Update II

I am currently reading:

I haven’t been reading much this week, somehow I’m very restless and have started and put down a ton of books. As a result I’m feeling more than a little cranky, so please anyone tell me what book I can completely immerse myself in (preferably free ebooks as I’m staying with my parents at the moment and don’t have access to my usual libraries). I did start Diary of a Provincial Lady which is great, but works best if I only read a couple of pages at a time, if that makes sense.

I finished reading:

I had this one put on hold at my library, as I was pretty excited about the combo of Victorian period and female sleuth. And it wasn’t a bad book but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. Stupid expectations!  We don’t find out much about The Agency and have to accept that it’s great and helps women be independent. Mary herself is set up as a trained spy and independent young woman but relies heavily on instinct when it comes to investigation and a huge part of the book is romance instead of mystery. Which I don’t like, and I enjoy this typical “I’m an independent woman but I just can’t help but fall for the ‘charms’ of the idiot who keeps trying to tell me what to do and knows everything better” even less. And the mystery was a dud. But to end on a positive note, I did like the premise and the stinking Thames.

I recently acquired:

Walked past the uni bookstore and found these two gems for a shockingly low price in a sales box, I mean it’s Wodehouse! I had to save them of course, but then met a friend who had never heard of Wodehouse (gasp!) and immediately let her borrow them. Though it was apparently the cover art that convinced her, not my passionate speech about all things Wodehouse. Go figure 😉

I’m still trying to get back to blogging regularly but as you can see it’s still pretty sporadic posting on my part. On the upside, my first paper went well and I decided to move myself and my workload for the next paper to my parents as I was starting to forget what the ‘old faces’ looked liked as Bertie would say, and added benefit, they feed me! Also, I started doing couch to 5k, all this sitting at a desk for 8 hours straight was killing me. Week one was fun and easy enough and I love the motivational podcasts from NHS 😀

How are you all doing & what are you reading?

22 thoughts on “Update II

  1. I hate weeks when my reading motivation leaves me. I hope you can find something to immerse yourself in! And awesome about finding cheap books. I have yet to read a Wodehouse book. Although, I did find one at a second hand shop and bought it: Mulliner Nights. I’m excited to get around to reading it 🙂

    1. I might need to try my hometown library, perhaps something there’ll bring the reading back.You have to try Wodehouse soon, his books are nothing short of perfection! 🙂 Haven’t read Mulliner Nights yets, hope you love it.

  2. Ah shame you didn’t like The Agency: A Spy in the House I really enjoyed it, but I suppose it wouldn’t do for us all to be the same. I have been a very busy bee recently too but have started reading Dan Brown’s new book The Lost Symbol, could take me a while though its a veeery long book 🙂

  3. You’ve made me fancy re-reading a PG Wodehouse. I wonder which one I’ll choose… Imagine your friend never having heard of him! Do you think she’ll appreciate his sense of humour? I was brought up on Jeeves and introduced the offspring to PGW as soon as I knew they’d enjoy his stuff.

    The Provincial Lady’s husband annoys me immensely! At the moment, I’m reading Mrs Miniver to my husband, in bed at night. SO well written and full of insight. MUCH better than the film! Have you read it?

    I’d have been attracted to the idea of The Agency, too, so thanks for the warning! 🙂

    1. I hope she does, when I showed her my new acquisitions she read the first lines and kept them, so I think Wodehouse convinced her 🙂 Could not get my parents to read the books, but they are practically addicted to the tv series 😉

      Oh yes, he’s a horror. Love the mademoiselle though. Haven’t read Mrs Miniver yet, will have to look for a copy!

      I think plenty of people loved The Agency, maybe you will too, just reminded me why I don’t read that much YA.

    1. I completed week 1, starting with 2 tomorrow. Love it so far, it really is great for couch potatoes 😀 Hmmh, NetGalley, haven’t tried that yet. Still have to decide if I want to get my own ereader 😉

  4. I’d say stick to the Wodehouse as you have a lot of academic work to do, when the going will be less rough you’ll have more energy to concentrate on new writers.
    I love the look of the Delafield book and am therefore certainly going to start reading it.

    1. But I lent both books to a friend. Might check for free ebooks though. I still want to funread even when there’s lots of uni reading to do. The Delafield is lovely! 🙂

  5. Glad to know that you are enjoying time at home, Bina. Hope you are able to discover a few more Wodehouse books which you can enjoy. I remember the first time I read Wodehouse, it was when I was commuting by bus. I started laughing aloud and people around looked at me suspiciously 🙂 I had to control myself for the rest of the trip, but it so difficult 🙂 I think once your friend reads the first chapter, she will get hooked 🙂

    Hope your second paper is going well. All the best!

    1. Thanks, Vishy! Haha, I can just imagine the looks of the other people on the bus! 🙂 I once read Bryson’s memoir on the train and people were actually moving away from me. Reading and laughing seems to be a creepy combo ;D

      There’s lots of Wodehouse ebooks for free if you’re desperate like me 😉 I started the first book in the Blandings Castle series, Something New/Fresh and I love it. Also, have fun with Mr. Y! 🙂

  6. You can download some of the Wodehouse stories for free on Kindle, as they’re in the pre-1926-no-copyright group. I recently listened to one of the Blandings Castle books (Full Moon) from Audible, and it was really fun and very full of the ridiculous, Wodehousian spirit. I’m really looking forward to reading more of this series. I would also suggest, if you haven’t read either one of them yet, Wilkie Collins Moonstone, or The Woman in White (the first is my favorite) are great, good mysteries, and again, free on Kindle.

    1. Followed your example and got started on the Blandings Castle series with Something New/Fresh, cheers! 🙂 I adore Wilkie Collins, esp. The Woman in White. Ridiculous as it sounds i’m saving The Moonstone for a really bad day, I know I’ll love it 😀

  7. I’ve been having trouble reading too and can’t seem to get into anything despite wanting to read so many titles! I was starting to panic – ‘what if I didn’t like books anymore’?! What would my life be? Hopefully, this will pass soon.

    Thought about doing the couch to 5k thing but then I got distracted by cake. 🙂

    1. Oh no, does that mean it’s going ’round like the flu!? 😉 Hope you’ll recover soon, Wodehouse definitely helped me!

      Haha, I just do both, c25k AND cake 😀 But it’s really fun so far and I’m super with stairs but huffing and puffing when I was trying to run after my train was simply too embarrassing. Thus I’m in training for catching my commute w/o getting stares because you can hear me breathe at the very end of the train 😉

  8. If I remember correctly I felt the same way about the Provincial Lady. She’s funny, but it isn’t much of a ‘page turner’.
    (I have been out of keeping up with blogs, so this is kind of a late reply.:))

Leave a Reply

