April in Books

April has been a great reading month for me with seven books read. I´ve been trying to get through my piles of library loot but if I continue borrowing so many books each week I´ll never get to read my own unread books. I guess I´ll make that a resolution!

Here´s the list of books read from April:

The Dud Avocado (Elaine Dundy)

The Other Half Lives (Sophie Hannah)

Songs for the Missing (Stewart O`Nan)

The Weed That Strings the Hangman´s Bag (Alan Bradley)

The Lace Reader (Brunonia Barry)

An Expert in Murder (Nicola Upson)

Cider with Rosie (Laurie Lee)

It´s hard to say which ones are my favorites of April, probably Songs for the Missing, The Weed that Strings the Hangsman´s Bag and Cider with Rosie. Followed by The Dud Avocado and The Other Half Lives. And then An Expert in Murder and The Lace Reader.

After reading the second Flavia book I can hardly wait for book three. If you haven´t read this series yet, please give it a try, it´s quite likely that you´ll fall for Flavia as well!

I also read Sophie Hannah´s The Other Half Lived, a thriller I really enjoyed. I´d recommend starting with book one, The Little Face though, which I´ve been told is fantastic as well.

And another one that seems to be turning out to be a series is Nicola Upson´s mystery novel starring Josephine Tey, set in the 1930s. I enjoyed the non-mystery parts much more than the whodunnit aspect, but I´d recommend everyone to give it a try, I´m just very picky with the mystery genre.

For May I´m trying to work on my library loot pile, I still have 13 books out! Since the weekend here was cold and rainy I spent most of it reading so that I finished my first Agatha Raisin book and the graphic novel Chicken with Plums. It´s hard to say which one took less time, both were really fast reads. I´ll be posting the reviews in the next couple of days. I´m also finally focusing on reading Lady Audley´s Secret, an exciting sensation novel, it reminds me of The Woman in White. I kind of tried to get into Her Fearful Symmetry as well, but I have a feeling that it´d be unfair to read it at the same time as Lady Audley´s Secret. Iris, I read on your blog that there´s a readalong of Symmetry, would you give me the link?

What was your reading month like?

25 thoughts on “April in Books

  1. Oooh, I LOVED Lady Audley’s Secret! And I have Chicken With Plums on my list for May.

    I’m going to finally read the Flavia books soon-ish! An incredibly nice book blogger offered to send them to me after seeing my say how much I wanted them, so in the near future I’ll be joining the Flavia fan club 😀

    1. I can see why you love it, I had a hard time putting it down last night! 🙂 I liked Chicken with Plums, not brilliant, but still good. Curious about your thoughts on it!
      That´s fantastic, I really hope you´ll like the Flavia books!

    1. Hehe, I think I might have to get it back to the library by the time the readalong starts but I´ll be looking at the thread to see when they start, thanks for the link! I really hope the book won´t be as disppointing as a lot of reviews make it sound.

      Great, I really hope you´ll like it! Have fun with Flavia 🙂

      1. Is there a time frame on it, I always understood it to be “somewhere in May”, but maybe I haven’t paid attention.

        1. I think the only time frame is that people actually have a copy 🙂 I had just hoped that it´d started already b/c I have to return it to the library soon.

  2. I definitively agree with the others, April was a great month for your reviews. I’ve been eyeing Alan Bradley eversince I heard the rave reviews and since reading your thoughts I have to pick up his first book to read more on Flavia. I just saw the paperback and it is beautiful.
    As for thrillers/ mysteries, I hope to complete Patricia Cornwall’s Portrait of A Killer, based on her studies on revealing the identity of the real Jack the Ripper. It’s complete with research and analytically dissections on the serial killer’s pattern, plus an interesting comment on how the killer made portraits reflective of the murders committed.
    Looking forward to reading your May reviews soon.

    PK Reeves

    1. Thank you! I really hope you´ll end up loving Flavia, she´s a great character. The paperback edition is also really beautiful, the book is just great all around 🙂 Portrait of a Killer sounds interesting, I love research! Will look out for this book.

  3. I have the same problem! I just checked out over a dozen books from the library when I have more than that sitting on my bookshelf, waiting (ever so patiently) to be read. Well, I’m a book diet anyway so something’s gotta give! I have really cut down my spending and re-discovered the library over the past few months. I used to go all the time a few years ago but I just stopped going (for whatever reason, I’m not sure).

    Until my budget allows, it will be the library all the way (and used bookstores, if I absolutely must purchase)!

    -Lydia @ The Literary Lollipop

    1. Haha I know what you mean. here we are thinking that we´re doing something good by borrowing instead of buying and then we need to watch those stacks as well. Bookworms! 😉

  4. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on ‘Lady Audley’s Secret’. I have yet to read it and am dying to know whether you recommend it as well. Happy Reading in May! 🙂

    1. I´m really enjoying that one, it´s very suspenseful. Glad I don´t have to read it in weekly installments in the paper 🙂

  5. I’ve got the exact same problem. I go to the library with the full intention of only dropping books off and picking up reserves like DVDs and a few magazines but then I get sidetracked and come home with yet another pile of books. As sad as it sounds, I’m going to have to stop borrowing for a few months so I can begin to make a dent in my own books!

    1. I know, simply entering the library is nearly as bad as going into a bookstore. I´m just waiting for the day they won´t let me out of the library because I´ve got too many books out .)

      Stopping is sad, but hope you can resist the library. I´ll try not to take out too many either.

  6. Ah you’ve read another big pile of books, altho I must admit I had a much better reading month as well. I eagerly look forward to your review of Agatha Raisin.

    1. Haha, well 7 is usually the most I can manage in one month, but compared to many other book bloggers it´s very little. It´s great that you had a much better reading month, perhaps you´re adjusting? The review is coming up, probably Friday.

  7. Ah – you’re reminding me I need to find the Flavia book! Y’all were right when you said book blogging would keep me busy. 🙂

    1. You definitely have got to read the Flavia book soon! Yeah, blogging keeps you busy. Sometimes it keeps me from reading 😀

  8. You seem to have had a wonderful reading month in April! Congratulations!

    Looking forward to reading your reviews of ‘Chicken in Plums’ and ‘Lady Audley’s Secret’.

Leave a Reply

