Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists. Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia of The Printed Page; this month it is hosted by I’m Booking It.

 

A Vocation and A Voice (Kate Chopin)

This is Chopin’s last short story collection, written during the 1890s. I really wanted to read more of her work.

Diary of  a Provincial Lady (E.M. Delafield)

Everyone’s made this one sound so perfect, I couldn’t resist. I only hope it’s more funny than The Way Things Are, which is one of the saddest books I’ve ever read!

The Professor and the Madman (Simon Winchester)

Another mooch. I’m very interested in Victorian attitudes to insanity, and I thought it was time to read more about the male experience 🙂

 

What books arrived in your house?

17 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

    1. I guess I did intellectually understand where the humour was, but the main character’s story was just too depressing for me.

  1. I like insanity too, attitudes to it over the ages and how they change are fascinating – I could go on and on about this (it’s my thesis topic). Hope you enjoy it and your other reads!

    1. Ooh, what an amazing thesis topic, so please do go on! 🙂 Any chance you’ll provide me with some good recommendations from your biliography?

  2. Great loot. The Victorians and madness – such a fascinating and brutal subject. I did a lot of research about Henry Mansell (I think) whose theories were really popular and he advocated cutting off a madwoman’s (or any woman that dared to step out of line really) clitoris. Hmm…

      1. Mansell et al were nutters! But so fascinating how their views were accepted and perpetuated. And creationism etc just shows that things haven’t changed all that much.

  3. Interesting collection in your mailbox! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on them. Kate Chopin is wonderful! I met Simon Winchester in a literary festival a few years back and at that time he spoke about ‘The Professor and the Madman’. I haven’t read this, but have read another of his books and enjoyed it.

    Enjoy reading your new books!

Leave a Reply

