Library Loot: January 12-18

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Marg and Claire that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries! Marg has the Mr Linky this week!

Here’s what I got from the library his week. Pretty sure I won’t get through it anytime soon, but I like having piles of books to choose from.

Mad, Bad and Sad: A History of Women and the Mind Doctors from 1880 to the Present (Lisa Appignanesi)

The treatment of women in psychiatry is such a fascinating topic. I loved Showalter’s The Female Malady and after reading The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox I put this one on my tbr list. Also, it’s published by Virago and I want to read it for Virago Reading Week.

The Penelopiad (Margaret Atwood)

I want to read this one for the Read A Myth challenge that I’m hosting with Jo from Bibliojunkie.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Agatha Christie)

One can’t reread Christie mysteries too often, and this one is brilliant. I also get to write a short paper on it, so it’s all for research 😉


Ruth (Elizabeth Gaskell)

I’ve been wanting to try Gaskell for a while and my uni library has a great paperback copy with huge print (I’m sure my eyes will be pleased to get a break from squinting at tiny Penguin print).

The Spy (James Fenimore Cooper)

Not a huge Cooper fan, but I have to read this one for uni. Please someone tell me it’s a great read!

The Magic Toyshop (Angela Carter)

Can’t believe I still haven’t read anything by Angela Carter, but Virago Reading Week is a good reason to start.


One Good Turn (Kate Atkinson)

I was pretty impressed by Atkinson’s first Brodie book, Case Histories, so I was excited to see that my library had acquired the second one.

Adèle Blanc-Sec 4: Momies en Folie (Jaques Tardi)

Love the Adèle comics, and this one was fun as usual.

Skulduggery Pleasant (Derek Landy)

I’m currently reading this one, and it’s lots of fun in a super weird. Thought I’d try more YA and fantasy literature this year.

 

What did you loot from the library?

25 thoughts on “Library Loot: January 12-18

  1. Amazing loot this week! One Good Turn is my favourite Brodie book (so far) and I really enjoyed The Penelopiad. I have to admit that despite my love for Gaskell I’m a little intimidated by Ruth and though I hear no end of praise for her I too have never read anything by Angela Carter.

    Enjoy your loot!

    1. That makes me so excited to read One Good Turn, since I really loved Case Histories! Ruth is really my first Gaskell, and I’m plenty intimidated, but I hope I’ll get over that and read it 🙂

  2. I bought The Penelopiad a couple weeks ago for my Kindle. I haven’t read it yet, but I’m really excited to see how Atwood tells the story of Penelope. I read the Odyssey about 7-8 years ago for school required reading. And I really didn’t like while reading it–but at the end, I thought it was such an amazing story!

    1. Wow, it’s so great you read The Odyssey! I haven’t read it, but I still hope to get a lot out of the penelopiad 🙂 You might want to read The Penelopiad for our Read a Myth Challenge 🙂

  3. A friend of mine is trying to organize a Margaret Atwood bookclub. I am ambivalent about having to read 6 Atwood books in as many months, but am willing to try it. My pick would be the Penelopiad. From the comments above, it should be a good choice!

    1. I’ve only read a few Atwood’s so far, 3 I think, but I loved them all 🙂 But I want to stretch out her works so that I won’t run out too quickly. Hope you enjoy The Penelopiad!

  4. Interesting collection! It can’t get better for you right, Christie for research! 😀 I am interested in what you think of Mad, Bad and Sad. I had read an essay by Showalter as part of my Women’s Studies paper in college. I have forgotten a lot of it, but I remember being impressed.

    1. I know, dream come true! 😀 I can definitely recommend The Female Malady, it’s pretty amazing. I hope Mad, Bad and Sad will be great as well. I know the author refers to Showalter’s wokrs, so that’s good 🙂

  5. That is some great loot! I am really really curious to read more on Mad Bad and Sad. The little synopsis has me wanting to read this one. Is this for a class?

    And nice to see that Christie has found her way into your mailbox.
    Enjoy all these reads.

  6. Wonderful library loot, Bina! ‘The Murder of Roger Ackroyd’ – it is awesome! Amazing that you are getting to write a paper on it 🙂 Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Atwood’s ‘The Penelopiad’. I have loved the Fenimore Cooper books that I have read – ‘The Last of the Mohicans’ and ‘The Deerslayer’. Hope you enjoy reading ‘The Spy’. I also would love to hear your thoughts on Angela Carter’s ‘The Magic Toyshop’. I have heard that she takes fairy tales and gives them a twist 🙂

    Enjoy reading your library loot!

    1. Thanks, Vishy 🙂 I love the mystery, too. Especially having a great reason to reread it again! Twisty fairy tales sounded great, so I chose carter. Will rpobably review it next week for the Virago wekk 🙂

Leave a Reply

