Mailbox Monday

“Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.” This month it is hosted by Bermuda Onion.

Here’s what arrived in my house last week:

GigiJulie de GarneilhanChance Acquaintances (Colette)

I found this in a wonderful second-hand bookstore when I was visiting a friend. I wish I lived in that city, there were two walls lined with used English paperbacks! Back to the book, I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Colette, and of course Gigi is her most famous work that I couldn’t leave without this book. The other two works in this collection sound very interesting as well. Should I just start with Gigi or with one of her other works?

Holy Disorders (Edmund Crispin)

This is from the same store. I’m nearly always craving cosy crime stories, and Crispin’s mysteries featuring an Oxford professor look amazing. And I love the covers of these editions! I’ve got his The Moving Toyshop but found myself avoiding it because I just know I’m going to love it. That’s probably a weird reason not to read a book, but when I saw this one I had to get it because now I can save one mystery but devour the other.

The Heat of the Day (Elizabeth Bowen)

Elizabeth Bowen is yet another writer who is hugely acclaimed but who I hadn’t heard of before blogging. I hope this is a good one to start with, it was a lucky find on bookmooch. The Heat of the Day is about WWII London and those who haven’t left the city.

Awakenings/ Zeit des Erwachens (Oliver Sacks)

Another mooch. I love what I’ve read by Sacks so far and I’m hopeful that at some point I’ll manage to find a cheap copy of Migraine somewhere. Until then I’ll just go through his other works.

What books came into your house last week?

38 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. Heh, avoiding it because you know you will love it? That seems backwards yep, but it also makes sense in an odd kind of way! I hope you can now enjoy actually reading one of them 🙂

  2. I totally do the same thing re: avoiding books I know I will love. It’s like I want to save these books until I am in dire need of a book that will not fail me and I don’t want to ruin the pleasure by reading them too soon. It’s crazy that we deny ourselves, and yet I totally understand the motivation!

  3. Nothing technically came through the mail for me but I did get lent two books from friends. First The Ice Cream Girls by Dorothy Koomson and The Demon Assassin by Alan Gibbons.

    I haven’t read any of the books on your pile but Crispin looks good, and haha about you keeping one back until you had another one to look forward too 🙂

    1. Those sound exciting, hope you’ll enjoy them! 🙂 Hope to dare try a Crispin soon, probably when I get back to my place and get homesick 😉

  4. Very good set of books and GIGI??? Hmmm the only GIGI I remember had to do with a movie and it was a musical with Leslie Caron… Loved that movie….

    Happy reading Bina B 🙂

    1. You read pretty diversely yourself, much more than I do. I’m putting all your world lit recs on a list and will get around to them eventually though 🙂

  5. Those are some great books there! As for Colette, the most famous book of hers that I have heard of is Cheri. That is on my TBR list, and I haven’t yet got the book so not been able to read it yet. I have seen a lot of recommendations for that book… 🙂

  6. Wonderful collection in your mailbox, Bina! I love the cover of Colette’s ‘Gigi’. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on this book. Edmund Crispin looks like an interesting author. An Oxford professor solving mysteries – that is really awesome! Have you read ‘The Oxford Murders’ by Guillermo Martinez? It is on a similar theme – an Oxford professor solving a murder mystery – and the clues are all mathematical.

    1. The Crispin does sound awesome, be prepared for some more fierce recommendation from me 😉 Haven’t read the Martinez yet, but it sounds really good so I’ll try to look for a copy. And hey, maybe I’ll get better at maths when I read all your recs 🙂

      1. Ha, ha, ha! You have already read Scarlett Thomas books and know a lot about complex cryptography 🙂

        I will look forward to your reviews of Crispin’s books.

  7. Although my work is on the Internet, I’m still hoping that your phrase “wonderful second-hand bookstore” doesn’t disappear in a generation with the appearance of e-books.

    1. I sure hope not, I love digging through those dusty piles! 🙂 I think there’s place for both ebooks and books, we’ll just have to rearrange their use and meaning.

Leave a Reply

