Library Loot: March 2- March 8

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Marg and Claire that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

 

Sorry for disappearing like that. Again! I’m starting to really dislike using the computer since I spend hours every day at it writing my paper. I might just go back to writing reviews on notepad and then quickly type them up. But I did check out a load of books. I know I’m very unlikely to read them all in the next 3 weeks, but I do love having plenty to choose from 🙂

The Ladies’ Paradise (Émile Zola)

This novel basically covers exactly what I’m writing my paper about, so I’m calling it research!

Women, Crime, and Custody in Victorian England (Lucia Zedner)

Same reason, and since this one’s not a novel, people actually believe me 😀

Victorian Heroines (Kimberley Reynoldts and Nicola Humble)

Couldn’t resist, tags in a library catalogue are dangerous!

Armadale (Wilkie Collins)

I’ve been wanting to read more Collis for ages and the library actually provided me with a copy with a normal print size!

The Odd Women (George Gissing)

I’ve been hearing great things about this one, and I haven’t read any Gissing yet.

The Children (Edith Wharton)

I didn’t even know Wharton had written a novel called The Children, apparently it’s a later one I’m intrigued.

Cakes and Ale (Somerset Maugham)

Wanted to have some cozies around, it’s carnival around here and that usually means horrible weather!

The Way Things Are (E. M. Delafield)

The only Delafield the library had, please someone tell me it’s cosy reading!

Travel with my Aunt (Graham Greene)

I read an excerpt of this somewhere and loved it so bonus points to the library for having this one.

The Jeeves Omnibus Vol. 1 (P.G. Wodehouse)

The cherry on top of a great loot 🙂 Have successfully infected my parents with the Jeeves and Wooster (the tv adaptation) mania, and that reminded me that I was due some Wodehouse (I’m trying to pace myself with his works).

The Making of a Muckraker (Jessica Mitford)

The uni library here isn’t too great, but there are some amazing surprises.

Body Parts: Essays on Life-writing (Hermione Lee)

I’ve been wanting to read more essays, and I’m pretty sure I’ll love Lee’s insights into life-writing.

 

I might need to get a cart like Mathilda to get this load back to the library. What did you loot from the library?

16 thoughts on “Library Loot: March 2- March 8

  1. Fantastic loot – you really do have plenty to choose from! I recognize the Oxford World Classics editions you took out – I took one out myself this week. I really like their design.

    1. I might have overdone it a bit 😉 My first try with the Oxford World Classics, I like that their print isn’t abnormally tiny! And their design looks great as well, hope you enjoy your OWC 🙂

  2. Wonderful Library Loot, Bina! ‘Victorian Heroines’ looks like a wonderful book! Would love to hear your thoughts on it. I have ‘Armadale’ on my bookshelf waiting to be read. It is such a thick book, isn’t it! I have a book called ‘The Old Wives’ Tale’ by Arnold Bennett, which has the exact same cover image as that of ‘The Odd Women’ that you have posted – such an amazing coincidence! ‘Cakes and Ale’ was the first Maugham novel that I read. It was controversial and wonderful.

    Enjoy reading your Library Loot! Happy Reading!

    1. Armadale is really thick, I think it’s Collins’ longest novel. If you want to read it together, let me know, perhaps we can motivate each other 🙂
      How fun is that, I need to check what the picture is called and who painted it, if it’s that popular. The Old Wives Tale sounds intriguing, too!
      Glad to hear you loved Cakes and Ale. My first Maugham was The Summing Up, which I really enjoyed.

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Bev. So happy to hear you can recommend them so highly! :)I’m in the middle of the Zola right now, and it’s really great!

  3. Bina, I think we’re working on very similar papers right now! I’m taking a class on 19th century London and Paris, and starting a paper on women and early consumerism, specifically advertisement to women through shopping guides and such. So funny! Crime and gender in 19th century europe is also incredibly fascinating.

    1. Haha, how funny! Love your topic,good luck with your paper! I’ve stumbled over the advertising rise etc in my research. I think nearly everyone has a 19th century kink ;D I’m focusing on the shoplifting phenomenon of middle-class women and the kleptomania defense specifically.

  4. Thanks for stopping by my Library Loot. Would love to have you join us for the Vintage Mystery challenge! Crispin is one of my favorite vintage authors!

  5. Hey can you sign me up at your library! Love the amazing selection and I’d have to be an idiot not to want to move into your corner of the bench near the library stall!

    1. Heh, it’s the uni library in my hometown, not too great, but I spent hours browsing the catalog 😀 But I always wish I could choose from pother people’s loots 😉

Leave a Reply

