Mini reviews: Oldies, Classics and Cozies II

On with the mini reviews. I read Mrs Harris Goes to New York sometime in July so let’s see what I can remember about it. I enjoyed it a lot and I think I read it because it’s a Bloomsbury book and their books all sound delightful. My libraries don’t have any books of that series but I found another edition of this one in my uni library. Mrs Harris Goes to New York is the second book, I found the first one, Flowers for Mrs Harris, at my library yesterday and finished it already. It’s very short and absolutely delightful. In the first book, Mrs Harris a London char woman sets her mind on acquiring a Dior dress in Paris and finds much more than that. In the second book, she goes to New York, to find the father of the mistreated boy next door. Both stories are completely unlikely, they make wonderful fairy tales though. Mrs Harris is an open and warm person, quite optimistic despite her lot in life. It is wonderful to see how she touches the people she meet on her adventures, and there are  little ups and downs in the stories that have you hope and wish for the success of Mrs Harris’ missions.

 

Miss Buncle’s Book is apparently a Persephone, but my uni library had this wonderful old edition, which smelled like old book. This one is definitely a cozy read, and I spent a wonderful Sunday with this one.

Barbara Buncle is an unmarried woman who decides to write a novel to increase her small income. Deciding to write what she knows, she makes her village the setting of her novel and her neighbours, with very thinly disguised names, her characters, exposing their meanness and secrets. The book is a huge success but the villagers recognize themselves and are furious. They set out to discover who this ‘John Smith’ is.The great fun of this is that everyone views her book as a biting satire, when Miss Buncle is really charmingly naive and kind. It’s not amazing writing, but the story is wonderful. It’s really perfect if you want to escape the complexities of reality and hide in a world where there’s good people and bad people, and the good ones get a happy ending. No need to trouble yourself with these vexing shades of gray and ambiguous characters 😉

 

Ah Wodehouse, I can never resist the lure of your barmy books! I haven’t read that many of his works because despite being such a prolific author, I’m fearing the day when there will be no new-to-me Wodehouse for me to turn to.

Money in the Bank is a completely nutty story about Lord Uffenham who has let his country place to Mrs Cork, a vegetarian big-game huntress who turns it into a health farm. Unfortunately he is rather absent-minded and has forgotten where he has hidden his diamonds, so he returns to his home as the butler Cakebread to look for them and his niece returns as Mrs Corks secretary to look after her uncle. This also features the Molloys and Chimp twist who are after the diamonds as well. And Jeff Miller, a typical Wodehousian hero, is involved in all sorts of goings-on but has no idea how that happened. There’s no Jeeves to save him, but Lord Uffenham’s niece comes to the rescue.

Is it possible to not enjoy Wodehouse’s works? Between the language and the fun lunacy, I think I’m incapable of not adoring every single one of them.

17 thoughts on “Mini reviews: Oldies, Classics and Cozies II

  1. What a fun selection! Miss Buncle’s Book seems to be universally praised and is high on my list of which Persephone to read next. And as for Wodehouse…as you say, is it possible to not enjoy his works? I flipped through Leave it to Psmith yesterday and was just as delighted as always.

    1. It’s a fun read, I think you’ll really enjoy Miss Buncle’s Book 🙂 Glad to hear you love Wodehouse’s Psmith books, I haven’t tried those yet!

  2. Going to have to invest in Wodehouse next. I love the fact you spoke about the “fun lunacy” and that’s what I need right now.

    Keep the mini review, I love them. Actually I love all your reviews since they are highly insightful and well written. I’ve said it before and I say it again.. I keep coming back for BRAIN FOOD!

    1. Definitely, hope you’ll love Wodehouse! 🙂 And fun lunacy is what you can count on in his works.

      Glad you like this format, I think a mystery mini-review will have to be posted soon. And you’re making me blush with all that praise! 😀 You definitely introduce me to great new stuff as well!

  3. I’m dying to read Miss Buncle’s Book! I read the other day that Persephone is publishing a sequel next year, which made me happy even though I’ve yet to read any Stevenson.

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy it, Ana! It’s a wonderful world to escape to for a while:) I didn’t know about the sequel, will have to look out for it.

  4. Nice reviews, Bina! I love the covers of all the editions that you read – they all look old like collector’s items 🙂 I liked very much your comment – “No need to trouble yourself with these vexing shades of gray and ambiguous characters” 🙂

    Wodehouse is always wonderful. I haven’t read a Wodehouse in a while – will try to read one soon.

    1. Yeah, too bad they were only library books 🙂 Glad you liked that line, I think we all need something like that now and then. I think Wodehouse is also perfect if you’re in a reading slump or a coy reading mood 🙂

  5. I keep meaning to read the Mrs Harris books. I love his ‘Jenny’ about the boy who turns into a cat…

    Miss Buncle’s book is sweet and charming, but I’m so glad that you thought the writing was ‘not amazing’! Me, too!

    P.G. Wodehouse is a very old favourite and I really must re-read him soon.

    1. Hope you get to the Mrs Harris books soon, they are worth it 🙂 I haven’t read Jenny, but it’s going on my list.
      Glad we agree on that 🙂 At least the story is lovely though.
      I think no month should go by without some Wodehouse 😉

Leave a Reply

