May in Books

I´m back after a wonderful relaxing and fun week home, and will now attempt to work through all your great posts and reply to your nice comments. Google reader will have to wait till tomorrow though, I took one look at the number of articles and nearly fainted!

May was a great reading month for me, I was quite ecstatic until I saw other people´s  recaps. I guess I´ll just have to live with the fact that 11 books is much more than I normally read and probably the most I´ll ever manage in a month. My library book pile is never going to get smaller 😀

Here´s the complete list:

Chicken with Plums (Marjane Sartrapi)
Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (M.C. Beaton)
Lady Audley´s Secret (Mary Elizabeth Braddon)
Love in a Cold Climate (Nancy Mitford)
Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley (M.C. Beaton)
Die Entbehrlichen/ The Unit (Ninni Holmqvist)
Miss Webster and Chérif (Patricia Duncker)
Shades of Grey (Jasper Fforde)
The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam (Lauren Liebenberg)
The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy (James Anderson)
Mrs. Palfrey at the Claremont (Elizabeth Taylor)

As you can see I still have a couple of reviews coming up, I really didn´t take much time last week for reading or reviewing. Somehow I seem to read less on vacations. I enjoyed so many of the books I read this month, my favorites were The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam, Mrs. Palfrey at the Claremont, Love in a Cold Climate and Miss Webster and Chérif, and The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy and. . . I´m either very good at selecting books that I´ll like or easy to please!

Of course three books were crime novels but I´m glad I seem to be getting back into the genre. I´m very aware that I read mostly U.S. and British literature and although it is my preferred literature, I don´t want to miss out on the great books other parts of the world have to offer. Any recommendations? At least this month I got in works by a Swedish, a South African and an Iranian/ French author. Progress, right? 😉

For June I want to put a dent in my tbr pile, read Sweet Danger for Nymeth´s 1930s challenge, and then read whatever new books I´ll no doubt get from the library.

What was your reading month like? And what are your plans for June?

16 thoughts on “May in Books

  1. Well done on a satisfying reading month! I’m a mystery newbie so I can’t help you with recommendations, but I look forward to seeing which ones you get.

  2. Eleven books is a great reading month for me as well. It’s a bit depressing to look at what other people read in one month, but in the end I don’t think it matters how many books you read.

  3. It looks like you had a wonderful reading month! Congratulations! Looking forward to reading your reviews of ‘Shades of Grey’, ‘The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam’ (what a title!) and ‘The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy’.

    1. Haha, thanks, Michelle! It´s really been an unusual reading month for me, I´m more of a 4 books per month reader as well.

  4. Love the collage for May. Hmmm makes mine look so bland and Mrs Q just placed her vlog. You are both so artistic! Going to have to start something more creative soon since my inspirations come from you both.

    Take a peak at Aisle B for May Wrap UP.

    Later alligator

    PK Reeves

    1. Hehe, I´m really not artistic at all, and I only used windows paint 🙂 I really like your wrap-ups, no pressure 🙂

Leave a Reply

