Bookmooch

All this talk of tbr piles this week reminded me not of the many great unread books I have waiting on my shelves, but rather of the many books that are crowding my shelves that I´ve read and am not attached to, the ones I have multiple copies of, and the ones I got super cheap for the only reason that they were super cheap! And so I decided to join bookmooch and give them to people who appreciate them.

That was actually quite difficult for me to do because I get ridiculously attached to my books, even the ones I don´t really like all that much, or was forced to buy for uni. Either I´m a complete materialist or I´m just too broke most of the time to buy books, so that I cling to the ones I own. I prefer the second reason 😉

And after just one day, I´ve already a pile of books to send out. So here´s my anti-tbr pile, the tbso pile:

And in return I´ve only mooched two books so far, I´m feeling quite proud at the moment. Although I´ve already decided not to keep track of the money I´m spending on postage, why is it so expensive?? Just more reason to love The Book Depository!

Obviously I´m not going to mooch everything from now on, but it seems a great way to get rid of unwanted books  (like the pony club books and weird thrillers I´ve grown out of) and get some good ones to try out. Like the Agatha Raisin books, which are small and light, and I can´t get anywhere as cheap as that (because my library in its infinite wisdon has decided to only acquire number 3 and 4 in the series!).

Do you use bookmooch, what do you like about it? And is there anything I should know as a newbie?

23 thoughts on “Bookmooch

  1. That is an interesting, ‘TBSO’ pile, Bina 🙂 I am very much attached to my books too. I don’t remember giving any of them away – I remember lending some to friends which never came back. These days, if one of my friends likes a book from my collection, I buy another copy of that book and gift it to my friend, rather than lending my own book 🙂 Of course, this is impossible to do with expensive books or difficult-to-get books. So, it is a great thing that you have decided to give some of your books away, so that others can read them and appreciate them. Hats off to you!

    1. Oh that´s really awkward if you lend books but don´t get them back! But I love that you gift friends with great books 🙂 I hardly ever do that because most of my friends aren´t uite as enthusiastic about books as I am 😉

      I had to talk myself into giving away these books, but I ´d rather that people who want them get them then that they gather dust on my shelves.

  2. I ADORE Bookmooch. A lot of people seem to hate it, but I’ve never had a bad experience there. And I do of course appreciate the fact that unlike most swap sites, it allows users from all over the world 😛

    Are you familiar with the Angel Network? When a book you want is being offered by someone who only sends within their country, you can ask a third member to mooch it in your behalf and then forward it to you 😀 Details here: http://wiki.bookmooch.com/index.php?title=BookMooch_Angel_Network

    Another tip: subscribe to your own wishlist’s RSS feed, as that’s much more effective than waiting for notification e-mails!

    1. I was going to tell Bina about your tip on the Angel’s network! But now I don’t have to anymore. I like your suggestion of the RSS, must be faster than the emails.

      And Bina: I’m so glad you joined bookmooch. It is a great way to get rid of books you might not want to read anymore, and know you’ll make other people happy. I agree though, postage is very expensive.

      1. Good to hear that you like bookmooch, Iris. So far I´m enjoying it, too 🙂 Probably till I`m broke because of postage 😉

    2. Thanks for the tips, Ana! I´m sure they´ll come in handy 🙂 And it´s really great that it´s not just a site for people from the US!

  3. Book mooch what an interesting concept. Now tell me about Disgrace? I never heard of that title so I will look it up.

    Brave woman TBSO file will love you when you do a swap. Good Luck!

    1. Hehe, you should join bookmooch and then mooch from me 😀

      Disgrace is a novel by J.M. Coetzee, about a teacher and his daughter´s life on a farm, and the tension between them as white farmers and their black neighbours in Africa. Quite a lot of people enjoyed this book, but I really hated every character in the books so I thought I might as well give it away.

  4. I signed up a while ago, but I do find it frustrating at times. I added quite a few books that were mooched straight away and now I have far more points then I can possibly mooch. You have to put loads of books on your wishlist and then happen to be on your computer at the exact time someone lists a book you want as they seem to get taken straight away. I have had much more success with other swapping sites where you swap directly with another person – you are far more likely to get a better quality book. Good luck with your mooching, with patience it can go well!

    1. Really, what other sites are you using? Hope you´ll have more luck with bookmooch soon 🙂

      So far, it´s going well. I found a few books I couldn´t get in my libraries here. And when my books are mooched off, I like that I´m owed lots of books. Of course great books are taken straight away, but I´ll probably just browse through the selection when I´m in the mood rather than fight for wishlist books. I´m hoping to keep it stress free 🙂

  5. I hope to mooch some of those! I thought Disgrace was good. Handmaid’s Tales is one that I would get rid of. I think I want to read VS Naipul’s in your pile!

    I never thought of bookmooching because I have checked it out there isn’t many books out there that I wanted in bookmooch. If I ever want to get rid of my books, I’ll drop it off where I got them from with supercheap price, the charity shops across my home. After all one good turn deserves another. They have been really kind offering those books in such a cheap price that I wouldn’t mind giving up my pile to them in the future. 😉

    1. Haha, I really disliked Disgrace but loved The Handmaid´s Tale (I´m only giving it away because I have two copies)! 🙂

      That´s pretty handy since you live in an English speaking country and read in English! 🙂 If I drop mine off, they will probably gather dust on the shops shelves so I´m sending them to people who really want them 🙂 But I adore the charity shops in England!

  6. I love, love, love BookMooch! It is hard to find a lot of the random weird non-fiction that I like, but when I mooch from someone I tend to go check out the rest of their inventory and then end up mooching other random books that I hadn’t heard of. I’ve found some gems this way!

    I especially love sending my books on to new homes though, it is great to send them all over, and get them from all over.

      1. So far I found the selection okay 🙂 You never know what you´ll find and I can imagine that you find lots of great books, since you read so diversely!

        I´m going to treat my points like a box of chocolates, take one at a time and slowly savour them 🙂

        Oh, and my ID is TheMouseTrap. What´s yours?

    1. I have some books twice, and of course taste are so different 🙂 You should try bookmooch, maybe you´ll find great books there!

  7. I love your term “anti-tbr”! Hilarious! I, too, collect books, even ones I’m unattached to. What’s with that? I’ve not tried Bookmooch, although I’ve heard of it for years. Usually, I just ship mine off to GoodWill, then repurchase the same book later when I want to reread it. I’ll have to look into your suggestion; it might be cheaper!

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Bellezza! 🙂

      hehe, glad you like the term! It is weird how attached we can get to all books, isn´t it? It felt almost sacrilegious at first to give them away.

      Hope bookmooch will work out for you, the only expensive thing is postage.

    1. Haha, well, I wasn´t going to throw them away or anything. But they´ll be sent to where they´ll be better appreciated 🙂

  8. I like Bookmooch and have had success – the books are usually in very good condition. I can’t generally get the most popular titles there but they are great for backlists of authors once I discover them through their newest release.

    Love the RSS suggestion – must do that!

Leave a Reply

