Library Loot: October 13 to 19

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I’m back at my place and so it’s back to my library which is had a good selection of English titles but I tried to restrain myself because I still want to stop by the uni library 🙂

Here’s what I looted:

Flowers for Mrs Harris (Paul Gallico)

This is the first in series of four books around the adventures of Mrs Harris, a London charlady. I’ve read this one and second book and they are sweet and delightful.

Birds of a Feather (Jaqueline Winspear)

I tried the first Maisie Dobbs book recently but found it a bit too sad and Maisie’s style of solving mysteries more than strange, but I thought I’d give it another try (yes I couldn’t resist the cover 🙂 ).

Trent’s Last Case (E.C. Bentley)

This is a pre-Golden Age mystery and influenced the later queens of crime. I put this on the tbr after reading Ana’s review, so it’s all her fault 😉

Life in a Cold Climate: Nancy Mitford- The Biography (Laura Thompson)

I loved Love in a Cold Climate and am still working through the huge tome of Nancy and Evelyn Waugh’s letters so I thought I’d throw her biography into the mix.

 

Hotel Iris (Yoko Ogawa)

I haven’t read much Japanese literature except for Banana Yoshimoto’s works and one Murakami, so after reading Jo’s review of this one I decided to broaden my horizon.

The White Tiger (Aravind Adiga)

This one is for the South Asian challenge which I completely forgot about and I signed up for seven books!

Jasmine (Bharati Mukherjee)

Also for that challenge.

Oryx and Crake (Margaret Atwood)

Re-looted, and hopefully I’ll get around to it this time. I love the combination of Atwood and dystopian fiction and I’m also reading this for the Canadian challenge. Obviously I suck at challenges because I completely forget about them!

 

The Extraordinary Adventures of Adéle Blanc-Sec: Vol.5, 8 (Jaques Tardi)

Comics isn’t my favorite medium but maybe I need some time to get used to it. Have you seen the film of this series? It’s huge fun and so I decided to try the comics. They follow the adventures of Adéle and are mostly set in Paris, pre-WWI.

Fun Home (Alison Bechdel)

I’ve heard so many people praise this one graphic lit class last semester that I want to know what it’s all about.

Forever Summer (Nigella Lawson)

I’m back at my place and this means back to cooking instead of enjoying my mom’s food (sigh!).

 

What did you loot from the library this week?

32 thoughts on “Library Loot: October 13 to 19

  1. I really enjoyed the first Maisie Dobbs novel, perhaps because I really appreciated the framing story of WWI and what Maisie went through there. Birds of a Feather is also good, less sad, but I do think the first book is my favourite. I read about 5 books into this series and then gave up because I just found them increasingly unsatisfying and a struggle to get through.

    1. I did like the backdrop of the 20s, but Maisie was oh-so-smart and imitating a person’s pose to find out what they are thinking and feeling was a bit too strange for me. But now that I know what I can expect I’m hoping to get along better with Maisie 🙂

  2. I can’t even begin to comment on all of your choices, such a great loot. Some random sentences that went through my head while reading this:
    Is that the same Mrs Harris of the Bloomsbury Group books?
    I would not be able to resist that cover either.
    I’d love to give comics a try, since I’ve never really been into them.
    I want to read Hotel Iris because it features my name, I know, that is a stupid reason.
    I also have the White Tiger on my wishlist.
    And I do so wish that Nigella Lawson would write a vegetarian cookbook. I’d run out and buy it.

    1. It is the same Mrs Harris, even if I didn’t get to read the pretty Bloomsbury edition 🙂
      Hope you’ll try comics. I’ve never really been interested in them but had a class on them last semester and can appreciate them better now. I think starting with a graphic memoir is the best way to get into them.
      Hehe, it’s probably as good a reason as reading a book because of the cover 😉
      Maybe she’ll write one soon, vegetarian recipes are really popular with (not just with vegetarians). I don’t often cook with meat so I mostly use the vegetarian recipes in her normal cookbooks 🙂

  3. Wonderful Library Loot, Bina 🙂 Bentley’s ‘Trent’s Last Case’ sounds quite interesting! I don’t think I have read a pre-golden age mystery and so I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on this. I loved Yoko Ogawa’s ‘Hotel Iris’ – her prose is so beautiful, and I will read her books anyday whatever she writes about 🙂 Cant’ wait to hear your thoughts on this book of hers 🙂

    Aravind Adiga’s ‘White Tiger’ has its fans and detractors, and I want to read it sometime to find out where I stand. Hope you enjoy reading it. Bharati Mukherjee’s ‘Jasmine’ has a beautiful cover! Makes me want to check out this book 🙂 Jacques Tardi’s pre-World War I comics sounds wonderful! I love comics! I have heard a lot of wonderful things about Alison Bechdel, and I hope to read one of her books sometime. ‘Forever Summer’ is such a beautiful title!

    Enjoy reading your Library Loot 🙂

    1. According to the blurb on the back, Trent’s Last case is what kicked things off for the Golden Age style mysteries. I think you’d enjoy it 🙂

      That’s high praise for Ogawa! I’m glad you enjoyed Hotel Iris, I’m very curious about her style.

      We’ll see how I’ll like White Tiger, I don’t have high expectations or anything but it sounds like it could be a great book.

      The Adèle comics are fun, you should ckeck out the film:
      http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi1181418521/

  4. Sadly I haven’t looted anything from the library in some time, hoping to pop down there tomorrow as my request copy of Agatha Raisin and the Potter Gardener has come in and we all know I won’t be able to resist brining back a few other treats 🙂

    1. Have fun looting, and I hope you’ll like the Agatha book (but they usually are 🙂 ). I can never leave the library with just one book either 🙂

  5. My library is a shocker (eg. three copies of the same book, half empty shelvesetc) so I don’t go there very often. Would love to read Hotel Iris though! I have Bright Young Things on order but as it took me six months to get Shades of Grey (and I was first on the list) I’m expecting some time next year!

    1. Whoa, that does sound sucky. Is it a small town library?
      I really like my library, they have a great selection and great English titles as well.

  6. Oh, I so hope you enjoy Trent’s Last Case! I recently read Dorothy Sayers’ very first mystery and was surprised to see how direct an influence Bentley clearly was.

    …it has just dawned on me tat I can actually join library loot now. Hooray 😀

    1. I’m really enjoying Trent’s Last Case, I’m already sad there aren’t more Trent books 🙂 I’ve only read two Sayers books but I can definitely see the resemblance (though Bentley’s mystery is better).

  7. What great loot!
    Every time I see someone loot Japanese literature from their libraries, I always get the urge to do so myself, and then never follow through. Grr! One of these days I will!

    I borrow a lot of cookbooks from my library, too. I bet the Nigella Lawson one you picked up is great!

    Enjoy!

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Christine 🙂 I also never remember to loot japanese fiction even though I’ve got quite a list of recs. But I finally remebered last week, so I’m sure you will, too 🙂

      The Nigella book is great, I wish I could keep it 😉

  8. “Forever Summer” looks like something I might need, too. The semester started last Monday and I already miss my Mum’s food.

    1. Same here 🙂 I can recommend the Nigella book, but I also like to use the recipes by her posted on the internet. You could try those as well. Though nothing’s better than mom’s food 🙂

  9. OMG! Finally, finally you are reading Ogawa and a challenging one to start off with too! Thanks for the mention, I hope you enjoy Hotel Iris and White Tiger, and post some pretty pictures on any recipes you try out with Nigella. 😀

    1. I know know, it took me ages 😀 But I’m excited to read Hotel Iris now. How challenging is it?? I won’t need to use SparkNotes I hope 😉

  10. I might have to check out the Mrs Harris books as I’m looking for something gentle and sweet. (Wasn’t there a movie made of one them? Angela Lansbury was in it — Mrs Harris Goes to Paris? )

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Lynn 🙂 If you’re looking for sweet, then I think Mrs Harris would be perfect. I didn’t know about the film, will have to look for it (Mrs Harris Goes to Paris is the U.S. title of Flowers for Mrs harris, so it would be about the first book).

  11. I am curious how you’ll like Margaret Atwood´s novel.
    Regarding the Adèle comics: You have to spell her name Adèle and not Adéle, as you need a sound that sounds like the German “ä” and that, in French, is represented by the accent grave è while something sounding like the German “e” is spelled “é” (accent aigu), like in bébé. Sorry for being such a smart ass today…

    1. Smarty pants! I actually do know how to spell her name and to use the accents (mostly) but turns out I’m too stupid to use the keyboard correctly 😀

      The Atwood book is dystopian fiction so I can’t imagine not enjoying it.

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Mollie!
      I loved The Handmaid’s Tale as well. Apart from that, I’ve read The Blind Asassin, which is really good but long.

    1. Your writing must be so much fun (apart from the hard work), if the thrities are your topic. Such a fascinating time! Sounds like we enjoy the same cover art and style 🙂

  12. Nigella is such a beautiful woman. Hmmm from the cover she looks like she’s lost a lot of weight. Ahhhh I loved her curves… I’m a Rubenesque girl so I loved seeing someone like Nigella on TV who was real and not a Toothpick. Hmmm guess that means I should stick it out and do gym AGAIN!

    Great selection of books Bina girl 🙂

    1. Hehe, might be because I had to resize the image to make it fit, that she looks thinner. Not that she’s not normally, but she does look like a real person usually 🙂

Leave a Reply

