The Read-A-Myth Reading Challenge

Jo at Bibliojunkie and I are hosting The Read A Myth Reading Challenge 2011 (January 1 till December 31) and I’m very excited about it. Myths are how story-telling started and with this challenge we want to re-discover the classic myths and folklore tales and explore how they are represented and re-invented in contemporary literature. We hope that you’ll join us in reading the myths! Once you start looking at books to check if they could fit this challenge, you’ll see that there are so many that cover myths or rework them (remember Shaw’s Pygmalion?), and that this might also be the chance to explore myths from other countries and cultures. To give you an idea, take a look at the Canongate myth series, which would fit this challenge perfectly

 

You’re also welcome to cross-post with other challenges, rereads are welcome, and you do not need to have a list ready to sign up. These are the challenge levels (you’re welcome to level up anytime):

Level 1 Athena: That’s a Myth!
Read any two (2) books about myths.

Level 2 Erlang Chen: Demystify the Myth!
Read any four (4) books about myths.

Level 3 Mimir: World Myth!
Read any 6 books from the myth series must covers 2 different countries, including any one from the following list:

  • non-fiction book on the study of mythology (figure), or
  • Karen Armstrong’s A short history of myth, or
  • The original text of myth (many to choose from the Greek Mythology)

Level 4 Ogma: The God of all Myths!
Mix and match of any 8 books from the myth series or any mythology books, with the following conditions:

  • Must cover more than 3 countries.
  • Must contain at least 1 non-fiction book on mythology study.

I hope this sounds interesting enough that you’ll give our challenge a try. You won’t be hit by lightning if you don’t complete your level, though there are bookish prizes for those who make it 🙂 I love reading about the myths, especially how creatively some authors re-tell them, but somehow never got around to it (because there are so many other interesting books). But hosting this challenge seemed like the push I needed, and maybe that’s how others feel as well!?

For more info about the challenge, buttons and to sign up, please visit the Read-A-Myth blog! I know we’ll have lots of fun with this challenge, and please spread the word! 🙂

23 thoughts on “The Read-A-Myth Reading Challenge

  1. I love y’all’s button! And the whole idea for this challenge, of course. I am in love with mythology. I’ll have to see if I can get it together to participate in this!

  2. Hey Hey hey Partner! You beat me to this! I’ll go over my blog now and post about it! 😀

    I’m encouraged by such great response!

  3. Ooohhhh trying to avoid challenges, but what a wonderful one! I LOVED Baba Yaga Laid an Egg, btw, and would love to read more of the Canongate Myth series… hmm…. Intriguing 🙂

    1. Glad you loved Baba Yaga laid an egg, I really want to read that one. Hope you decide to participate, lots of great reading, and you’re such a super quick reader anyway 🙂

  4. This is a wonderful challenge Bina! Thanks for hosting it alongwith Jo! I normally try to avoid challenges, because they put a lot of pressure on me. But I don’t think I can resist this one 🙂 I love that fact that you can up your level any time 🙂 I think I will join the ‘Athena’ level and take it from there. And that button is lovely! I have a few books on mythology on my ‘TBR’ list and for some reason or other I have postponed reading them. Some of them are Roberto Calasso’s ‘Ka’ (Indian mythology) and ‘The Marriage of Cadmus and Harmony’ (Greek Mythology), Joseph Campbell’s ‘The Hero with a Thousand Faces’ and a book called ‘Mythology’ which gives an overview of world mythology. I will try to read a comic version of ‘The Mahabharatha’ also 🙂

    Once again, thanks for hosting this wonderful challenge 🙂

  5. This is going to be an awesome Readathon! Sending you and your fellow readers a big cheerleading wave.
    I like the fact that it starts in 2011 and your followers can rise up to the challenge throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

