Challenges

For 2010 I´m trying to participate in a couple of reading challenges:

1.)

I´ve signed up for S.Krishna´s South Asian Author Challenge and am trying to read 7 books for it. I love South Asian litarure, especially when it deals with clash of cultures. My favorite author in this genre is Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, highly recommend The Mistress of Spices.
I haven´t made a list for this challenge either but there will definitely be some of her books on it! Apart from that I´m thinking White Tiger, Unaccustomed Earth, some Rushdie.

Sign ups are open till the end of the month!

2.)

Lesley of A Life in Books is hosting the 2010 Bibliophillic Books Challenge. Goal is to read books about reading or literature (fiction and non-fiction) and you have the whole of 2010 to complete it. These are the levels to choose from:

Bookworm -3 books
Litlover- 6 books
Bibliomaniac- 12 books

Go sign up here (till January 31st)!
I´ve signed up for the Litlover level, reading about reading is everyone bookworm´s dream anyway so I don´t think it will be difficult to complete the challenge. I´m not quite sure about my list for this challenge, any suggestions? I recently bought Sara Nelson´s So Many Books So Little Time which fits the challenge perfectly, and I´ll probably reread one of the Thursday Next books.

3.)

Go sign up everyone: Jennifer at Mrs.Q:Book Addict is hosting her first challenge, The Canadian Authors Challenge 2010. I thought I´d sign up for level 3 because I´m also doing a South Asian Challenge and have to leave room for spontaneous decisions. Now I´ve decided to go for 5 books, it´s still not actually a lot, but very possible to achieve and much better for my list.

Can there be a Canadian literature list without Margaret Atwood on it? She had me with the very first book I read by her, The Handmaid´s Tale, but I also loved the other one I read, The Blind Asssasin, so it had to be her writing style and not the fact that I adore dystopian literature. For this challenge I´ll read two more of her works, Oryx and Crake and The Year of the Flood.

The third novel on my list is Nancy Huston´s Fault Lines (Lignes de Faille), which I´ve wanted to read before to improve my practically non-existent French. This time I´ll just go ahead and read the English translation, it´s embarrassing but still better than not reading it at all.

Alan Bradley´s The Weed that Strings the Hangman´s Bag is the second Flavia DeLuce book and comes out in March. I highly recommend reading at least the first book, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (read my review here).

Last on my list is Alice Munroe´s new work Too Much Happiness, a short story collection. Somehow I have never read anything by her, not even for uni, and I´m curious whether she really is as great as everyone claims.

I think a lot of you are putting The Little Girl Who Was too Fond Matches on their list (at least I´m hoping you wil), I´m excited to discuss some aspects of this!

2 thoughts on “Challenges

  1. Nice to see your new blog! It looks great! All the best for your challenges! I am thinking of participating in the ‘South Asian’ and ‘Bibliophile’ challenges 🙂

    Wish you a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

