Seasonal Reading: Fall/ Winter

Last week, one look out the window made me decide not to set foot outside all day if possible. No, it wasn’t pouring, but grey and foggy and slightly wet. The kind of weather which always makes me think of bodies being thrown into the Thames in Victorian London. So I stacked some pillows, got out the quilt, made a pot of tea and curled up with Julia Franck’s Die Mittagsfrau (The Blind Side of the Heart). Only the cosy reading mood didn’t set in, even though I had carefully prepared. So what was wrong? I was reading the wrong book! Now, Die Mittagsfrau is really interesting so far and I was enjoying it the day before, but it isn’t the type of book to curl up with on a cold, foggy day. So I put the book down and dug out one of my mother’s Maigret books and tried the whole curled-up -with-a-book thing again, and it was perfect!

That me think about seasonal reading, specifically fall/winter reading. I know it’s only just fall, but more often than not this means grey and wet days and long dark evenings. Seasonal reading is really only made up of two seasons for me, and with yesterday’s experience I think I’ll begin making a pile for my winter reading. The RIP challenge is in full swing, so I think I’m not too early with my books-to-curl-up-with post. As regular readers know, mystery is my go-to-genre and I don’t really need a special occasion to indulge, but winter is perfect for reading mysteries, and in my case cosy ones. These are some mysteries that go on my winter reading pile:

These are some cosy classics so you can expect me to go on a mystery binge soon. Apart from cosy mysteries, the colder season also calls for gothic reads and classics, and preferably classic gothic stories 🙂 And don’t these editions just make you want to grab a pile of them? Some titles I really want to curl up with:

I haven’t read any Gaskell yet, and Iris suggested starting with North and South. But this great penguin edition makes me want to read Lois the Witch instead. I guess I’m easily distracted 🙂 As for DuMaurier, apart from Rebecca and a couple of short stories I haven’t read anything by her but I’m guessing it’ll fit with my seasonal reading. Let me know of I’m better off with another of her novels though! I loved The Woman in White and We have Always Lived in the Castle so more by Collins and Jackson is obligatory . I’m also trying to work up the nerve to start Bleak House. It seems like a perfect way to spend long evenings but I don’t have the best record where Dickens is concerned.

This is just a list of what books I’m craving at the moment, now that I’ve put it together I might get sick of those and start reading something completely different. Sometimes making a list is more the end of a particular reading mood than the start of it in my case.

What about you? What books do you crave this season?

24 thoughts on “Seasonal Reading: Fall/ Winter

  1. You do know that there are beautiful editions of North and South as well? 😛 No, just kidding. I haven’t read Lois the Witch, as I have never read any of her ghost/ghotic stories. I’m interested to hear your thoughts 🙂 I think fall for me means reading the classics, at least it does for now. Somehow wind and rain and fog fits a lot better than summer weather does.

    1. Oh well if there’s a pretty edition of North and South . . ;D I’ll see which book I can find in the library, though Lois the Witch sounds like a shorter book 😉

      Classics do seem to make better reading in fall and winter. Have fun reading them and I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on them!

  2. I feel like I do more nonfiction reading in the summer. Fiction reading is more comfort reading for me, and so it’s better suited for the cold months, when I am snuggled in under my blankets with a cup of coffee. But sensation novels are good all year round. 😀

    1. Haha true, it’s always the perfect season for sensation novels 🙂 Fiction is much more cosy, but then I don’t read a lot of nonfiction except for uni.

  3. Lovely reading list for the fall and winter, Bina 🙂 I didn’t know that ‘Sleeping Murder’ is Miss Marple’s last case. I have read Poirot’s last case (and felt sad when I read it). So I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Miss Marple’s last case.

    I saw a few of Gladys Mitchell’s books in the bookstore when I went there last time and they looked interesting. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on ‘The Saltmarsh Murders’.

    I can’t believe that Elizabeth Gaskell wrote a book called ‘Lois the Witch’ 🙂 I love 19th century authors for experimenting with their writing and giving us readers different kinds of pleasures!

    ‘The Moonstone’ is one of my favourite books. Hope you enjoy reading it! These Wordsworth editions are really wonderful, aren’t they 🙂 Recently on one of my trips to the bookstore, I got a Wordsworth edition of Mary Shelley’s ‘The Last Man’ 🙂

    1. Thanks, Vishy! Hope there’s something for you on the list, too 🙂

      Oh Curtain was such a sad read, probably the only one I haven’t reread! Miss Marple’s last case is not quite as sad, at least with regard to Miss Marple. Guess Christie wasn’t as sick of her as she was of Poirot 😉

      Your bookstore has everything, I’m so jealous! I have to search the libraries and bookmooch for Mitchell books, or order online. But I really want to try her, more crime 🙂

      Heh, they really did like experimenting (like George Eliot). Or maybe one gothic novel/novella was obligatory then 😉

      I do love the Wordsworth editions (and many others). I’ve got mostly penguin classics though and have to restrain myself from getting different editions for all the classics 🙂 The Last Man sounds great, haven’t read that one yet. Hope you read it soon, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

      1. Glad to know that Miss Marple’s last case is better than Poirot’s 🙂

        The bookstore here is good in some ways – one thing I like about it is that if I spend sufficient time or when I go after a long time there are always some interesting surprises. But I am staying away from it now 🙂

        Bookmooch is a really wonderful thing!

        The Penguin Classics are really wonderful! I love the black themed cover and the introduction inside. Off late, I have also started liking Vintage editions because I love the red cover and the font. Wordsworth editions are evergreen favourites, and so are Bantam classics. As you said we have to restrain ourselves – all these editions are so tempting!

  4. Great list of books. I don’t really have seasonal reads so much as it just depends on my mood. The weather sometimes affects that, but not always.

  5. Can’t wait to hear what you think about Frenchman’s Creek, although my cousin Rachel, Jamaican Inn seems to be the next favourite after Rebecca; but her die-hard fans would say all of her novels are good read.

    I’m just craving to finish my library loot and stop going to the library this season! 😦

    1. Oh really? I have no idea which DuMaurier I should read next. I don’t think I’m a die-hard fan yet 🙂 But I’ve got all four of them in one huge tome.

      Haha, stop going to the library and read your own books, Jo! (hope that helps!;D )

  6. As the cold days and dark nights set in I’m always in the mood for a gothic tale of ghosts and ghouls mainly. But I also enjoy a long weekend in winter reading an epic classic. I have my eyes on Jane Eyre for just such an occasion as its a bit of both genres.

    1. Gothic tales are so perfect for winter, can’t wait to see which ones you choose! Jane Eyre is fantastic! Hope you read it soon! 🙂

      Btw, I managed to snag a copy of The Victorian Chaise-Longue on bookmooch!

  7. I definitely feel like autumn is the best time for classics and longer, more serious reads. Books set in England where the weather gets a bit dreary and spooky are fantastic… I think now might be the time for me to finally tackle some Wilkie Collins!

    1. Novels set in England, exactly! Can’t wait to see which ones you’ll read 🙂 Haven’t you read Wilkie Collins yet? I’ve only read The Woman in White myself, bu I think you’ve got something perfect for the season to look forward to 🙂

  8. I’m also looking to read some Gaskell (thanks to Iris on Book’s obsession :)). Anyway, yo have a wonderful pile here. Enjoy your reading and looking forward to the reviews.

  9. Oh, winter and rain…something that we didn’t get much of here! Heading towards summer for me, I tend to associate summer with Christmas new releases by my favourite authors and Aussie authors (eg. Bryce Courtenay- definitely a lazy summer day read).

Leave a Reply

