Mailbox Monday

“Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.” This month it is hosted by She Reads and Reads.

In a Summer Season (Elizabeth Taylor)

I really enjoyed Taylor’s Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont and wanted to read more of her works. I found this one on bookmooch and hope it’s a good one.

The Diary of a Nobody (George and Weedon Smith)

I can’t resist the English humorists and this one is a classic so it was only a matter of time before I got around to it. For those who don’t know, this book is about middle-class Charles Pooter, living in Victorian London, who reasons that although he is a nobody, his diary might be entertaining as well.

Dandelion Wine (Ray Bradbury)

This one is non-sci-fi Bradbury and chronicles the summer of a twelve-year-old boy. After hearing great things about Dandelion Wine from Vishy and Jessica, I knew I had to read it. Question is, do I wait till summer to read it?

The Victorian Chaise-Longue (Marghanita Laski)

This one is more appropriate considering the season, and I can’t wait to get spooked by this Victorian horror story.

And all these books were mooches! It’s official, I’m a fan! 🙂

 

What came into your house last week?

17 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. Wonderful collection, Bina! It looks like Elizabeth Taylor is back 🙂 I have heard some wonderful things about ‘The Diary of a Nobody’ and so I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it. Hope you enjoy ‘Dandelion Wine’. It is one of my alltime favourite books and I think it is Bradbury’s finest work 🙂 Looking forward to hearing your thoughts about it.

    1. Haha, true, this is her comeback number XX ;D I think Diary of a Nobody is somehing you’d definitely enjoy 🙂
      You said such great things about Dandelion Wine, there was no way I could resist it 🙂

    1. Mine’s actually the green Virago one 🙂 But this one is good as well. Wow look at you, think you can resist the books till Christmas? 🙂

  2. Dandelion Wine sounds like a great book. And no, do not wait until summer to read it – reading is after all being able to be at two places and points of time at the same time!
    Regarding bookmooch: Some guy who mooched one of my books tried to convince me also to join bookcrossings and sent me a Wallander detective story by Mankell to tempt me. I had always thought that I do not like Scandinavian detective fiction after reading an awfully boring Sjöwall/Wahlöö book, but now I am certainly a Mankell addict. Thanks for introducing me to bookmooch!

    1. Hehe, I’ll probably not have the patience to wait for summer anyway. nd you’re right, travelling somewhere or sometime else is one of the appeals of books.
      So great, that you got a Wallander for free. Have fun reading it! And you’ve convinced me to give him a try 🙂

  3. Glad to hear that Taylor could write and will look forward to hearing how the 2nd work comparison.

    Hope the last one The Victorian Chaise Longue pulls off a good BOO!

    Enjoy and Happy Halloween 🙂

  4. Speaking of Elizabeth Taylor, as a writer I can’t resist pointing out that Stacy Shiff has just written a new biography of Cleopatra.

    Turns out the queen was more than sexy: she was much smarter than the historians liked to portray her.

    Not surprised? Me neither.

Leave a Reply

