Mailbox Monday

“Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.” This month it is hosted by Bermuda Onion.

My mailbox pile is rather modest this week, probably a good thing because I have no idea how I’m going to transport all the books I got recently back home. Might have to leave my clothes behind 😉

Netherland (Joseph O’Neill)

Found this one second-hand and couldn’t resist.For those who don’t know, Netherland is about a Dutch-born man living in post 9/11 New York.

Wie ein Stein im Geröll/ Stone in a Landslide (Maria Barbal)

Mooched. Heard lots of good things about this one so I’m curious to read it myself. And I haven’t read any literature from Spain recently, any other recommendations in that area?

On a side note, I’m going to announce the winner of the Mr. Rosenblum’s List giveaway tomorrow. So make sure to stop by if you entered!

23 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. I haven’t heard of the Netherland before, but I think I would be interested in an outsider’s perspective in the whole post 9/11 NYC thing.

    Happy reading!

  2. two great books ,read them bot stones in a landslide is a wonderful book a true modern day classic ,netherland is ok but I wasn’t huge fan but was wanting more cricket in a way ,all the best stu

  3. Interesting Mailbox collection, Bina 🙂 I read ‘Netherland’ sometime back and it is wonderful and one of my favourite books – Joseph O’Neill’s prose is really wonderful and I loved his descriptions of cricket in the book. Hope you enjoy reading it. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it.

    1. Thanks form the suggestion, Iris! I’m sure my tbr list is going to explode 😉

      I’m sure Stone in a Landslide is a great book, if you can recommend it!

      I read on wikipedia that Netherland couldn’t really be translated as Nederland in Dutch and that they chose Laagland or something similar instead. Wonder if O’Neill thought about that 🙂 The main character is apparently Dutchborn but has been educated in Britain, so I guess it’ll be very diluted info about the Netherlands, but I’m curious, too.

Leave a Reply

