June in Books

How is it July already? I somehow managed to read 9 books in June, though I hardly read anything in the last week. There’s a ton to do what with semester break looming and finding new roommates and I couldn’t seem to settle down enough to focus on one book. Does that happen to any of you, too? It makes me feel guilty for looting so many books that I won’t get to read soon and keeping others from reading them.

Here’s what I read in June:

The Case of the Missing Servant: Vish Puri 1(Tarquin Hall)

Rattling the Bones (Ann Granger)

Borges and the Eternal Orangutans (Luis Fernando Verissimo)

When Will There Be Good News? (Kate Atkinson)

The Red House Mystery (A.A. Milne)

The 13th Element: The Sordid Tale of Murder, Fire and Phosphorus (John Emsley)

Daddy-Long-Legs (Jean Webster)

A Prayer for the Dying (Stewart O’Nan) – reread

Dead Clever (Scarlett Thomas)

There’s the usual large chunk of mysteries, be it cosy, serious or postmodern, an apocalyptic read to shake off the lingering coziness, an epistolary novel and my sudden craving for a book on a chemical element (and for some reason I turned to phosphorus). Only three of them have I posted about as of yet, but my review about The 13th Element should be up soon. And don’t worry, the book is neither dry and boring nor as melodramatic as the title makes it out to be!

I’m trying not to make any plans, I hardly ever stick with them, but I want to try to read another myth book, Baba Yaga Laid an Egg is at the top of the list.

What has everyone else been reading and what are your plans for July?

26 thoughts on “June in Books

  1. Congrats on a busy and great month – very interesting list of titles there. I’m very excited that you are looking at reading Baba Yaga Laid an Egg!! 😀

  2. We have one similar books in June read. 🙂 I think I’m going to read Baba Yaga too. Remember you first told me that Baba Yaga sounded pretty scary? So we should be brace for some nightmares! 😀

    I think not having plan is the best and you always build such proportionate collage of books!

  3. Congratulations on a wonderful reading month, Bina! All the titles look quite fascinating! I am particularly interested in Scarlett Thomas’ ‘Dead Clever’ 🙂 Is that her new book or is it one of her earlier murder mysteries starring the literary detective? I would love to hear your thoughts on it 🙂 I love the covers of the Jean Webster book and the Kate Atkinson book.

    1. Thank you, Vishy! 🙂 Dead Clever is indeed the first Lily Pascale book, a sort of literary detective. It’s not brilliant but not too bad, hope you’ll enjoy it! The Atkinson, I loved! 😀

  4. How did you like “When Will There Be Good News?”? If it was any good, I would like reading a review of it…

    1. I loved it, but then I enjoyed all the Jackson Brodie books 🙂 I’d say go for it, it’s as good as the other two and I will definitely read the next one.

  5. I absolutely loved both The Case of the Missing Servant and A Red Herring Without Mustard — although I’m still trying to figure out what that title means! I’m planning to get back to the Read-A-Myth Challenge in August. I hope you enjoy Baba Yaga!

    1. Haha, there is probably some fan site dedicated to figuring out his title. It refers to a dish for people who don’t have much, as far as I know. So I think it refers to both the decline of Flavia’s family, their influence and fortune. And it’s of course a play on the red herring in crime lit.

  6. I’m really interested in A. A. Milne. Have heard great things about his books for adults.

    I see you’ve disappeared off the blogosphere too! 🙂

    1. Sorry! Uni is killing me, that is I’m tied to the computer so many hours a day I can’t stand the sight of it anymore. No worries, I’m alive though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

