Library Loot: April 28 to May 4

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. The Mr. Linky is at Marg´s this week.

I can´t believe I went to the library again and took out 7 books! I have a huge unread pile of library books already, but they do look better at my place than at the library 🙂

I´ve been trying to get into the whole graphic novel thing. I doubt that I will ever feel as passionate about them as I do about books, but I really liked Persepolis and Exit Wounds so I included the comics section in my library round.

Anyway, here´s my pile for this week:

Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (M.C. Beaton)

As always, I´m on the look-out for cozy crimes. Mae´s review of an Agatha Raisin book made me want to try them out. This one isn´t the first in the series but the only one that wasn´t checked out.

Miss Webster and Chérif (Patricia Duncker)

It´s got a pretty cover and is published by Bloomsbury, that´s enough to make me pick it up. But the story sounds interesting as well 🙂

The Virago Book of Such Devoted Sisters (ed. Shena Mackay)

The bond between sisters is one of my favorite element in literature (next to unreliable narrators and dystopias), perhaps because I only have a brother.

The Life and Crimes of Agatha Christie (Charles Osborne)

One of my favorite authors so of course I´m interested in this one. After that I can read her autobiography to check what Agatha Christie thought of all this herself 🙂

The Unit (Ninni Holmquist)

Dystopian fiction of course!

Chicken with Plums (Marjane Sartrapi)

I really liked Sartrapi´s style in Persepolis, so I´m curious about this one. Although it makes me want to cook chicken with plums for dinner!

The Complete Maus (Art Spiegelmann)

I´ve only read excerpts of this one but I think I´ll like it. The one that showed that graphic literature can be high art as much as any other genre.

Any thoughts on these books? And what´s your take on graphic novels?

19 thoughts on “Library Loot: April 28 to May 4

  1. I keep hearing so much about these Agatha Raisin books but have myself read none of them, so I look forward what you end up thinking of one of them before I rush to the library to grab one 🙂

    I’ve never actually read a graphic novel, always contemplate it but never do it, shameful really lol.

    1. I´m very curious about the Agatha Raisin book and suspect I will cave and read it on the next rainy day 🙂

      Hehe, don´t be too embarassed, I´ve only read two or three so far myself. They make for quick reading though 😉

    1. Pretty sure I´ll love it (even though I like cats) 😉 And I´m really looking forward to the Virago book, their selection is usually amazing.

  2. Ninni Holmquist sounds interesting. Is she/he a Scandinavian writer? My interest in Scandinavian writing has been piqued by Larsson and Lindqvist.

    Thanks for the link love. I hope you do enjoy the books. 🙂

    1. She is, I think she´s Swedish. I haven´t read a lot of Scandinavian writers yet, but I´m trying to do better this year. I´ve read Astrid Lindgren of course, and recently Daisy Sisters by Henning Mankell. Will look out for Larsson and Lindqvist! 🙂

      1. I can’t believe I’ve never read Pippi Longstocking. Must look out for that too.

        I can see a lovely edition of ‘On the Beach’ in your side bar! 🙂

        1. The vintage edition, I love those, sadly it´s only a library copy 🙂 Oh you´ve got to read Astrid Lindgren´s works, especially Pippi Longstocking of course. She was one of my childhood heroines (still is! 🙂 ).

  3. Nice list! I love the fact that you can keep taking books from the library without returning the previous lot 🙂 You are so lucky!

    Looking forward to reading your thoughts on ‘Maus’. I liked it, though it was difficult to read – and as you have said Art Spiegelman was the original pioneer in gaining recognition for graphic novels as art. I am also quite curious about ‘The Life and Crimes of Agatha Christie’ 🙂 Can’t wait to read your review of it. Am especially interested in knowing what happened when Christie disappeared for a few days.

    1. So far they´ve let me take out books by the dozen (I think I have 25 or so out right now), not sure what the limit is 😀 I only have to return them by the day they´re due.

      I thought if I did give graphic lit a shot I couldn´t get around Spiegelmann 🙂 Have you read his In the shadow of no towers yet? He seems to go for controversial and difficult topics.

      Hehe, don´t we all want to know what happened? I think nobody really knows, she put her detective knowledge into practice 😉

      1. I love your library! Envy you 🙂 I see the word ‘Library Loot’ in a totally different light, after reading about your library 🙂

        I haven’t read Spiegelman’s ‘In the shadow of no towers’ yet. I will look for it. Thanks for the suggestion.

        Yes, Agatha Christie’s disappearance must be one of the great mysteries ever. Have you read her memoir ‘Come, tell me how you live’?

        1. Haha, yeah, I´m just waiting for the moment when the security guards at the library will take a look at my loot and won´t let me leave 😉
          I haven´t read her memoir yet, but I think it´s a must-read. I have her autobiography though and want to read that one as well. But I need to watch out that I don´t devour her non-ficiton as quickly as her others 😀 Have you read the memoirs?

          1. I haven’t read Christie’s memoir ‘Come, tell me how you live’. But I have it on my TBR list. It seems to be about her time with her archaeologist husband travelling around archaeological sites and discovering new things. Promises to be interesting.

  4. The Virago Book sounds really interesting. And I’m cruious about the other Marjane Satrapi books as well. I didn’t enjoy Persepolis as much as others seem to do, but I’ve been told Embroideries is a very good one. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on Chicken with Plums

    1. I really liked Persepolis and Chicken with Plums has the same style. What didn´t you like about Persepolis, perhaps I can tell whether you´d like this one. I´m curious about Embroideries as well.

Leave a Reply

