November in Books

 

November was not the best blogging month for me and I feel like I keep repeating myself, no time, too much uni work to do, blabla. What also sucks is when your computer dies on you and you can’t access your files. On the upside, we have lots of pretty snow here and I booked my ticket home for the holidays, only two more weeks to go! 🙂 How’s everyone else holding up?

As for the bookish bits, I read seven books last months:

Birds of a Feather (Jaqueline Winspear)

Falling Man (Don DeLillo)

Curtain (Agatha Christie)

Oryx and Crake (Margaret Atwood)

The Burry Man’s Day (Catriona McPherson)

The Zero (Jess Walter)

The 9/11 Report: A Graphic Adaptation (Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colón)

 

Most of those were for uni (the 9/11 books and Curtain), but assigned reading is still reading and often pretty awesome. I mean, I had to read an Agatha Christie mystery! 😀 Also, things I learned from those readings: I wish DeLillo would quit writing novels and focus on non-fiction instead (his robot-like dialogues are creeping me out), the 9/11 report is much more accessible than I thought but the graphic adaptation is not successful and open endings in suspenseful twisty fiction are just plain mean.

The rest of my reading was mysteries (of course) and Atwood’s dystopia Oryx and Crake, which I’ve only been trying to get around to for about two years. I finally read it this year for the Canadian Authors Challenge 2010, now I only have to read 2 more for this one and I might actually complete one challenge. Did I mention that I tend to forget about challenges? Anyway, Oryx and Crake is pretty amazing and now I can read Year of the Flood, though I can’t imagine it’s as good as Oryx.

Both the mysteries I read were sequels, and I enjoyed them both. I’ve gotten better at not letting the esoteric, psychic stuff in the Maisie Dobbs series bother me and got a kick out of learning about the White Feather Campaign (Nicoletta Gullace’s The Blood of Our Sons seems to be the best book to find out more about that. Any other recs?). The second Dandy Gilver book, The Burry Man’s Day is also a great follow-up and if you enjoy historical mysteries and are interested in Scotland after WWI, give Dandy are chance.

 

I’ll make the round now, to see what everyone else’s reading in november was like!

31 thoughts on “November in Books

  1. 7 books last month and read Agatha Christie for course work?!! Wow,maybe I should stop blogging for awhile if I want to read more! 😉

    When are you reading Jamaica Inn? Can I read along? 😉

    1. Heh, there are advantages to assigned reading! 😀

      Yes, let’s let’s! Will that make your second DuMaurier after Rebecca, too? How about starting dec 18 or so? Can you wait that long? 😉 I’m going home that day and will spend about 5 hours on the train, lots of time to read 😀

      1. Yes! It is my second DuMaurier. Ok we can start Dec 18. Give me a cue when you are ready! Unfortunately, I don’t have 5 uninterrupted hours to read though. 🙂

  2. You seem to have had a wonderful reading month in November, Bina! Congratulations!

    I love the title ‘Birds of a feather’. Just pondering on the title, I feel that it could be a thriller, a murder mystery, a love story – such an evocative title! I hope you get to write the review of it 🙂

    I envy you for reading Agatha Christie for uni 🙂 That must be a first, I think 🙂 ‘Curtain’ is an interesting Poirot novel, though it is not one of my favourites. I was actually a bit disappointed at the way the story panned out, though I know friends who loved it.

    1. It really is a great title, quite mysterious, too. Glad you like it 🙂 I’ll probably write up a review of the Maisie Dobbs books, I’ve read three of them and am starting to enjoy them.

      It was great to discuss Curtain, but I wasn’t as enthusiastic since it’s my least favourite mystery. Can any Poirot fan really enjoy that book? 😉

  3. i was very let down by falling man ,it seemed a jump on 9/11 bandwagon novel few great writers did same ,shame I ve loved his other books awaiting a return to form by him and maybe a doorstep like underworld ,all the best stu

    1. I never really enjoy DeLillo’s novels, they are too cold and constructed for me. But Falling Man was interesting in that DeLillo was attempting to provide a counter-narrative to terrorism. I still prefer his essays though.

  4. Wow, I like your coursework books! So much more appealing than what I had to read at school and what I have to read for work and uni now!
    I think you did really well in terms of book numbers and I hope your computer is well. Losing computer access in this day and age feels awful!

    1. Heh, I do love that I “have” to read interesting books for uni 🙂 I know, the computer is really essential and there’s so much personal stuff on it. I’m hoping for a notebook for Christmas and I’ll have to see whether the hardware can be repared.

  5. Great reading month. There’s always time for Agatha Christie! Have you read Agatha Raisin? I had a pretty good reading month too and got through a lot. Enjoy your holidays!

    1. I’ve enjoyed the Agatha Raisin books that I read, I think it was books 2-4. They are great fun 🙂 It’s great that you got to read so much, Mae!

  6. Eek – sorry to hear about the computer disaster! I live in horror of that happening to me. November was also not good for me blogging-wise, for similar reasons to yours, but at least I did read 😛

    1. Fingers crossed it doesn’t happen to you! 🙂 I’m using my dad’s notebook for the time being but then it’s either a notebook for Christmas or finding someone who can repare the hardware.

      I think as long as we’re reading things aren’t too horrible 🙂

  7. You’ve certainly managed to get through a lot of books!
    I’m reading Among the Mad at the moment. It’s the second latest Maisie Dobbs, I think, and begins on Christmas Eve. It deals with the terrible way men with mental health problems, caused by WW1, were treated and isn’t your normal, chirpy Christmas read, but I’m enjoying it and you probably would too!

  8. I live in fear of my computer dying, too, since my writing depends on it–this is a dumb question, but when that happens, who do you call? Ghost Busters?

    1. Heh, I could use computer ghost busters! 😉 There are shops who sell and repare pcs or sometimes you have to send the pc in.

      I really hope it doesn’t happen to your pc, hope you remember to back up your files.

  9. Girl you still had a busy and interesting reading month in Nov. I can’t believe we’re just 2 days off until Santa comes down the chimney time. Where did the year go??

    Hope you’re enjoying time at home and that the PC comes back to life. Love Peace and Happiness to you Bina, hope Santa brings you all those books you dreamed of 🙂

  10. Hey, though you may not have had as much time for blogging as ususally, the month was still full of all kinds of different books! 9/11, Atwood, crime fiction… Yor description of “Oryx and Crake” makes me really want to read the book.

    1. I hope to be a better blogger next year 🙂 I hope you’ll enjoy Oryx & Crake (though it might seem a bit dated)! I really want to read the sort of sequel Year of the Flood now.

Leave a Reply

