Review: Aunts aren´t Gentlemen

P.G. Wodehouse´s Aunts aren´t Gentlemen aka The Maiden Eggesford Horror aka The Case of the Cat Which Kept Popping Up When Least Expected, is the last installment in the Jeeves and Wooster series.

Bertie is advised to take a break from being a young man about town, and heads for the village of Maiden Eggesford, to enjoy the quiet country life in his aunt Dahlia´s company. Unfortunately he stumbles right into racehorse schemings which involve a cat that keeps popping up, a horse named Potato Chip, and the phrase “Has he brought it yet?”. Add to that a troubled couple in love and Major Plank, and you can imagine there´s plenty of trouble for Bertie to get into.

I enjoyed Aunts aren´t Gentlemen just as much as Wodehouse´s other works, although there could have been a bit more of Jeeves in it. This one was only about 160 pages short and great reading for an evening on the couch- with a cup of tea of course. I´m glad Wodehouse wrote so much, not unlike an other favorite writer of mine, Agatha Christie. And in Aunts aren´t Gentlemen Bertie mentions wanting to curl up with an Agatha Christie book, which made the book even better.

I have yet to watch the Jeeves and Wooster series starring Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie. Has anyone seen it yet, is it any good? I always pictured Fry as Bertie and Laurie as Jeeves, I was kind of stunned to discover that the roles are reversed.

7 thoughts on “Review: Aunts aren´t Gentlemen

  1. Nice review! I have ‘Aunts aren’t gentlemen’ and have reserved it for a rainy day when I am not in a mood for reading anything else 🙂 But after reading your review, I am getting tempted to read it soon. I didn’t know that Stephen Fry acted as Jeeves 🙂 Don’t know how it will be, but looking forward to seeing one of the episodes soon.

  2. I love the Jeeves and Wooster series. Laurie is absolutely spot on as Bertie. 🙂

    The first episode also contains him playing the piano and singing a song – I won’t ruin anything by saying what song – but that scene makes me giggle and giggle every time I see it. It’s fabulous.

  3. I have read all Wodehouse possibly twice over, I love Wooster & Jeeves, but my personal favorite is the Elmsworth series of books. Have you read them? Beyond hilarious 🙂

    1. I haven’t read any Elmsworth books, so I’m happy to hear you love the series. I’ll be sure to give it a try! Jeeves & Wooster are fantastic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

