October in Books

First of all, I’m sorry for being so blog-lazy recently and for taking so long to comment on your posts! I’ve been trying to reduce the time I spent at the computer and I’ve not been in the mood for writing up reviews either. On the upside, I did get much more reading done. I read 12 books in October, which is a really good number for me. Still, I hope to be a better blogger and commenter this month.

This is what I read in October:

Die Mittagsfrau/ The Blind Side of the Heart (Julia Franck)

Eugénie Grandet (Honoré de Balzac)

The Giver (Lois Lowry)

The Book of Lost Things (John Conolly)

Mathilda Savitch (Victor Lodato)

Ella Minnow Pea (Mark Dunn)

Flowers for Mrs Harris (Paul Gallico)

Trent’s Last Case (E.C. Bentley)

Hotel Iris (Yoko Ogawa)

Adeles Ungewöhnliche Abenteuer: Vol. 5 & 8 (Jaques Tardi)

The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830- 1980 (Elaine Showalter)

Fun Home (Alison Bechdel)

I’m quite happy with this list. There’s German, Japanese and French literature in there, one non-fiction, only one mystery and I feel like I’m making progress on the comic front. Can’t even say that I didn’t enjoy some of them, they were all pretty great. Some of my favorites were The Female Malady, Ella Minnow Pea, Hotel Iris, Die Mittagsfrau, The Giver and Mathilda Savitch. I know, that’s nearly all of them. The downside of reading a lot (or a lot for me) is that I feel like I’ll never catch up on the reviews.

I’m not going to make real reading plans for November, it’s probably going to be a lot of uni related reading and hopefully some challenge reading. But it’s my birthday next monday so maybe I’ll just push all the other book piles aside and devour my birthday books (if my family decides that they can get me books after all, my mom is always trying to get me other, in her mind more exciting, stuff). And now I still have a ton to do for uni and I’m trying to figure out whether I can forgive Maisie Dobbs her esoteric and more than weird sleuthing style.

 

What was your reading month like? And did you make any plans for November?

22 thoughts on “October in Books

  1. Congratulations Bina! You seem to have had a wonderful reading month in October! I am looking forward to reading your review of ‘Hotel Iris’.

    Advance Birthday wishes! Hope you have a wonderful time on your birthday and get a lot of ‘bookish’ presents 🙂

    1. Thanks, Vishy! I had a nice birthday:)

      I got half of the review for Hotel Iris typed up and I hope to post it next week (fingers crossed). It’s such an interesting read.

  2. Wow, you had a really great month. Lots of those sound really great! My plans are really kind of based around piles of books I need to read for various reasons. :S

    1. Heh, sounds like a good plan 🙂 I have these piles as well (library, uni library, uni reading etc), but I’m pretty sure you’ll get through them faster 🙂

  3. Go for the birthday books – you know you want to 😉 Don’t worry about being a lazy blogger – we’ll all be here when the mood to post strikes.

    1. I do want to! 😀 But after all the uni reading is done for the day, I just grab the nearest book 😉

      That’s so great about book bloggers, everyone’s so nice and doesn’t mind if people don’t comment or post much for a while!

  4. What an impressive number, and nice selection, of books you’ve read! I loved Hotel Iris even though it was a little dark.

    I ordered The King Must Die by Renault for the coming Read A Myth Challenge; looking forward to that already!

    As to commenting and reviewing, no one can ever get all they want done. We just do what we can, right? XO

    1. I am kind of proud, it’ll probably back to four books this month though 😀

      I really enjoyed Hotel Iris as well, maybe because it is such a dark but atmospheric book.

      The King Must Die sounds really good, happy to hear that you’re as excited about the challenge as Jo and I am 🙂

      Book blogger are the nicest people! 🙂 Comment is really a never-ending thing, but I want to set aside 2 hours next week, to go through my GR. Don#t want to miss out on all the fun .)

  5. Wow, 12 books! That’s very impressive. And happy birthday!
    Like to hear your thoughts on Hotel Iris if you have time- it’s been on my wishlist for ages.
    I think I read about six or seven books (I review later than I read), which is pretty good for me. In November I want to clear my shelves (ok, reduce) for Christmas/birthday books in December. Saying that, I’m preferring quality over quantity, so I may not be very succssful!

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      Hotel Iris is really gook, you just have to be aware that it’s a dark read going into it. Hope you’ll enjoy it, and I hope to post my thoughts on it next week.

  6. Well done Bina you have had a great reading month, I could only dream of reading 12 books in one month! Haha. I managed 4 last month wasn’t helped by the fact I am still bogged down trying to read the beasty last instalment of The Dark Tower. I think a lot of blogger have the problem of trying to balance how much they read and how much they blog, as I said I only read 4 books last month but then again I do always manage to review everything I read, but that gets harder the more books you read!!

    1. Hehe, I’m guessing this will be a one-time thing, but now the to be reviewed (tbr 😉 ) list is endless!

      Four is great, and I really admire poeple who are not afraid to read chunksters!

      Let’s see how we’ll do this month with reading and reviewing! 😀

  7. Wow! I am impressed by the number of books you read in October. I don’t know how to find time for reading at all. All I read is uni-related. Okay, 14 classes this semester might be a reason?!

    1. That is a lot of classes, I remember that time well 🙂 My uni reading is insane, too at the moment, but it helps that I have a bit of time to read other books on my commute. Good luck with all your classes! 🙂

  8. Squee!! I loved The Female Malady (and Elaine Showalter in general. She just comes up with the most wonderful topics.) Looks like you had a great reading month. I disappeared off the blogging sphere too. Perhaps there’s something about October that makes us go ‘pffft’ at blogs? 🙂 And Happy Birthday!!! I hope you get lots of great books. I never get books for my birthday. One year I got a gift card for Borders which was close enough!

    1. Yay, another fan! I think I was close to drooling over The Female Malady! 😉

      Hope you’ll feel more like blogging this month. October was weird in that regard 😀

      Thanks! I always do get a couple of books, but I’ve yet to convince people (my mum) that it’s okay to give only books 🙂 A Border’s Card is pretty cool, choosing what you want and all that! 🙂

  9. Wow! You read a slew of books! Way to go! =)

    I absolutely love The Giver and The Book of Lost Things, and Ella Minnow Pea has been on my TBR list for quite awhile now.

    Sadly, I’ve only been reading for school and November won’t be any different, especially since I have all my projects to work on now.

    1. Thanks, Paige! 🙂

      Ella Minnow Pea is great, hope you get to it soon 🙂 It’s really sucky if you can’t get around to reading what you want to. I have some novels to read for uni, so I can just count them in 🙂 Good luck with your projects!

  10. Lately I feel like I will never catch up with the review too. Maybe just write about your favourites for now? It sounds that there were quite a lot of those 🙂

Leave a Reply

