Mailbox Monday

“Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.” Mailbox Monday is hosted by Chick Loves Lit this month.

While I was buried in term papers and couldn’t read much for fun, it was nice to see a small pile of books forming in my room! I have no idea how to take all these books back with me in October though 🙂

Women, Autobiography, Theory- A Reader (Smith and Watson)

Starting with the nerdy book 🙂 I needed that for a paper, but I still love having had such agreat excuse to buy a book. If you’re interested in women life writing, definitely read this one!

The Moving Toyshop (Edmund Crispin)

This one’s from bookmooch. Obviously there’s got to be detective fiction in a book pile of mine somewhere. This one is set in the 30s and supposed to be charming. Has anyone read Crispin’s works?

After the Armistice Ball (Catriona McPherson)

On with the detective fiction. This one is the first book in a series, set in Scotland in the 20s and starring amateur sleuth Dandy Gilver. My mom got me this, and I enjoyed it a lot. Will post my review sometime this week.

Ein Glas voll Segen/ A Glass of Blessings (Barbara Pym)

Another mooch. I loved Pym’s Excellent Women and can’t wait to read more by her.

The Book of Lost Things (John Connolly)

And another mooch. I loved Connolly’s The Gates and have heard lots of good things about this one.

Attack (Yasmina Khadra)

I won this one at Amy‘s giveaway, together with Nemesis by Phillip Roth. Thank you, Amy!

Mr. Rosenblum’s List (Natasha Solomons)

A lovely book, you can find my review here. And make sure to enter my giveaway!

The Lifted Veil (George Eliot)

Mooched. Thought I’d try a smaller Eliot, and I don’t think one can go wrong with Virago classics.

Agatha Raisin and the Viscious Vet (M.C. Beaton)

Also mooched. I love the Agatha Raisin series for comfort reading. I’m reading this now, since it’s so grey and rainy outside, perfect weather to spend on the couch with a cosy crime.

Pygmy (Chuck Palahniuk)

I love a good satire, especially if it’s dark and sinister. I don’t either completely love or hate Palahniuk’s works, so it’s always a gamble, but I really want to like this one.

Have you read any of these books? And what books arrived in your home?

Make sure to pop by Aisle B and Mrs Q: Book Addict for their Mailbox Monday posts!

31 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. I am looking forward to your review of “After the Armistice Ball” by Catriona McPherson, it is good that you now have more time for fun reading on your hands.
    “Women, Autobiography, Theory” sounds really interesting, too.

  2. I have seen The Book of Lost Things around a lot recently : in Mailbox posts, at the bookstore, the library. It sounds good! Happy reading 🙂

  3. That’s funny; I added Crispin to my wishlist just the other day! He sounds like someone I’d really like. Also, can’t wait to hear what you make of After the Armistice Ball.

  4. Wow, great haul!
    I know what you mean about have lots of marking – I have a pile at the moment (due in less than a week!) so I’ve confined myself to a Shopaholic book this book (interesting, but easy to put down).
    Happy reading!

    1. I just finished writing my term papers, so I have no more reason to complain 🙂 Good luck with your marking, I don’t envy my professors for having to mark my papers 😀

      Easy books work best with stress, have fun with shopaholic 🙂

  5. Now that is a great stash! I have Pygmy and promise to read it soon. Just bought his Survivor since a colleague keeps telling me that it’s Palahniuk’s best. Interested in The Book of Lost Things and I noticed Agatha Raisin has crept into your little loot bag. Great seeing you back on AGAIN 🙂

  6. Lovely collection in your mailbox, Bina! ‘Women, Autobiography, Theory- A Reader’ looks like an interesting book, though a serious one. I would love to hear your thoughts on it 🙂 I can’t wait to read your review of ‘After the Armistice Ball’! Scotland in the 1920s sounds wonderful! Yasmina Khadra has got such a beautiful name! I haven’t heard of ‘The Lifted Veil’ by George Eliot before. So I thought I will search in Wikipedia and discovered that it is very different from other books by Eliot and is part of Victorian horror fiction! I think this is a wonderful discovery, Bina! Can’t wait to read your review of it! I am tempted to search for the book myself 🙂 I haven’t read any book by Chuck Palahniuk, but I have his ‘Fight Club’ and ‘Haunted’ on my bookshelf. I don’t know when I will take them down 🙂

    1. Haha, guess it has to be serious as it’s a uni book. But it’s very good, really. I’ve only read a couple of articles in it, but it’s one of the best academic works on women autobiography.

      Discovered The Lifted Veil on bookmooch and decided that I should really try some George Eliot soon. And then you can let me know how much it differs from Middlemarch 🙂

      I’ve read Fight Club and can definitely recommend it, hope Pygmy is as good. Haunted sounds good too!

      1. Glad to know that you are loving ‘Women, Autobiography, Reader – A Reader’! If an academic book is so good, it is really awesome!

        I will take down ‘Fight Club’ from my bookshelf soon. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

        Hope you enjoy reading ‘The Lifted Veil’. Can’t wait to read your review of it!

Leave a Reply

