Library Loot: June 1-8

I might possibly gone a little mad and accumulated an insane number of library books in my place. But I love to have a lot of books to choose from and they make my room look much more cosy! And it’s not like the library has a limit, not that I’m aware of at least …

Here’s most of it:

Consuming Passion:Leisure and Pleasure in Victorian Britain (Judith Flanders)

Still unhealthily fascinated with the consumer revolution of the 19th century.

The Island of the Colorblind (Oliver Sacks)

Everything Sacks writes about is fascinating and my library had the English edition of this one so I thought I’d give it a go.

The 13th Element: The Sordid Tale of Murder, Fire and Phosphorus (John Emsley)

I’m reading this at them moment and it’s fantastic so far. How could I have survived without in-depth knowledge about phosphorus? 😉

Rape: A History from 1860 to the Present Day (Joanna Bourke)

I’m so not reading that one on my commute, I’ve learned from the whole American Psycho thing. Anyway, this looks like a great if disturbing look. It’s focused on the rapists not the victims, but as she says in her introduction, that title would have gone over even less well.

Citizen Vince (Jess Walter)

Less than Zero had a great first half and so much potential, so I thought I’d see what else Walter has written.

The Fahrenheit Twins (Michael Faber)

A short story collection and my first ever Faber read. I’ve read two stories so far and they are deliciously creepy and unsettling.

Borges and the Eternal Orangutans (Luis Fernando Verissimo)

A detective story, an anti-detective story, a parody of a detective story, Borges as a kind of armchair detective, academic feuds and a Poe conference. I loved it!

Meierhoffs Verschwörung / O Opositor (Luis Fernando Verissimo)

Loved the other book so much, I got another Verissimo. I couldn’t find the title of the English translation, if it exists. The German title roughly translates as Meierhoff’s conspiracy.

Nervous Conditions (Tsitsi Dangarembga)

The book on postcolonialism and black women.

Comedy in a Minor Key (Hans Keilson)

Re-loot, Iris motivated me to read more Dutch lit.

The Doubtful Guest (Edward Gorey)

I love Gorey’s stuff, whatever that says about my sense of humor.

Detection Unlimited (Georgette Heyer)

Obligatory cosy mysteries!

Messenger of Truth (Jaqueline Winspear)

Still wrestling with the Maisie Dobbs series.

Rattling the Bones (Ann Granger)

A Fran Varady book, a series I hadn’t tried before, but Fran is very likeable and the mystery quite cosy.

An Unsuitable Job for a Woman (P.D. James)

HAve to give James a chance at some point, hope this one is a good introduction to her works.

 The Pumpkin Eater (Penelope Mortimer)

Can’t remember where I read about it, but it was on my tbr list.

The Matchmaker (Stella Gibbons)

Curious about her other works.

Tea with Mr. Rochester (Frances Tower)

Cosy, without the crime (I think).

The Tortoise and the Hare (Elizabeth Jenkins)

Praised by everyone it seems, hope I’ll enjoy it as well. Love the cover art!

To the North (Elizabeth Bowen)

Have been wanting to read Bowen for a while.

Mariana (Monica Dickens)

Reading this one at the moment, it’s nice so far.

The Blessing (Nancy Mitford)

One should always have a Mitford around 😉

Love’s Shadow (Ada Leverson)

Finally I get to try one of those Bloomsbury books!

What have you recently looted from the library?

17 thoughts on “Library Loot: June 1-8

  1. that’s an insane amount of books! Love the library for the opportunities they bring us. 🙂

    Enjoy these reads and remember relax it’s summertime!

    1. Heh, I know, I feel like I emptied the library of books 😉
      Well summer here means I’m very busy with uni, but those books are to help me relax. Hope you’re enjoying the sun!

    1. Glad to hear you enjoyed Mariana, Claire 🙂 I’m very curious about Tea with Mr. Rochester, I didn’ teven know it was a short story collection.

  2. I need to read Judith Flanders! I got that book out of the library recently but had to return it before I even started it 😦 Her books seem like the kind of non-fiction I’d want to own anyway. Looking forward to your thoughts on Consuming Passions!

    1. I’ve only read bits and pieces of Flanders’ works for a paper so I’m happy to finally have the whole book to read 🙂 Her titles do sound amazing, I’m still trying to be patient and wait for the paperback edition of The Invention of Murder, but I’m probably going to cave before that, it’s sounds like the perfect book 😀

  3. great haul ,I love nervous conditions ,I ve just got Edward st aubyns trilogy some hope from library and hear the wind sing Murakami ,all the best stu

    1. Glad to hear it, then I need to read nervous conditions soon! 🙂 Your loot sounds great, is the second book for the japanese challenge?

    1. I’ve only read the intro of Rape, but I’m sure it’ll turn out to be amazing. Nervous Conditions fits your reading tastes perfectly 🙂

  4. Wonderful Library Loot, Bina! ‘Nervous Conditions’ looks like a wonderful book! I was surprised when I discovered recently that Georgette Heyer has written mysteries! Hope you enjoy her book! I have read one P.D.James book called ‘The Lighthouse’. It was disappointing to me, but I want to try one of her early Inspector Dalgliesh novels. I have Michel Faber’s ‘The Crimson Petal and the White’ on my ‘TBR’ list, but I have been daunted by its size till now. Hope you enjoy his ‘The Fahrenheit Twins’. ‘Tea with Mr.Rochester’ is an interesting title! Is the ‘Rochester’ of this title related to the Rochester of ‘Jane Eyre’?

    Happy Reading!

    1. I know, I didn’t know that about Heyer until recently either! But now I’ve mooched two more of her mysteries, hope they’re suitably cosy 😉 Hope this James book is good, I have yet to read anything by her. I’m currently watching the tv adaptation of the crimson petal and the white, it’s gorgeous! I have no idea about Mr. Rochester, but I’ve been wondering about that as well. Will let you know once I’vwe read it 🙂

      1. Hope you enjoy James’ ‘An Unsuitable Job for a Woman’. The title looks quite fascinating and it doesn’t look like one of her mystery novels. Wonderful to know that you are watching the TV adaptation of Faber’s ‘The Crimson Petal and the White’! It looks fantastic from your description! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on ‘Tea with Mr.Rochester’ 🙂

        I am loving your new commenting feature 🙂 Is it a new add-on?

        1. Nah, I think the wordpress deities played around with the features again 🙂 But glad you like it 😀

          I think the James is supposed to be more of a whydunnit than a whodunit, we’ll see what that means. If you can’t bring yourself to read the book yet, you might want to try the tv adaptation, too 🙂

          1. Whydunnit sounds interesting! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it. I used to read books by a writer called James Hadley Chase once. In his books, typically a crime will be committed in the first few pages of the book and we will know who the guilty person is. The rest of the book will be about whether the guilty person is caught or not. The story will be typically told through the point of view of the guilty person that sometimes we find ourselves sympathizing with him / her 🙂

  5. Some great titles! Tea With Mr. Rochester is a collection of wonderful little short stories. Love’s Shadow is very amusing in a wry, 1910 social humour, sort of way. I’ll stop with those two, but hope you enjoy everything!

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Simon! 🙂
      Glad to hear you can recommend those two so highly. They look so cosy, I’ll have to read them with tea nearby 🙂

Leave a Reply

