6 books in a month is quite impressive! Also the fact that you have read 3 of the 4 books you bought in October is quite impressive too!
    Is Stefano Benni's 'L'Ultima Lacrima' an Italian book?

  3. Yes, it´s Italian. But I read it in German :). I added the Italian title because it hasn´t been translated much and where it has been, it has been given different titles.

  4. That is interesting! I saw your German blog too 🙂 It is quite nice and I could understand a few words here and there 🙂 Maybe I will try reading it after studying German a little bit 🙂

Leave a Reply

