June in Books

June was another great reading month for me, I even managed to read 13 books. I have no idea how this happened, I never read that many books in one month, unlike so many of you who seem to be amazingly fast readers. Here´s the complete list:

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner´s Dilemma (Trenton Lee Stewart)
Cold Comfort Farm (Stella Gibbons)
Nightwood (Djuna Barnes)
Maisie Dobbs (Jaqueline Winspear)
Talking about Detective Fiction (P.D. James)
The Making of a Marchioness (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
A Single Man (Christopher Isherwood)
Bozo David Hurensohn/ The Man Who Came In From The Back of Beyond (Biyi Bandele-Thomas)
Bonjour Tristesse (Francoise Sagan)
Meeresrand/ Bord de Mer/ Beside the Sea (Véronique Olmi)
Das Labyrinth der Wörter/ La Tête en Friche (Marie-Sabine Roger)
The Life and Crimes of Agatha Christie (Charles Osborne)
Excellent Women (Barbara Pym)

I did spend less time at the computer this month though, and barely posted any reviews at all of my June books. So for July I´m planning to catch up on my reviews! Other than that the only resolution I´m making for the new month is to get through my library loot.

Most of the books I read in June were quite amazing, I really can´t say which one is my absolute favorite. I liked the third Mysterious Benedict Society book, it was lots of fun and reading children´s literature always takes me back to those days when I was devouring Enid Blyton and Astrid Lindgren.

I also loved Cold Comfort Farm, and the way Flora tidies up the farm and her relatives´ lives. I read Nightwood for my Queer Lit class and enjoyed this introduction to Djuna Barnes. This book is very modernist, but beautifully written, I have seldom come across writing that is this exceptional.

Maisie Dobbs was alright, but I have to agree with Ana, that the way Maisie could tell what people were feeling and thinking from copying their body posture was more than a little weird. But I´ll write more about that in my review.

I also read two non-fiction works this month, both about crime writing of course 🙂 I wrote about Talking about Detective Fiction here. Osborne´s work about Agatha Christie´s mysteries was very interesting, although I suppose it´s only for fans of Dame A. But The Life and Crimes of Agatha Christie is a great way to find out some background information about each of her mysteries as well as her other works.

A Single Man is another book I read for my class, and one that I can highly recommend. The story is very moving and the writing amazing. I can´t wait to read more by Isherwood. Any thoughts on which one I should start with?

I also read my first book by a Nigerian author,  The Man Who Came In From The Back of Beyond by Biyi Bandele-Thomas, thanks to Amy´s mini-challenge. Go visit her blog for more recommendations of Nigerian literature!

Somehow June was filled with French literature for me, I only wish I knew enough to read it in the original, but I´m taking French classes again this year so hopefully that´ll change soon. I read Olmi´s Bord de Mer (Beside the Sea), and I have to say that I can only agree with everyone who raved about it, it´s fantastic! The I finally read Bonjour Tristesse, and again, I have to agree with the hype. Can´t wait to see the film now. And then I read La Tête en Friche, which hasn´t been translated into English yet (at least I couldn´t find anything). But there´s a new film adaptation, so hopefully that´ll change soon. The story is about Germain, who is a bit slow, who meets an old woman named Marguerite in the park. It is through her reading to him that he starts thinking about and changing his life. I think charming is the word that applies best to this book.

The I read The Making of a Marchioness, my first Persephone, without really knowing a lot about it. I was so surprised about the turn the second part of the story took, but I have to say that I enjoyed it very much. And finally, I read my first Barbara Pym book, Excellent Women, which was excellent! 😉

What was your reading month like? And what are your plans for July?

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “June in Books

  1. Looking forward to hearing what you think about Making of a Marchioness. After reading The Shuttle, it’s been on my radar!

  2. It looks like you had a wonderful reading month in June! Congratulations! I can’t wait to start reading ‘A Single Man’ and ‘Talking about Detective Fiction’! ‘La Tête en Friche’ seems to be a wonderful book going by your description of it. Hope it gets translated into English.

    1. It´s too bad so many books aren´t translated into English quickly or at all. I´m happy that I know German because we have a huge amount of translated lit. I suppose we need to learn lots of languages to be able to read all boks 🙂

      But I hope that at least the film will be dubbed or subtitled.

  3. Wowsa 13 books you put my 4 to shame *hangs head in shame*

    While as my reading month was not so productive it was very enjoyable so thats all that matters. This month I am also going to be working through my library loot, there are plenty of shorter novels in there too so hopefully a lot more reviews will be on their way and just may be I can reach an impressive read this month number haha.

    1. Hehe, I´m procrastinating, but I´m also bot reading chunksters or difficult books so that might explain the number. I usually read around 4 books, too. And I don´t think the number is that important 🙂

      Here´s to actually getting through the library loot pile! 😀

  4. Wow 13 books! Great reading month! I’d quite like to read A Single Man, but will have to wait until I’m in the right mood as I know it will be depressing.

    1. It is a bit depressing, but somehow it´s alright because the story moves slowly and it´s very atmospheric. But I know what you mean with right mood, and that´ll make you enjoy it more 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s