Library Loot: September 15-21

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Marg and Claire that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I did consider not going to the library yesterday, but I really wanted to get some travel guides and now I’m glad that I did because Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand was finally not checked out! And because I have the house to myself this afternoon, I’m going try to make symmetrical petit fours (though I guess I should make that a lifelong challenge) and read Major Pettigrew. I might also start purring with delight! 🙂


Here’s this week’s loot:


Die Mittagsfrau/ The Blind Side of the Heart (Julia Franck)

You might wonder from reading German literature whether time stopped after the fall of the Berlin wall because German writers seem to write about only two topics, WWII and the fall of the wall. This one spans the time from WWI to WWII, but is mostly about one woman’s life and psyche. I hope it’s as good as it’s made out to be, you never know with hype.

Als der Zirkus kam (Wlodzimierz Odojewski)

I have no idea whether this has been translated into English, it certainly should be as Odojewski is one of the most important modern Polish writers. In this novel, he tells the story of adolescent Marek against the backdrop of the war.

Major Pettigrew’ s Last Stand (Helen Simonson)

I think everyone but me has read this one, I can’t wait to curl up with this one.


Kopenhagen/ Copenhagen

And finally two travel guides, the reason why I went to the library in the first place. I’m going to spend a weekend there next month and have never been to Denmark before, so I want to be prepared. Any suggestions what I have to see?

What did you loot from the library this week?

22 thoughts on “Library Loot: September 15-21

  1. My mother phoned me up last night and, rather than opening with ‘hello’ (she’s never been one for conventional conversations), said “we need to go to Denmark this fall.” I think she’d stumbled across some travel TV show and was reminded of how much she’d loved Copenhagen when she was there the first time and how little she’d actually gotten to see of the city since she was there for work. My cousin Marek is just finishing up his PhD programme there so she wants to visit while he’s still there to show us around. If only I had the vacation time! I’m insanely jealous that it’s a place you can go for a long weekend – I love Canada but hate that it’s so far from everywhere I want to go!

    I adored Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand. It’s has its flaws but it’s still a very lovely and cozy read.

    1. Oh, I hope you can get a couple of days off to go visit Copenhagen! I live in the north of Germany so it’s really around the corner for me. But then, I’m so jealous that you live in Canada and can also drive down to the US. I’ve never been there!

      Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand is really wonderfully cosy. It’s not perfect, you’re right, but still a wonderful read 🙂

  2. Wonderful Library Loot, Bina 🙂 ‘The Blind Side of the Heart’ reminds me of the graphic novel series ‘Berlin’ (‘City of Stones’, ‘City of Smoke’) by Jason Lutes. It is also set between the wars (between 1928 and 1933) and one of the main characters is a young lady who is an art student and the books in the series look at Berlin and the momentous changes happening in the city during this period through some of these characters’ eyes.

    Hope you have a wonderful holiday in Copenhagen 🙂

    1. Thanks, Vishy! You keep mentioning the Berlin series and I keep looking for it, but my libraries seem to be still working on the comics section. I did not so subtly suggest they get a move on and acquire the series! 🙂

  3. Enjoy Copenhagen and “Die Mittagsfrau” also. I’ve never been to Denmark but I can say that Julia Franck’s novel is excellent.

    1. Thank you! Glad to hear you loved Die Mittagsfrau, then I’ll set out to read it with more confidence. I never know whether to trust the official (book awards etc) suggestions.

  4. A great selection always find it strange how titles can vary so much from the original ,I ve no library loot this week awaitng a couple on order from library ,all the best stu

    1. They do really change titles a lot with translations. Germany usually keeps the title but makes up a ridiculous subtitle. Hope you get your library books soon 🙂

  5. OOOOO Copenhagen sounds nice! I know nothing of it but the first book with the cover of the “Balle en Blanc” seems fetching… I see lots of dancing and hedonistic delights… Just come back in 1 piece OK!

  6. I have Major Pettigrew’ s Last Stand high up on my TBR list.

    As for this remark: “You might wonder from reading German literature whether time stopped after the fall of the Berlin wall because German writers seem to write about only two topics, WWII and the fall of the wall.” I sometimes feel the same about Dutch literature, almost all of it is about WWII. I’m glasd to hear you found something about the years between WW1 and 2, I hope it proofs to be a worthwhile read!

    Also, I will recommence commenting on your other posts soon, my reader has been overflowing and I hope you don’t mind that I only dropped in once a week for a while..

    1. It’s really strange that both Dutch and German writers don’t find today’s concerns inspiring enough to write about. Of course WWII was horrifying and is important, but it shouldn’t be the only topic. So, any recommendation for one Dutch book I simply have to read? 🙂

      Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand is a wonderful cosy read, hope you enjoy it!

      Oh don’t worry about always commenting. I know you’re super busy and there are so many great blogs to be commented on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

