Merry Christmas!

via

 

Merry Christmas, everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday with family, friends, cheer, chocolate and books!

It’s the second day of Christmas over here and I managed to squeeze in some blogging time. Christmas eve was lovely, and the best time is sitting together with my family after everyone has eaten and unwrapped their presents, then things finally calm down. The next two Christmas days, we start with a big late breakfast and even my parents finally relax and stop thinking about work. I feel like I won’t be able to ever move again, between all the chocolate and my mom’s cooking, but who needs to during the holidays, when the snow looks prettiest from inside? We’re curled up under quilts, my pile of books is next to me, there’s lots of tea and more chocolate, and in the evening it’s crime time (we have our classics: Inspector Barnaby, Poirot etc). And we always have to watch everything at least twice since we talk incessantly, whoever said watching tv was passive?

As for the picture, it’s a sketch by Loriot, Germany’s best (and in my opinion only) comedian. Every Christmas, German television shows his sketch “Christmas with Hoppenstedt’s”, I watch it every year and love it still. I’m not sure if the wit and parody of German families and Christmas carries over to English, but I found a version with subtitles on YouTube, so give it a try. Also, the sketch is a bit older, so just bear that in mind when you see the clothes and the nuclear power plant. Merry Christmas!

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. I love the idea of television ‘crime time’, the snow outside your windows, your mother’s cooking, the quilt over you and the books beside you…what lovely images! Merry Christmas, Bina, and all His blessings for your New Year. (I’m already looking forward to the Myth chalenge! That, and Tanabata’s Murakami Challenge, are the only ones I’m planning on joining.)

  2. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas too, Bina! Thanks for posting the Loriot video! I enjoyed watching it! I loved the last scene, when they open the door 🙂

  3. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! (I am consoled by the thought that I am not the only one who is reading, blogging and commenting on Christmas and Boxing day! When there should be better things to do!)

    We miss you.

  4. Merry Christmas- enjoy curling up in the nice cold weather! The family time sounds lovely.
    We’ve just put the air conditioner on after the trip to the shops for post-Christmas sales!

  5. Haha! Thanks for the clip. I love how the person who translated the clip also thought it was necessary to translate ‘ja ja ja’. 🙂

    Hope you’re having a lovely holiday too. The crime night sounds like fun. I’ve lost track of what day it is due to me being a hermit and staying home, eating, drinking, reading and watching Black Books.

      1. Hehe, I know, weird subtitles, but better than nothing 😀 Your hermit time sounds absolutely wonderful!

        Sorry, I’ve been up and about the last couple of days, but your email was hidden between all the spam. Sorry it took me a while, but I’ve replied now 🙂

  6. Ah ha something new for the holidays, can you believe it’s just days away from 2011! Can’t believe it but wanted to stop by to say enjoy the blasting in of the New Year Bina girl 🙂 PS save some chocolates for me 😉

    1. I know, feels like yetserday that we were celebrating the new millenium and wondering whether the computers would understand it 🙂

      Have fun welcoming the new year!! 🙂

  7. I loved your description of Christmas Eve and of course the next two days with chocolate and eating! I hope you enjoy the rest of the week and I wish you a beautiful New Year ahead! 🙂

Leave a Reply

