Library Loot: May 5 to 11

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

Let´s all forget what I said about not borrowing any books from the library anymore, what was I thinking? I´m glad I browsed the shelves because I found some great books, and in my defense, I´ve already finished one 🙂

Here´s this week´s pile:

Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley (M.C. Beaton)

I quite enjoyed the Agatha Raisin book I read last week (the review will be up soon) so I was happy to find the next book had been returned to the library.

The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy (James Anderson)

If you´re a regular reader of this blog, you´ll have noticed how much I like cosy crimes. This one had a fun cover and the word cosy in the title 🙂 Also, the blurbs are just really teasing, calling it a “mystery in the great tradition of Agatha Christie” and “If you half-close your eyes you can almost smell Poirot or Miss Marple shuffling through the pages”. I had no chance of resisting this one!  Hope it´ll be good, it´s the first book in a series.

Love in a Cold Climate (Nancy Mitford)

Can´t believe I´ve never read any of her books before, I finished this one already and loved it.

Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont (Elizabeth Taylor)

Another Virago Modern Classic, I couldn´t resist. And according to the backflap, the writer has been called the Jane Austen of this century.

Tropical Fish (Doreen Baingana)

I want to read more diversely but somehow I always end up with books by white American/ British authors. This one sounds quite interesting, it´s mostly set in Uganda.

Shades of Grey (Jasper Fforde)

I´ve been waiting for the library to acquire this book for ages and snapped it right up when they finally did. I love Fforde´s works, I love dystopian literature. I should love this one, right?

The Making of a Marchioness (Frances Hodgson Burnett)

Another great find, can´t believe my library finally invested in a Persephone! 🙂

Any thoughts on these books? And what did you loot from the library this week?


18 thoughts on “Library Loot: May 5 to 11

  1. What a great haul! Love in a Cold Climate is a favourite and I really enjoyed Shades of Grey. I didn’t love The Making of a Marchioness the first time I read it (a few months ago) but I’ve been thinking that I may need to give it a second chance. Elizabeth Taylor is one of those authors I see favourable reviews for everywhere but I’ve never read; I’ll need to remedy that soon. Enjoy your reading!

    1. I need to read more Mitford, I loved her biting wit in Love in a Cold Climate 🙂 I´m very curious about the Taylor book, I haven´t read anything by her either. I hope I´ll enjoy Marchioness, if I do, I´ll try to persuade you to give it another try.

  2. I can’t believe I’ve never read anything by any of the Mitford sisters. I’m glad that Elizabeth Taylor has a good and increasing reputation in spite of her having the same name as the actress.

    1. Haha, I can´t believe I didn´t even notice the same name 😀 I´ve only read this one Mitford, but I can highly recommend it.

  3. Let me know what you think of The Making of a Marchioness. If you like it, I will pick up a copy.
    Staying away from Library until I can finish off Beautiful Creatures…. 🙂

    1. Then I hope all the more that I´ll enjoy it 🙂 Ah yes, staying away from the library. . . 😉 Have fun with Beautiful Creatures!

  4. Ooh, a Persephone! 🙂

    I have never read anything by Nancy Mitford either, but I think Love in a Cold Climate is a must so I’ll await your review to keep up appearances of not randomly putting things on my wishlist, but I’m sure it’ll end up there eventually.

    1. I know, finally a Persephone! 🙂
      I can tell you now, that I loved Love in a Cold Climate, would definitely recommend it. Although perhaps it´s best to start with the first one in this trilogy. I´ll make sure to write a raving review about it so that you have a “legitimate” reason to put it on your wishlist 😀

  5. I have resisted the urge to return to the libary again over the weekend, although I am quickly working my way down my library pile so will deserve a trip soon.

    Already taken out another Agatha Raisin?! Must be a good sign definitely can’t wait for your review. The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy sounds good as well!

    1. Wow, I admire you! 🙂 I decided to just give in to temptation, this one doesn´t cost anything 😀

      I´m curious what you´ll make of the Agatha Raisin books, you should give them a try 🙂

  6. I loved the title and the cover of ‘The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy’! Looking forward to reading your review of it. I didn’t know that there was a writer called Elizabeth Taylor! Or was it the actress writing under the same name and hoping that no one would recognize her?

    1. I´m constantly eyeing The Affair of the Bloodstined Egg Cosey but try not to cave and read my library books in order of their due date. Not sure how long I´ll be able to resist. Like you said, the cover is great 🙂

      Haha, I didn´t even make the connection with the actress of the same name until people started commenting on it 🙂 But she´s another Elizabeth Taylor, who would´ve thought there´d be more than one?? 😉

Leave a Reply

