The one in which I am not apologizing for acquiring a ton of books . . .

I can’t believe I disappeared again! It seems like every time I think I’m back to blogging regularly I get distracted etc. In case anyone is still reading my blog, I handed in my final paper and then went off to London for 5 days and then back to my parents and then back home and then the new term started (yesterday), but now I hope things will calm down and I’ll get back into the usual crazy uni crazy life routine.

And yes, I’m getting to the books! 😉 My idea of a good time (even or especially on holiday) is hanging out in charity shops and used bookstores (luckily my ravel friend thinks this is completely normal) and so I amassed a pile of books in London, slightly restricted by the airline’s baggage limit. I got home with eleven books from London and then when I went to return a book to the library I saw that they had their big book sale (where they get out the foreign language books). And I ended up another large pile, but three were for my mum, ha! 😉 I wish I could post a picture, but I couldn’t take all these books back to my place and instead had to choose a couple of them which my poor father will have to send me by post. But just for the fun of it, I thought I’d post the covers anyway so that this post has some pictures to distract from my ramblings.

The London Loot

The Vanishing of Katharina Linden (Helen Grant)

A Literature of Their Own (Elaine Showalter)

Mad, Bad and Sad (Lisa Appignanesi)

The News Where You Are (Catherine O’Flynn)

Nightingale Wood (Stella Gibbons)

Someone at a Distance (Dorothy Whipple)

Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (M.C. Beaton)

The Hand that First Held Mine (Maggie O’Farrell)

Testament of Youth (Vera Brittain)

The Little Stranger (Sarah Waters)

The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher (Kate Summerscale)

 

It’s really ridiculous what you can find for a pound in a charity shop in London! The only books in German charity shops are by Dan Brown and John Grisham and the like!

Library Sale

Une Gourmandise (Muriel Barbery)

Germinal (Emile Zola)

Der Monddiamant (Wilkie Collins)

Die Frau in Weiß (Wilkie Collins)

The Greek Coffin Mystery (Ellery Queen)

Civil to Strangers (Barbara Pym)

The Whirlpool (George Gissing)

Life Class (Pat Barker)

Nana (Emile Zola)

My Ántonia (Willa Cather)

Thérèse Raquin (Emile Zola)

18 thoughts on “The one in which I am not apologizing for acquiring a ton of books . . .

  1. You know, these could be montages of books I’d buy, too, apart from the ones I already have! Our book tastes appear to be pretty much identical! 🙂

    What a lovely book-buying spree you’ve had! I have to admit that here in Scotland we have Dan Brown and John Grisham, too, in vast numbers, in our charity shops!

    I hope you enjoy them all, but that it doesn’t prevent you from blogging!

    1. Heh, glad to hear that, Penny. Now I wish I had access to your shelves! 😉 I guess most charity shops come with Brown and co, but there doesn’t seem to be much else in Germany.

      I’m trying to be a better blogger this month 🙂

  2. Wonderful new collection that you have got, Bina! Looks like you got the complete collection of Emily Zola novels 🙂 You are planning to read the Muriel Barbery book in French? Wow!

    Enjoy reading all your new books 🙂

    1. Hehe, I can’t help it, Zola won me over with just one book and now I have to read everything else 🙂 I am trying to learn French and I’m hoping that getting some French books I really want to read will motivate me (though my level is more Le Petit Nicolas at the moment 😀 ).

  3. I am still reading your blog, haha 🙂 I just got The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters too, and am so looking forward to reading it. Too bad I won’t actually have time to do that for another month or so…

    1. Haha, yay! 🙂 I think The Little Stranger will be perfect for a grey wet evening! Hope you’ll find time to read it soon 🙂

    1. I loved Fingersmith, hope you will, too. And I enjoyed The Night Watch even more. So I’m quite optimistic about The Little Stranger 🙂

  4. A great collection of books! I am really interested in your review of “The News Where You Are”.
    P.S.: What about choosing an airline next time that does not have that strict luggage weight restrictions? 😉

  5. Don’t apologise at all, nothing gets in the way of a good bargain! I am terrible at buying books on holiday – they always seem to evoke memories of the trip.
    Enjoy The Little Stranger!

    1. Are you based near London? Man, we could’ve met up. Will definitely have to plan better next time, and then we can go book hunting together! 🙂

  6. Boy, you weren’t kidding about acquiring a ton of books! Two of my particular favorites from your collage are Therese Raquin by Zola and The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters. I’d love to read more of what those two authors have written; I’d also like to read something, anything, by Barbara Pym.

    1. So glad to hear you loved Thérèse Raquin! I read The Little Stranger last night, not one of my best ideas, what a brilliant creepy book 😀
      Pym is really great, I could recommend Excellent Women.

  7. Acquiring books is a disease that I DO NOT WANT TO BE CURED OF!

    My only lament… where will I place them… it’s becoming a hoarding house with books strewn everywhere!

Leave a Reply

