Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists. Mailbox Monday is hosted by The Printed Page.

I can´t resist doing a  Mailbox Monday post today because for once I actually got some books! And those are ones for the shelves and not library books, yay! 🙂 I just missed buying books, although this really shows how few books I bought this year. Not having any money to splurge is really the most effective way to keep you from buying books 😉

Miss Garnet´s Angel (Salley Vickers)

Middle-aged Julia Garnet decides to go to Venice for six month and is transformed because of it.

My first mooch! 🙂 I´ve never read anything by Salley Vickers, but I´m very excited for this one as Novel Insights gave it a glowing review.

Claudine in Paris (Colette)

In this Claudine book, Claudine goes to Paris (obviously 😉 ), gets to know her aunt and explores the city with a new confidante and a love interest.

Another mooch, I´m loving bookmooch so far. I only noticed Colette´s works recently (in Dominique´s sidebar), because of these awesome covers. How is it that I can read and read and read about books and reading, but somehow never notice Colette´s work?? Eva has nothing but praise for Claudine in Paris, so I´m very excited about it. I only wish I could read at a decent speed in French, but hopefully this time next year it´ll work (if I pass the test on Wednesday and can move up a level for next semester, I should probably be studying instead of blogging 😉 ).

The PowerBook (Jeanette Winterson)

Ali writes stories on email and promises people freedom just for one night.

This is for my Queer Lit class, I´m really hoping I´ll like Winterson´s style, I´ve never read anything by her before. I´m very curious about her thoughts on gender. The cover is kind of creepy though!

Any thoughts on these books? And what arrived in your mailbox recently?

21 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. Yay! My desire to read Claudine at School came from Eva’s review of Claudine in Paris. 🙂
    I see you’re enjoying bookmooch, I’ve never gotten around to trying it but it sounds like fun.

    1. It´s all Eva´s fault that our tbr lists are longer than War & Peace! 😀

      So far bookmooch is working out for me, though postage is astronomical.

  2. I’ve got to see what the bookmooch might have in store for me. Hmmm I can’t part with books so if I do it’s only the doubles I have. 😉
    I love the cover for Claudine in Paris. J’aimerais des bagettes SVP. Voila vous n’avez aucune… Quelle Folie! 😉

    Ya mein french iste gute ya 🙂

    1. Obviously you know all the languages, envy! Your French ist trés bien 😀

      I got rid of some doubles, too. The cover is amazing, isn´t it? I want the complete Colette now in that series.

  3. I love the Claudine novels! I’ve read them in both French and English but, honestly, I enjoyed them equally in both languages so I reread in English since it’s my native language and I read much faster in it.

  4. I love your excitement about being able to do an “In my Mailbox” post! I really want to read the first two books you mentioned. And I’m glad you’re loving bookmooch this much 🙂

    1. Haha, just goes to show that I need to acquire books more often 😉

      Bookmooch is really great so far, escept for postage. . . 😀

  5. That looks like a wonderful collection in your mailbox! I haven’t read any book by Colette, but I have ‘Cheri’ on my ‘TBR’ list. Will look forward to hearing your thoughts on ‘Claudine in Paris’. I have seen Jeanette Winterson’s books in the bookstore and when I read their blurbs, I liked all of them 🙂 I found each of her plots different and innovative and difficult to resist, from a reader perspective. So I thought I will leave them for a while and do a focussed Winterson reading month sometime. I got just a nonfiction book by her called ‘Art Objects’ which I have partly read and liked. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on ‘The Powerbook’.

    1. Ooh, I´m curious how you´ll like Chéri! 🙂

      You really need to do an essay recommendation post, you´ve read so many collections, and I always want to read them rightaway!

      I´m divided on the Winterson book, but I´m pretty sure her style was to emphasize a point she was trying to make and I need to read more by her to find out (she writes in clichés which is horrible and gets on my nerves, but I adored the form of the story). I´d love to read her essays, need to check my uni library!

      1. Hope you enjoy reading the Winterson book. Interesting to know that she writes in cliches 🙂 I will keep an eye for them when I continue reading her essay collection.

        Thanks for the suggestion 🙂 I will try posting on my favourite essay collections soon.

        1. Yes! Can´t wait to see what essays you come up with for that post! 🙂

          I´m having mixed feelings about the Winterson book, the style is really horrible but the concept so interesting. I´m pretty sure her other books are better, though!

Leave a Reply

