Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday was created by Marcia at The Printed Page. It is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. (Library books don’t count, but eBooks & audiobooks do). Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists! This month MM is hosted by Library of Clean Books.

Yay, I got some books I don’t have to lug back to the library! 🙂

 

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Agatha Christie)

I’m writing a paper on this one, but since I only have a very used German copy I’ve been sharing with my mum for years, I thought it was a great excuse to get this nice paperback.

The Manual of Detection (Jedediah Berry)

Needed a book to read for my 5 hour trip home yesterday and treated myself to this book (which I’ve been wanting to read for ages and it was pretty great).

A Red Herring Without Mustard (Alan Bradley)

I adore the Flavia series and had to get book 3. It’s supposed to be my reward for finishing my papers so I’ll try to resist till April (haha, I know!).

Some Tame Gazelle (Barbara Pym)

This one is a mooch. Excellent Women was amazing so I can’t wait to try another Pym.

 

What arrived in your house last week?

 

Note: Thanks everyone for voting. Most of you wanted to read my thoughts on Ex Libris next, so I’ll post the review this week!

17 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. Barbara Prym! I recently got Jane and Prudence and can’t wait to read it. Also, I hadn’t realised that the new Flavia was out. Thanks for the heads up!

  2. Congrats on the Flavia’s newest mystery escapades! I saw this announcement last week and thought of you immediately!

    I love the originality of the covers. Congrats and going to wait for my copy.

  3. What a great set of books. Barbara Pym is a gem, The Manual of Detection is intriguing, and Flavia is a star. Thank you for reminding me that I really must find time for the second book in the series, which is lurking somewhere in my TBR.

  4. Wonderful mailbox collection, Bina! By a strange coincidence I also have ‘The Manual of Detection’ on my bookshelf, waiting to be read 🙂 I am looking forward to reading your review of that. Or maybe, I will read it first and then read your review 🙂

    You read ‘The Murder of Roger Ackroyd’ in German? That is cool!

    Enjoy reading your new book acquisitions!

    1. Heh, might be a while before I get to the review of the manual of detection, but I’d love to discuss, so please read it soon (it’s worth it)! 🙂

      Heh well, it is my first language and my mom doesn’t read much in English, so we have nearly the entire Christie collection (all spine-cracked, ear-dogged, tattered copies) in German 🙂

      1. Well, then maybe I will read ‘The Manual of Detection’ next 🙂

        Amazing that you have the entire Christie collection in German! Wow!

        I saw in your Shelfari that you have a comic version of ‘The Murder of Roger Ackroyd’. Have you read it? How did you like it?

          1. I have the comic versions of a few Christies 🙂 So I thought I will compare notes with you 🙂 Some of them are nice (for example ‘When there were None’) while the others are bad (for example ‘Murder in Mesopotamia’). I haven’t read the comic version of ‘The Murder of Roger Ackroyd’ yet.

  5. I’ve yet to read the 1st Flavia book, but I loved the 2nd. So I need to get the 1st one before reading A Red Herring Without Mustard. Don’t you just love the titles?

    1. Thanks for stopping by Nikki-ann! I loved both the first and the second book, but the first one is always special for its introduction to Flavia. Hope you’ll enjoy it! Absolutely love those titles, and the cover art! 🙂

Leave a Reply

