Teaser Tuesday

It´s tuesday, I´ve got a new book to read, let´s teaser tuesday!

"She had run on thus far, in her gracefully bantering way, with no other interruptions on my part than the unimportant replies which politeness required of me.

The turn of the expression, however, in her last question, or rather the one chance word, "adventure," lightly fell from her lips, recalled my thoughts to my meeting with the woman in white, and urged me to discover the connection which the stranger´s own reference to Mrs. Fairlie informed me must once have existed between the nameless fugitive from the Asylum, and the former mistress of Limmeridge House."

(Collins, Wilkie: The Woman in White. 29f.)

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by Should be Reading.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday

  1. Nice lines! I read 'The Woman in White' many years back, because I loved Wilkie Collins' 'The Moonstone' which I read before. 'The Woman in White' is one of the books which I read to just to enjoy the prose in addition to enjoying the mystery. The prose of those times is really lovely to read! Hope you are enjoying reading the book 🙂

  2. I haven´t read The Moonstone yet but I´ve got it waiting on the shelves 🙂 Good to know you also enjoyed The Woman in White. The prose is really beautiful and somehow easy to read as well; not like some other classics. I´m excited to find out how the mystery will be resolved.

  3. Glad to know that you are enjoying reading 'The Woman in White'. The mystery gets resolved in an unexpected way 🙂 Hope you enjoy reading 'The Moonstone' too.

Leave a Reply

