Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists. Mailbox Monday is hosted by The Printed Page.

I´m really getting into bookmooch, you never know what books will turn up there! Here´s what arrived in my mailbox this week:

We Need to Talk About Kevin (Lionel Shriver)

I´m probably the last person to read this and it´s been on my list for a long time, but I was afraid I was expecting too much and so kept putting off reading it. But now I´ve got a wonderfully used (but not cracked) copy via bookmooch. I just love that someone read all through the book before me and now I don´t have to wrestle the pages for the book to stay open.

Nella Last’s War (ed. Richard Broad, Suzie Fleming)

This is an English housewife’s diary about life during WWII. It’ll be so interesting to read about how WWII influenced women from the perspective of a real woman. And I have to admit that I´m also a bit relieved that this was written for the Mass Observation Archive and Nella Last knew that it would be read by others. I know diaries are amazing sources of information, but I always feel that I´m invading someone´s privacy.

Commonwealth (Joey Goebel)

I read Goebel´s The Anomalies (which is about a rockband of outsiders) a couple of years ago and never quite recovered from the awesomeness of it. Commonwealth is a novel about politics, and I´m curious what he makes of it.

Any thoughts on these books? And what arrived in your mailbox recently?

19 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. Nella’s Last War sounds interesting especially since it’s her diary for all to view and digest. It can be very intriguing but like you I just wonder if I should be seeing this… afterall they were her private thoughts in a diary. I imagine since she published it must be alright then.
    Commonwealth has a great cover perhaps indicative of the comedy that be politics. Haven’t heard of We Need to Talk to Kevin so will wait for your review for your thoughts.

    Yeah for bookmooch! Will have to look into it one day.. but you know how I am about books… I just can’t think of trading them unless ABSOLUTELY necessary!

    Have a great reading week! PS Go see Inception… my son raved about it for hours. He and hubby went together while I took the wee one to see Despicable Me. Yes mom mode is on 🙂

    1. She definitely wrote it with the knowledge of it being archived and published in mind, which makes me feel less guilty reading it 🙂

      Goebel is quite, well radically funny at times. I love his sense of dark humour.

      -Kevin is supposed to be very dark but good, very curious about it. Hopefully I can convince you to try it 🙂

      I know, I don´t really want to get rid of my books, but sometimes I have to get them for uni, but son´t like them, or I get weird birthday books (because being a bookworm seems to say that I read anyting LOL). And these are perfect for giving away on bookmooch.

      Then you need to see Inception as well! 🙂 I´ll definitely go see it!

  2. We Need to Talk About Kevin is one of the most gripping and nerve-racking books I have read. It haunted me for the next 3 to 4 days and it’s extremely rare I get that affected by a book. Am glad you are finally reading it, can’t wait for your review! Nella’s last war sounds good too…

  3. “We Need to Talk About Kevin” haunt me endless. That last scene stuck to my mind and I can’t get it out of my head. It is very disturbing. I’ll be interested to hear what you think about it. 😉

  4. Interesting collection in your mailbox, Bina! ‘Nella Last’s War’ sounds like a really interesting book! Will look forward to reading your review of it. I always thought that Lionel Shriver was a male author and only recently discovered that she is a lady 🙂 Joey Goebel’s books look wonderful, from your description. Hope you have a great time reading!

    1. I know, it´s so difficult to guess with some names 🙂 You really need to try Goebel, The Anomalies is great, and short 🙂

Leave a Reply

