Library Loot: June 16-22, 2010

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

At first I was so proud because I had only checked out one book, but then today I decided to get some dvds and couldn´t resist taking another look at the fiction section. My loot this week is a nice change though, I only got one English book and the others are from Germany (I know, wow 😉 ), France, Italy and Spain. On the downside, it appears that two of these books haven´t been translated into English yet.

Here´s this week´s loot:

Bonjour Tristesse (Francoise Sagan)

I´m probably the last person to read this, but I´m very curious if it can live up to all the hype.

In a German Pension (Katherine Mansfield)

Haven´t read any Katherine Mansfield either, I hope this one is good to start with.

Salvador und der Club der unerhörten Wünsche/ Cosas que nunca occurrirían en Tokio (Alberto Torres Blandina)

The author received the Los Dos Orrilas award for this book in 2007 but it has only recently been translated into German. I can´t find any information on an English translation though. The story is about Salvador who works as a cleaner in an airport. He talks to a lot of the travellers and can tell what they are like and where they are going just by looking at them. He also lessens the anonymity and loneliness of the airport a bit by telling people stories.

Akademie Pessoa/ L´accademia Pessoa (Errico Buonanno)

This sounds like a great read for bookworms. It´s about the Pessoa academy, a secret society of people fighting against literature. But then suicides happen which seem to be linked to a manuscript. Couldn´t find an English edition for this one either, sorry.

Scherbenpark (Alina Bronsky)

This one´s been translated by Europa editions as Broken Glass Park. It´s about seventeen year old Sascha who was born in Russia but is now living in a ghetto in Germany. She is trying to juggle ghetto life, the elite highschool she is allowed to attend because she is gifted, wanting to kill her stepfather and discovering love. This book has been received very well here but I decided to wait for the hype to die down a bit, I don´t want to be disappointed just because my expectations were too high.

Have you read any of these books, what did you think? And what did you loot from the library this week?

17 thoughts on “Library Loot: June 16-22, 2010

  1. Interesting Library Loot! I have read that famous short story by Katherine Mansfield ‘The Garden Party’ and recently I read that she was a Bohemian 🙂 Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this book of hers. ‘Akademie Pessoa’ looks like an interesting book with its literature theme – reminds me for some reason of ‘Fahrenheit 451’. ‘Scherbenpark’ looks like an interesting book too – Sascha seems to be a kick-ass heroine from the looks of it 🙂

    1. Then I´m sure I´ll like mansfield´s book 🙂

      Hopefully they´ll translate these books into English at some point! So that more people can read them.

    1. Haha, really? Because there is also English and Spanish and Italian! ;D I know, it´s terrible of me to check out non-English books. But at least some have been translated.

    1. I hope it´s as good as it sounds. Perhaps they´ll translate it soon (or else you´ll have to learn Italian or German 😉 ).

  2. I’m not a short story reader, but I had Katherine Mansfield’s stories on my final year under graduate syllabus and loved them. You should try reading her letters and journals as well. They will give you an insight into her thinking that will help with the stories.

    1. I feel like I´m always the last person to read a book! 😉 But since everyone seems to love her works, I´m very excited for this collection.

      1. No, you are not always the last person to read a book; your blog is a good source of inspiration for my choice of reading!:) I have just started “The Affair of the 39 Cuuflinks” by James Anderson thanks to this blog and I can already tell that it is great.

  3. You are going to have to translate into FRANCAIS pour moir SVP once you’ve finished this loot. Very excited for your grab and if you get a chance come by tomorrow on Monday, I should have my little bag of goodies ready then

    Have a great weekend!

    PK Reeves
    Aisle B

    1. Haha, once I actually say something in French (but I`m learning it this semester, so you won´t have to wait forever ;)).

      So weird how lots of books are translated into German but not English! Obviously there´s still a reason for learning other languages 😉

  4. I’ve been looking for Bonjour Tristesse in my library for a while now. The computer says they have it, but I can only find the French version. And my French is really not that great. But I still want to read it! Have you read it yet? Is it any good?

    1. I read it last weekend and thought it was really great! 🙂 I can recommend it but I don´t know if it´ll be much fun for you if you have to fight with the French grammar 😉

      I was feeling quite ashamed that I had to read it in German, but I´m taking French again, perhaps in another year.

Leave a Reply

