Library Loot: April 7-13, 2010

My first (official) Library Loot post, but I figured today was the best day to start as I went to the library and took out seven books to  celebrate being done with end-of-term papers. Okay so I went to bookstore first but the lack of books in English depressed me (they don´t  have the second Flavia book yet, a major let-  down because this was to be my treat for finishing the papers).

ANY_CHARACTERS_HERE
ANY_CHARACTERS_HERE

I doubt that I will be able finish all these till the end of the month but they all sounded so tempting. I think they acquired a couple of great  books in my month-long absence, which was a nice surprise. Any thoughts on where to start?

The Other Half Lives (Sophie Hannah)

Her books seem to be everywhere recently and if she really writes as well as the blurbs promise, I think I´m going to have a fun evening with this one.

Lady Audley´s Secret (Mary Elizabeth Braddon)

Victorian sensation fiction and a pretty cover.

The Lace Reader (Brunonia Barry)

Pretty spine 🙂 Obviously I´m not all superficial when it comes to choosing books.

Cider with Rosie (Laurie Lee)

Cosy Cotswolds! Have read a good review of this somewhere but I can´t remember which blog, sorry. At least the recommendation stuck.

Union Street (Pat Barker)

Was lured by the Virago apple and thought I might want to read something heavier.

The Woman´s Room (Marilyn French)

Should have read this one ages ago!

Her Fearful Symmetry (Audrey Niffenegger)

Have absolutely no expectations after reading lots of meh reviews. But since the library (finally) bought it I thought why not.

20 thoughts on “Library Loot: April 7-13, 2010

  1. That is a great selection! I have been tempted by The Lace Reader on several occasions – I might have to get it out soon.

    I hope that you continue to enjoy the Sophie Hannah – I think she is a fantastic thriller writer.

    1. Wow, I had no idea The Other Half was part of a series. Will have to look out for book 1, but so far thre are no problems with starting with this book. I´m really enjoying it so far!

      Will probably read The Lace Reader soon 🙂

  2. I’ve only read Cider with Rosie from your library loot pile, really enjoyed it, it totals sweeps you back to another time and place. So I recommend you start there. But I am also interested in reading Her Fearful Symmetry, might wait and see what you think!

    1. That sounds wonderful, I think I´ll need to read it outside in the sun 🙂 Will let you know about Fearful Symmetry, it´s been on my list for a while!

  3. I didn’t know you had this blog! I was looking at the other one. 🙂

    For a library of not stocking English Books, you sure got yourself a good loot there. I read Her Fearful Symmetry, it was a Meh feeling. But I hope you like it, it’s worth a read anyway.

    Have fun!

    1. I´ve been trying to get wordpress to automatically link to this blog, but it´s been ignoring me. Glad you found my book blog 🙂

      Hehe, my library does stock a decent amount of books in English (for being a German library that is), just wish the bookstores would keep up.

      I´m glad I didn´t buy the hardback of Fearful Symmetry when it came out as lots of reviews have been kind of meh. But I´ll give it a go and try not to expect anything 🙂

      1. The best way of getting around it is to put a top post on your old blog and insert a hyperlink?

        I see you are intending to read Xiaolu Guo’s. Read it in Feb 2010, I can’t wait to hear what you think about it! 🙂

  4. Great loot. I’ve just discovered The Women’s Room so I’m itching to get a copy. Hope you enjoy Lady Audley’s Secret. I loved it to bits.

    1. I just started Lady Audley´s Secret, you and nymeth make it sound so amazing 🙂 Hope you can get your hands on a copy of The Women´s Room!

  5. Interesting list of books! Hope you are enjoying reading them! Interesting to know that the spine influenced you to pick ‘The Lace Reader’ 🙂 You have to tell me sometime what is a ‘meh’ review / feeling 🙂 It will be a good word to have in my vocabulary 🙂

    1. The spine has a beautiful print of a lace motive on it, too bad they didn´t continue it on the actual cover.
      Haha, meh means that you´re not feeling strongly about the book, it expresses a kind of indifference. Hope that helps (although I´m not a native speaker either so you might want to check again 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

