Size isn’t everything?

The one time I find a book with a decent print size (sorry for the bad quality, I hope you get the picture though 🙂 ), it looks like this:

Obviously not the kind of book you want to kill your bag with. Why didn’t anyone tell me The Odd Women is such a huge book? I am loving it though! On the other hand, the copy of Armadale I thought was actually readable? Nope, the library cheated and provided me with the surest way to go completely blind.

Any recommendations on where to find classics in readable print? What was your worst experience with print size?

32 thoughts on “Size isn’t everything?

  1. This is one of the reasons I love my Kindle. I can choose the font type (sans serif for me) and print size (nice and big!) Wonderful! I have reading glasses, but they can’t compare.

  2. I just got read of my unread hard copy because the print was so tiny and hard to read (and it was in crummy shape). And like Nymeth and Penny, I find an e-reader ideal for books like this.

    1. There has to be some publisher who believes in normal print size for classics 🙂 But sounds like e-readers are great for this.

  3. Try hardback 2666 or A Suitable Boy Bina! They are huge although they are not classics. I suppose Bleak House and War and Peace are some of the known ones. I don’t have worse experience with print, because if I don’t like the print, I don’t read it. There is always an alternative. Not worth hurting your eyes with it!

    I hope you enjoy the book! 🙂

    1. Haha, those are really huge! I have a copy of Bleak House but the print is really small, why do they think classic readers have super vision? The Odd Women is great though 🙂

  4. It’s all about ereaders when it comes to the classics! Then you can fiddle with font size to your heart’s content and never worry about straining your back when it comes to portability. I find that I often am intimidated by huge novels, but this is mitigated by ereaders.

    I’ve never heard of The Odd Women… must go sleuthing! 😀

    1. I don’t really enjoy e-readers much though I can see it would be handy with the print size. And they are still pretty expensive.

      The Odd Women is great! 🙂

  5. I love the font-size and the spacing in the first picture. Unfortunately, the second picture puts things in perspective. But hope the pages fly, when you read it 🙂

  6. I’ll bet you can read one page in under a minute! 🙂 Those wide margins remind me of what college kids used to try to submit, but they are nice on the eyes, aren’t they? I wonder if this book might be better suited to an e-reader due to its sheer size.

    1. Heh, the margins are really wide. There are rules for margins in uni exactly for that reason I guess, though I oftgen wish I could adjust them as well 😉

  7. Wow! That’s huge! I’m not all that concerned with font size (yet – I am quite lacking in the eye sight department though) although the print in the really, really cheap editions are horribly unreadable. I’m more concerned about the weight of that book on the poor wrists! I can’t read heavy books for too long now, even in paperbacks, because of the awkward way I hold them. Ah, the perils of reading!

    1. I can feel my eyes straining if I read such print for too long 😀 I simply sat down on the couch and pout the book on my lap, no wrist straining was involved 😀

      1. Ah, I would put the book in my lap or rest it on something except I hate wearing my glasses when I reading so I usually end up holding it really close to my eyes…yeah, I’m very impractical. :-p

  8. If you want the smallest book in the world, try reading “The moving toyshop” (1977) from our university library. The book is that small that it can fit in any coat or pocket trousers. Also the pages are that thin and soft that they feel more like notes than like pages in a book. It certainly is a handy size when travelling.
    Generally, I prefer the normal-size paperback editions, though, as you can read them without ruining your eyes and (different from hardback editions) carry several of those around with you without getting a backache.

    1. Haha, you should invest in the vintage editions of Crispin’s works 😉 The book size isn’t the problem, print size however … 😀

  9. There are a lot of blogs where the print is too small! I bought a copy of War and Peace and the print was miniscule – next time I won’t be so cheap and buy a bigger copy.

Leave a Reply

