Library Loot: June 2-8, 2010

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. The Mr. Linky is at Eva´s blog this week.

I missed my library loot last week so even though I have loads of unread books lying around here I had to get some new ones out. They look really good at my place 🙂

Here´s the complete list:


The Ladies of Grace Adieu (Susanna Clarke)

I read her first book some years ago and quite enjoyed it so I hope this one will be good as well. Also, the cover looks fantastic 🙂

Cold Comfort Farm (Stella Gibbons)

Loads of gushing reviews made me want to read this one, I also loved the film adaptation. I´m hoping I´ll be able to read it in time for Nymeth´s 1930s challenge.

Money in the Bank (P.G. Wodehouse)

The combination of fantastic weather and weekend calls for some Wodehouse (although really, everything calls for some Wodehouse 🙂 ).

The Spare Room (Helen Garner)

There´s no escaping this one in the bookstores at the moment and the library is much cheaper. Still, I don´t know when I´ll be in the mood for a heavy book like this.

The Act of Roger Murgatroyd (Gilbert Adair)

A satire of and hommage to Agatha Christie´s mysteries, I had to check this one out. This book is supposedly not only a great parody but also a very good mystery. I´m excited about this one (and it´s also part of a series!). Quite proud of myself for only getting one crime novel this time 🙂


And then there´s another pile of books, which I looted from a good friend with excellent taste last week (my book fairy so to speak). I´m calling it the friend loot:

The End of Mr. Y (Scarlett Thomas)

I loved her other novel PopCo (check it out if you´re into mysteries and code-cracking) and this one´s supposed to be even better, I´m very excited to read it.

Croc Attack (Assaf Gavron)

Another book lots of people have reviewed and raved about, I´m quite sure I´ll enjoy it as well. Also finally a book toward my read-more-world-lit resolution.

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner´s Dilemma (Trenton Lee Stewart)

The third MBS book, I finished it yesterday and had a great time. I love children´s books because of the wonderful sense of adventure they inspire.

Going Bovine (Libba Bray)

I read Bray´s Gemma Doyle series and liked the first book a lot, the rest was a bit too esoteric for me, but I´be heard great things about Going Bovine.

I really have a lot of great books lying around my place but somehow I can´t really seem to focus on one. I managed to finish one yesterday but other than that I´ve cracked open five books and restlessly go back and forth between them. I hope it´ll get better soon! I´ll take a pile of books with me to the balcony and hopefully get my mojo back.

Also, I apologize that this whole post is in italics, wordpress doesn´t like me today and I don´t know anything about html.

What did you loot from the library this week?

30 thoughts on “Library Loot: June 2-8, 2010

  1. Oh, if you loved the movie “Cold Comfort Farm” then you’ll enjoy the book. They did a terrific job of turning the book into a movie.

  2. I enjoyed Ladies of Grace Adieu, so I don’t think you’ll be disappointed! I want to read Cold Comfort Farm after all the recent gushing too. 😀 Wodehouse is so great! And if that satire series is good, I’ll totally give it a try, so I vote you definitely read that one and review it. hehe

    1. Finished Cold Comfort farm today and can most definitely join in on the gushing! 🙂 The movie is great as well.
      I´m glad to hear you liked The Ladies of Grace Adieu, pretty sure I´ll enjoy it, too, then.

    1. I love Cold Comfort Farm, my commute has never felt this short! 🙂 And now you´ve all made me very excited to read The Ladies of Grace Adieu 🙂

  3. I liked The Ladies of Grace Adieu (although I felt I should maybe have read Jonathan Strange first..) when I read it a few years ago. I’m curious about Cold Comfort Farm. I’ve heard so many good things about it that I can’t wait to read it myself.

    1. It´s ben some time since I read Jonathan Strange but I remeber quite enjoying it, after I got over the size of the book 🙂 I´m curious how The Ladies of Grace Adieu compares 🙂
      Cold Comfort Farm is really as great as everyone says, I´m sure you´ll have fun reading that one 🙂

    1. I´ve only heard great things about The End of Mr.Y 🙂 Hope you´ll like Garner when you get to her works. I hope the spare room won´t make me cry too much 😉

  4. I envy you for the selection you have at the library. Mine has banned since I keep hogging the books hence the reason I bought my own copy of Beautiful Creatures. Have I read it… terribly… no not yet! My librarian laughs and chides me for taking out books just for their covers. Oh well
    will have to start reading the ones I have on my own shelf.

    Come visit my Mailbox Monday tommorrow. And YES I bought another romance book among others…

    The Act of Roger Murgatroyd (Gilbert Adair): let me know how the Agatha Christie hommage turns out 🙂

    Later alligator 🙂

    1. And that´s the selection of English books at a German library, I´m sure yours must be better! 🙂 Hehe, couldn´t let go of them? I´d rather keep the library books as well, they look perfect on my shelves!

      We have machines for returning and checking out books so I don´t need to fear the mocking of librarians. But usually great covers promise great books, I´m so with you on the judging by cover thing! 😀

  5. Oh I recently read Cold Comfort Farm and loved it. I must get to watching the film version! That’s a great selection, quite a few of which (like The End of Mr Y and The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner´s Dilemma) are on my TBR list. I look forward to seeing what you think of them.

    1. Finished Cold Comfort Farm now as well, you´re so right, it´s amazing! Highly recommend the film 🙂 the third MBS book is great, as fun as the rest of the series and I´m very curous about The End of Mr Y as well 🙂

  6. Interesting Library Loot 🙂 I have Susanna Clarke’s ‘Jonathan Strange and Mr.Norrell’ – I bought it a few years back, and I liked it because of its size (I haven’t seen such a big one-volume book before!) but the size has intimidated me and I haven’t read it yet. Will have to do that sometime. Hope you enjoy this book by Susanna Clarke. ‘The Act of Roger Murgatroyd’ sounds like a fascinating book! Can’t wait to read your review of it! Wodehouse is an all-season author, isn’t he 🙂 Nice to know that Scarlett Thomas’ second book has come out. I saw ‘Going Bovine’ at the bookshop today, but my hands were already full at that time, and so I resisted it. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it.

    1. Haha, you´re right, the size of that thing! Have you seen the new editions which look much much smaller? I´m wondering if they worked magic to get it down to a normal size!? 🙂 It´s been some time since I read Jonathan Strange, but from the impression it left on me, I´d recommend it. It took me a bit to get into the story but then I remember enjoying it.

      Wodehouse really is for all seasons, so glad he was so prolific 🙂

      Scarlett Thomas has actually already another book out, Our Tragic Universe, I´ve only read PoCo so far though (still think the code cracking and math stuff will appeal to you 🙂 ).

      Haha, I´m guessing you didn´t go through the store alphabetically, full hands in the B aisle. . .that would surely mean a buying ban soon 😀

      1. That is really interesting! They must have really done some magic to reduce its size! I will try to read it sometime later this year.

        Interesting to know that another book by Scarlett Thomas has come out too. I will search for ‘PopCo’ when I am in the bookstore next time.

        Your guess is a smart one 🙂 But I did go through most of the fiction section in the store – they had ‘Going Bovine’ in the fantasy section (I rarely browse the fantasy section) – that is why I didn’t see it earlier.

      2. I forgot to add one more thing! I love the German spelling of English (‘Englisch’) in the library book – with the ‘c’ between the ‘s’ and the ‘h’ 🙂

        1. I´m not a regular browser of the fantasy shelf myself, I´m hoping to get more into fantasy at some point though.

          Haha, yes, the sh sound ist spelled sch in German 🙂 And Krimi means crime btw. Now you know some basic German 🙂

              1. Ha, ha, ha!

                Oh – so ‘Frauen’ is the plural of ‘Frau’ or ‘Fraulein’? (Steffi Graf used to be called ‘Fraulein Forehand’ during the old days – that is how I know ‘Fraulein’). That is nice. Now I know one more word in German 🙂

                1. Hehe, you´ll be an expert on German in no time 🙂 Yes, Fräulein is an old-fashioned term for an unmarried woman. Frau is singular and Frauen is the plural (the plural is most often expressed with-e or -en in German).

                  1. Interesting! I thought that ‘Fräulein’ was the equivalent of ‘Miss’. Looks like it has to be used with care.

                    Thanks for the explanation 🙂 It is interesting that plural words in German sometimes end with an ‘e’ too.

  7. I’ve heard of quite of few of these but not read any so looking forward to your reviews, see if I can some to my list when I head for the library. Which I did again today but only to pick up two books I had reserved, so don’t feel guilty lol.

    1. Then I hope I can convince you to read them 🙂 Haha, no sense in being guilty about the library, at least I´m trying not to be any more. The media is lamenting that no one reads anymore and here we are all on guilt trips about it 😀

  8. I’ve wanted to read The Spare Room and Cold Comfort Farm for awhile so I’ll be interested to read what you think of them. Going Bovine I’ve been a bit on the fence about reading.

    1. Cold Comfort Farm is so great, you´ve got to read it soon :)I´m hopinh Going Bovine won´t be esoteric, but I´ve seen some good reviews so I thought I´d give it a try.

Leave a Reply

