August in Books

August was a surprisingly good reading month for me, although I had to take a break from blogging to write term papers. But I had to reread the two Persepolis books for uni, and read half of the books after finishing my uni workload. Not having anything to do but reading and having fun is so great, I can already tell I’m going to be awfully lazy in September! Since I didn’t blog a lot, I didn’t really post many reviews (or the other way around), only my reviews of Mr. Rosenblum’s List and Case Histories are up so far, but I’m working on it. I read nine books in August, here’s the list:

Mr.Rosenblum’s List (Natasha Solomons)

After the Armistice Ball (Catriona McPherson)

Persepolis 1 (Marjane Satrapi) -reread

Persepolis 2 (Marjane Satrapi) -reread

Where Angels Fear to Tread (E.M. Forster)

Case Histories (Kate Atkinson)

The End of Mr. Y (Scarlett Thomas)

A Mysterious Affair of Style (Gilbert Adair)

Schachnovelle/Chess/The Royal Game (Stefan Zweig)

Persepolis (which I absolutely love) aside, my favorite reads of August were Case Histories, Chess and After the Armistice Ball. Chess is a novella I’ve been wanting to read for some time, and I’m glad I finally did. And it’s always some kind of personal triumph if I manage to squeeze in a German book 🙂 I don’t think I’ll ever get away from crime fiction though, not that I want to, but 3 out of 9 is alright I guess. I’m still hoping that I’ll read more diversely at some point!

For September I’m hoping to get through most of my slightly crazy library loot, read some books for challenges, and write up a couple of reviews before I forget what the books were about. Some books I want to finally try:

The Perfect Crime (Jean Baudrillard)

Musicophilia (Oliver Sacks)

This is Your Brain on Music (Daniel Levitin)

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox (Maggie O’Farrell)

Mao II (Don DeLillo)

Little Face (Sophie Hannah)

Culture and Imperialism (Edward Said)

Ambitious, I know. But I’ll be happy if I manage to read half of those.

What was your reading month like? And what are your plans for September?

11 thoughts on “August in Books

  1. Not a bad reading month for me either, read 5 books, uncluding the hefty The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played with Fire. So I’m rather impressed with myself. I haven’t really got any plans for September except making sure I get through my new library books on time for once!

    1. 5 books is great, Jessica! 🙂 I still haven’t read this trilogy but I’m always years behind everyone else (didn’t read Harry Potter till book 5 was out 🙂 ). Good luck with finishing your library books on time, I always have to renew them.

    1. I’ve heard so many great things about The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, can ‘t wait to see what it’s like. Hope you’ll enjoy it! 🙂

  2. Love EM Forster’s A Room With a View. I read the book and watched the movie countless of times…. ah … a romance ;)The August book collage is amazing and I just might have to create a widget with my faves read… Hmmm maybe not since I am COMPUTER ILLERATE ;P I just write and plug it into Tumblr hoping for the best.

    Looking forward to Sept reviews and what a great line up 🙂

    1. Embarrassingly enough, that was my first Forster, alhough I did watch Howard’s End once 🙂 I’ll put Room with a View on the list then!

      Hehe, my collage is super easy. I don’t have any fancy design software, I simply use paint. Just save some images of book covers and then paste them in paint, easy as that 🙂

  3. I love that you’re planing to read This is Your Brain on Music and Musicophilia! Both are on my wishlist. As for my own plans, what with moving abroad in a week I’ll be happy if I finish one book 😛

    1. All the best with your move, Ana! That’s going to keep you busy.

      Thought I’d finally read some semi-science books, and since music really is a human obsession . . . 🙂

  4. Congratulations on having a wonderful reading month in August, Bina! Reading ‘Persepolis’ is always wonderful! I can’t wait to read your review of ‘The End of Mr.Y’! ‘Chess’ sounds like an interesting book! I am looking forward to reading your review of that too. ‘Mao II’ by Don DeLilo sounds quite interesting. Looking forward to finding out more about the book from your review. I have read bits and pieces of Edward Said’s book ‘Orientalism’ and so I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on his book ‘Culture and Imperialism’.

    1. I’m really bad with writing reviews these days, but I hope to post some more this week 🙂

      It’s great that you’ve read some of Orientalism. Sadly that one was checked out. I have no idea how much I’ll get read of that tome, but hopefully a couple of important chapters.

  5. Thanks for the list — it reminded me I’ve been dying to read Persepolis.

    Right now I’m reading Anne Lamott’s “Imperfect Birds,” which is spectacular. I’ve followed the characters through two novels now, and I hope this one won’t be the last.

Leave a Reply

