Library Loot: January 19- 25

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Marg and Claire that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries! Claire has the Mr. Linky this week!

Another library loot, I just can’t resist the lure of the library!

 

The Herring-Seller’s Apprentice (J.C. Tyler)

First off, of course I got a mystery 😉 It sounded fun enough and I usually love Felony & Mayhem books. I started reading last night and couldn’t stop giggling!

In Search of Schrödinger’s Cat (John Gribbin)

The library has been renovating  and they moved some shelves around, which is how I stumbled over this work. The library catalogue told me it was missing, which has frustrated me because I’ve been wanting to read it for a while. Anyway, they let me check it out, though I didn’t get a finder’s fee 🙂


Migraine (Oliver Sacks)

This is one book I’ve been eyeing for some time. I love how exciting and informative Sacks’ writing is, and since I suffer from migraines this seemed like an obligatory read for me.

The Sex of Things: Gender and Consumption in Historical Perspective (ed. Victoria de Grazia with Ellen Furlough)

This one is research for a term paper, I wish I could keep it.

Crime, Gender and Consumer Culture: The History of Retailing and Consumption (Tammy C. Whitlock)

Also for my paper, can you guess the topic? 😉

 

Anyone read one of these? And what did you loot from the library this week?

15 thoughts on “Library Loot: January 19- 25

  1. Nice to see Gribbin’s ‘In Search of Schrodinger’s Cat’ in your Library Loot, Bina! It is one of my favourite books on science 🙂 I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it! Gribbin also wrote a sequel to this which is called ‘Schrodinger’s kittens’ 🙂

  2. Do you suffer from migraine? Poor you! I used to suffer from it too. Do you think it has to do with reading too much? 😉 relax when you can.

    1. Unfortunately, but not as funky migraines as other people get. Basically it’s horrible headaches, nausea and dizziness. So, not very interesting 🙂
      Heh, I do get headaches from reading too much, but not usually migraines. Though I can’t read when I get them, sucks.

  3. As always you open the world to me yet again. These are all new titles to me but the cover for The Sex of Things is quite interesting. Styled with the marked female and male glove entwined fingers. Very interesting.

    Happy reading 😉

Leave a Reply

