Teaser Tuesday

If you´re a regular reader of my blog, you´ll probably have noticed that Agatha Christie is my favorite mystery writer and that I´m now forever trying to find other crime novels equal to hers. Sometimes that works, often it doesn´t. But I´m glad I still have some non-fiction about her life and works left to read. This passage explains pretty much what I most enjoy about Christie´s works:

“One of Agatha Christie´s great achievements as a crime writer was to make murder cosy enough to be palatable to refined middleclass tastes. She abhorred violence, and those who see in it the only reality will seek that kind of reality in vain in the Christiean oeuvre. Her appeal is incredibly wide- ca va sans dire, as Poirot might say- and it is an appeal not to the blood lust but to a civilized delight in the puzzle shared by her readers of all social and intellectual classes.”

(Charles Osborne: The Life and Crimes of Agatha Christie.16)

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by Should Be Reading and this is how it works:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
27 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday

  1. Interesting! I love Agatha Christie though I have yet to read a bio. Did you know she disappeared for a few days at some point in her life? There’s a film called Agatha with Dustin Hoffman.

  2. The Grande Dame of Mystery *bows* Dare I recommend Carolyn G. Hart’s The Christie Caper, if you haven’t read it yet? I’m adding this book to my wishlist. Good teaser!

    Thanks for dropping by mine! 🙂

  3. This isn’t the usual type of book that I read, but it sounds pretty good. Might have to check it out 🙂
    HERE is my teaser for the first day of June!

  4. Lovely teaser! Hope you are enjoying reading this book. Looking forward to reading your review of it.

  5. What a beautiful book! The cover is amazing and it’s your favorite sleuth Agatha Christie!

    Here’s mine from Patricia Flavey’s Yellow House: http://aisleb.tumblr.com

    I haven’t been this excited about a book since Steinbeck’s east of Eden! Really thriving on finishing it up for my review this week.

    Sending you positive vibes!

    PK Reeves
    Aisle B

    1. I know!:) I love the cover as wel, it looks very fun for non-fiction 😉

      Yellow House sounds really exciting, I´m keen on your review!

  6. I see you have a Maisie Dobbs in your waiting line. I borrowed the first book in the series from the library, but haven’t managed to crack the covers yet.

Leave a Reply

