The Vintage Mystery Reading Challenge

 

Remember how I didn’t really want to participate in challenges this year? Well, since I found a challenge that fits my reading tastes exactly, I had to sign up. I don’t think there’s any way I could not complete the Vintage Mystery Reading Challenge, hosted by Bev at My Reader’s Block. Thanks so much for coming up with this wonderful challenge, Bev!

I decided to sign up for the level of A Murderous Mood: 4-6 books. I have a few ideas for books, though this list is by no means definite:

Holy Disorders by Edmund Crispin

 

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

 

The Saltmarsh Murders by Gladys Mitchell

 

Why Shoot a Butler by Georgette Heyer

 

The Poisoned Chocolates Case by Anthony Berkeley

 

Death and the Dancing Footman by Ngaio Marsh

 

What do you think? Is there another vintage mystery I simply have to read?

26 thoughts on “The Vintage Mystery Reading Challenge

    1. Heh, I still have to read some myths as well 🙂

      As for Sayers,I read two of her mysteries and found the social commentary and characters interesting, but the mysteries themselves weren’t very exciting. But I still have to try the Harriet Vane books 🙂

    1. It is just too hard to resist such great challenges! Hope you’ll have fun with this one and I’ll have to pop over to look at your list (if you’ve got one yet).

  1. Welcome to the Vintage Challenge! You’ve got some good ones on you list. I love Edmund Crispin! And Dorothy L Sayers would be a good addition if you’re looking for more.

  2. Looks like a marvelous challenge with Christie and Heyer to keep you company. Love the European covers, so much more flare and dynamism for art.

    1. I love the covers of English books (that is those in English, they are all so much better than German covers! :)) So there’ll be lots more mystery posts on here this year 😀

  3. Ooh, that sounds like fun. I re-read Roger Ackroyd and I’m so impressed with it. What about Sherlock Holmes (if you haven’t read it)? Does that count as vintage?

  4. This looks like a wonderful challenge, Bina, and as you said it perfectly fits your taste 🙂 You have some wonderful books in your selection for the challenge – it was nice to a Georgette Heyer book there. As Stu (Winstonsdad) says, ‘The Red House Mystery’ by A.A.Milne is also wonderful. Hope you get to read it too.

    Happy Reading!

    1. You should join as well, Vishy! 🙂 I’ve never read Heyer, didn’t sound my cup of tea, but then I found out she wrote mysteries and this one has such a great title. Will definitely try Milne’s mystery, thanks for the rec!

      1. Thanks for the nudge, Bina 🙂 I will definitely think of joining. It sounds like a good excuse for reading all my favourite mysteries 🙂

  5. I’m catching up here (why do most of my blog comments begin that way? 🙂 ) and was so excited to see this post. I LOVE vintage mysteries and have been bemoaning the fact that I can’t seem to find any ‘new’ ones. I’m so glad you’ve got a Georgette mystery there. I think you’ll enjoy it! Edmund Crispin is a favourite and you’ve reminded me that I have The Case of the Gilded Fly in my TBR bookcase. The Harriet and Peter mysteries are good, too. And Roger Ackroyd? What can I say? Wonderful! Ngaio Marsh is so good, too…

    Gladys Mitchell and Anthony Berkeley are new names to me, though! I’m squeaky with excitement and am off to look them up! Thank you so much!

    1. Oh I know that feeling well, I was pretty stumped after I had read all Christie’s and have been trying to find mysteries like hers ever since 🙂
      Have yet to get into Marsh, but I adore Crispin already and am curious about Heyer’s mysteries. Mitchell and Berkeley are on my comfort reading pile, reserved for especially grey and rainy days. Hope you’ll enjoy them! 🙂

  6. I forgot to suggest Elizabeth Ferrars, who wrote trillions of books from the 1940s onwards. I’ve enjoyed those I’ve read and am listening to one, The Doubly Dead, on talking book while I tackle the ironing pile. Her earlier ones would qualify as ‘vintage’ I think?

    And now I’ll pop over to look at the challenge! 🙂

    1. Ooh, thanks for the rec, it’s vintage till 1960 apparently and now I have a new writer to explore, thanks! 🙂 Hope you’ll join the challenge, sounds perfect for you!

  7. I have missed 2 weeks of reading book blog reviews and you have 4 posts. All of that 4 posts, if you look back, are all with Vintage covers. I’m thinking you must be helluva great hunter for vintage books, or either that or there is a favourite haunt you are visiting for vintage books? (Are you born in this century?) LOL 😉

    1. Heh, I am trying to blog more regularly again, hope it’ll hold 🙂 I looove vinatge covers and stories, too bad I can’t buy them all 😀 Born this century but spent most of the last couple of weeks in the 19th century, does that count? 😉

Leave a Reply

