Art: The Artist in his Museum

Shocking I know, I´m not blogging about books! I just have a class on American art and among those paintings discussed today was Charles Willson Peale´s The Artist in his Museum. The painting is a self-portrait done by Peale in 1822, showing his natural history and science museum.

I´m picky when it comes to art, and I mostly (almost exclusively) enjoy portraits. I Iove this work because it is so exhilaratingly alive, especially Peale himself.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “Art: The Artist in his Museum

  1. I'm not a huge fan of portraits, I tend to prefer landscapes, but I do like this one, its colours and the perspective.Oh, btw, I (insanely) love linear perspective! 🙂 🙂

  2. That´s so great how everyone has other preferences, especially when it comes to art (I´m sure Wilde said sth about that 😉 ). What´s you favorite painting?

  3. It's hard to think of just one painting…probably something by Monet, I love his works! 🙂 Also 'The Kiss' by Francesco Hayez and Kandinsky's 'Several Circles' are two of my favorite paintings.

  4. No worries! 🙂 Looked up The Kiss, it´s beautiful. I don´t really like the modernists and abstract painting. I prefer the opposite 😀

  5. I'm not a fan of abstract painting either, but that one is an exception. 🙂 Perhaps because of the geometrical forms, lol. :)What's your favorite painting?

  6. Good that you likegeometrical form with your major 🙂 Hmmh, I really like Victor Hugo´s art, the art of chuck close, and most of the paintings in the national Portrait gallery 😀 I can never remember the names of the paintings 😦

Leave a Reply

