Update

via

Surprise, I’m still alive (somewhat)! I’m sorry I just disappeared without a word and haven’t been reading and commenting on your posts. But between going home for the semester break and writing  term papers, I haven’t been able to concentrate on much else. And I haven’t been reading much fiction either 😦

I had to take a break from reading The End of Mr. Y, I just can’t take the frequent references to Derrida et al when I’m writing papers (or in general 😉 ). So now I’m in the middle of After the Armistice Ball by Catriona McPherson, a cosy crime which is set in Scotland after WWI, and which my mom got me. I finished Mr. Rosenblum’s List last week and I enjoyed it, but I have no idea why two blurbs said it was hilarious and funny, because this is one of the saddest books I’ve ever read. Did I miss something?

Not much else going on with me, I’m reading and writing all day and then somehow seem to spend most of my evenings at the movies. Somehow, the more people tell me how great Inception is, the less I find I like it, which is weird because I had a nice enough evening watching it (not that it was awe-inspiring or anything).

I’ll definitely be back to blogging and lots of fun reading in September but if I don’t get around to visiting your blogs until then, please don’t take it personally!

Hope you’re all having a great week! 🙂

23 thoughts on “Update

  1. We won’t take it personally! I’m familiar with the stress and I hope you’re managing okay! If not please let me know so I could try something to cheer you up 😉 Not sure what that would be though..

    Oh, I wouldn’t be able to deal with Derrida references while writing term papers either! I really wish to read Mr Rosenblum’s List but I somehow never expected it to be funny.

    1. Haha, thanks for the offer! 😀 Hope you’re managing with your own workload!

      Yeah,poor Derrida, always ignored by tressed-out students 😉 I blame the blurbs, but the book is good without being funny, anyway 🙂

  2. I promise we won’t take it personally! I was actually wondering about you recently, and I’m glad to hear you’re okay, just busy. Looking forward to your thoughts on After the Armistice Ball, which I really want to read. Good luck with all your papers!

    1. I kind of just disappeared I guess, but I hate that I’m missing everyone’s great posts!

      I think you’ll After the Armistice Ball 🙂 The period bits and especially the interaction of Dandy and her husband is very interesting.

  3. Ha ha I felt the same way when I read The End of Mr. Y. I takes some Derrida-love or at least Derrida-tolerance to get through it 🙂 Good luck with the term papers.

    1. Thanks, Willa! Haha, I know Derida’s work is actually quite fascinating, but I’m never sure if I understand his theories correctly 😀 And it certainly messes with the mind! 🙂

  4. Heh, I love the picture that you included! I don’t take it personally, and I don’t think any (or at least many!) of us would – we know what it is like! I hope you get some relaxing time in there as well to cut down on the stress a bit.

  5. Glad to have you back and glad to know that you are okay, Bina. Hope your term papers are going well. Watching movies in the evenings must be wonderful 🙂 I haven’t watched ‘Inception’ yet, but my friends raved about it and so I am hoping to watch it soon. I loved the picture of the zebra that you have posted 🙂

    1. Thank you, Vishy! 🙂 I’ve only one paper left so will soon be posting regularly again.

      Have you seen Inception now? IT’s certainly a fun enough summer movie 🙂

      1. I haven’t seen ‘Inception’ yet. Hoping to watch the movie soon. Glad to know that you enjoyed it. My blog-reading and blog-posting have been quite terrible too, this month. Have been distracted by life quite a bit for the past few weeks. Hoping to catch up on that too.

  6. Hehe I so agree with you about Inception. Though I haven’t watched it myself, the storyline didn’t seem too enticing, at least to me. My friends have been raving about it, but the more they do the less I want to watch it! Seems like you have been immersing yourself totally into words and more words 🙂 Waiting for your next review! 🙂

    1. Hehe, you’re probably the only one who agrees with me 😉 But Inception isn’t bad, it’s just not much more than a summer movie.

  7. Ah, good luck with all those term papers. I always hated how they all piled up at the same time and weren’t spaced out. I do miss the adrenalin though (or I might be slightly crazed!). Haven’t watched inception but it sounds like a bit of a cop out (and it was all a dream…). Have a great summer break! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Mae! Hope you’re having a great summer, too! 🙂 I agree, the piling up is the worst.Definitely experience the adrenaline thing on the day before the papers are due 🙂

      The ending of the movie felt disappointing to me, too. I expected more layers of reality etc.

  8. I had been wondering where you were! But not to worry I’ve been neglecting my blog as well as I went off on holiday felt a bit guilty but I so enjoyed a break in the sun. Hope all your writing goes well, and a cosy crime book sounds just right, I’m just finishing off the not so cosy The Girl Who Played with Fire. Roll round September!

    1. Aww, a holiday, that sounds fantastic, hope you had a blast! 🙂 Will have to pop by your blog soon to see what else you’ve been up to. My google reader terrified me with the number of posts, so I’m happy if you haven’t posted like mad the last month, much easier to catch up 😉

Leave a Reply

