2010 Bibliophilic Books Challenge

Yes, another challenge. I´m blaming Michelle for first getting me interested and making it sound so fun! 🙂

Lesley of A Life in Books is hosting the 2010 Bibliophillic Books Challenge. Goal is to read books about reading or literature (fiction and non-fiction) and you have the whole of 2010 to complete it. These are the levels to choose from:

Bookworm -3 books
Litlover- 6 books
Bibliomaniac- 12 books

Go sign up here (till January 31st)!

I´ve signed up for the Litlover level, reading about reading is everyone bookworm´s dream anyway so I don´t think it will be difficult to complete the challenge. I´m not quite sure about my list for this challenge, any suggestions? I recently bought Sara Nelson´s So Many Books So Little Time which fits the challenge perfectly, and I´ll probably reread one of the Thursday Next books.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “2010 Bibliophilic Books Challenge

  1. This sounds like an exciting challenge! I am 'scared' of challenges, because I feel that all my reading for next year might be planned and I won't have room for spontaneous selections. But this challenge is really tempting! 'So many books, so little time' looks quite interesting 🙂 Some books that I can suggest are 'Ex Libris' by Anne Fadiman (collection of essays on books and reading – the book is slim and one of the best books I have ever read), 'A History of Reading' by Alberto Manguel (is there on my reading list), 'How to read literature like a professor' by Thomas Foster (is there on my reading list) and 'How to talk about books that you haven't read' by Pierre Bayard (title looks interesting. Haven't read it though).

  2. It´s the perfect challenge and there are so many bibliophilic books! I felt the same way about challenges at first but there are so many books on my tbr list that fit the challenges. I love that one doesn´t have to stick to a list. Hope you decide to sign up :)And thanks for your suggestions. I´ve put Anne Fadiman and Alberto Maguel on the list.

  3. It is nice to know that one doesn't have to stick to a list in these challenges. I am thinking seriously of participating in the Bibliophile challenge and South Asian author challenge. Looking forward to reading your thoughts on Fadiman, whenever you read the book.

Leave a Reply

